Criminology

77-page dossier from Statista. Includes recent data and many trend charts back to 2000. Available as PDF or PPTX file.

85-page Statista dossier.

16-page summary with tables, charts and expert analysis.

Part of the Police-Reported Information Hub from Statistics Canada.

Juristat Bulletin -- Quick Fact sheet.

Annual table from the Uniform Crime Reporting Survey on specific Criminal Code violations, broken down by province and Census Metropolitan Area (e.g Metro Vancouver), back to 1998.

Annual table from the Uniform Crime Reporting Survey on specific Criminal Code violations, broken down by specific police force in BC (e.g. Surrey RCMP), back to 1998.

Link to all the annual data tables produced from the UCR.

Police-reported data on the characteristics of all murder incidents, victims and accused persons since 1961 and all homicides (including murder, manslaughter and infanticide) since 1974.

Source: Statistics Canada
Access provided by: Scholars Portal Dataverse
Description: This breakdown of the CSI for communities over 10,000 population is not publicly available on the Statistics Canada website. Annual spreadsheets since 2009.

1-page infographic. For a bit more detail, see this 7-page article in The Daily

48-page Statista dossier on police staffing and expenditures since 2000.

Detailed tables on police force staffing and expenditures. Some tables are at the detachment level. Updated yearly by Statistics Canada.

Interactive database created and maintained by the CBC tracks incidents of use of deadly force by police in Canada between 2000 to 2020. You can filter results by race/ethnicity, police force, province and year, as well as whether the person killed was armed. Scroll down the page to see the database search options.
"Focuses on fatal encounters [since 2000] where police used force. It does not include in-custody deaths, self-inflicted wounds as a result of suicide or attempts to evade police, or accidental police-caused deaths (such as a traffic accident)."

Lists some sources of Canadian data on police stops and carding, as well as hate crimes. From Scholar's Portal.

This article in The Daily contains brief highlights from the Integrated Criminal Court Survey (ICCS) which covers court indicators such as the number of completed charges and cases, case decisions, sentencing outcomes, and case processing times.

Brief JustFacts report from the Department of Justice in 2023.

Links to list of data tables from the ICCS which combines statistics from former Adult Criminal Court Survey (ACCS) and Youth Court Survey (YCS). Counts appearances, charges, and cases for youths and adults appearing in criminal court in Canada. Does not include data from appeal courts, federal courts, or the Supreme Court of Canada.

From Statistics Canada

Last updated in January 2019.

From Public Safety Canada. Annual report includes data on offenders under supervision of Correctional Service Canada whether "in custody" or "in community", including those serving provincial sentences in federal facilities. Includes some information on race of offenders.

From Statistics Canada. Link to various sources of info on correctional services collected by Statistics Canada.

79-page Statista dossier brings together data from several sources.

Juristat article from Statistics Canada (June 2018)

Interactive Google map of 53 federally-operated prisons which are colour-coded by security level. Click on the map to view the name, age and population size of each facility. Produced by Global News, based on 2010 data from the Correctional Service of Canada.

Links to data tables from the Corrections Key Indicator Report (CKIR) which monitors trends in correctional populations over time and is used to calculate average counts of adults and young offenders in custody and the incarceration rate. Includes those held in sentence custody and in remand, as well as those in the community, including probationers and those serving a conditional sentence.

Link to data tables from ACS which collects data on the nature and case characteristics of adult admissions to correctional services from the provincial, territorial and federal systems.

Links to data tables from YCCS which collects annual data on the delivery of youth correctional services from the provincial/territorial correctional systems. Key themes include: new admissions (commencements) to correctional programs of sentenced custody, probation, and other community-based programs.

This 2021 Juristat article "presents findings from the 2019 GSS on Victimization, focusing on self-reported victimization and perceptions of safety in the provinces and territories."

6-page article from The Daily draws on data from the Uniform Crime Reports of incidents reported to police.

"Statistics Canada releases annual police-reported data about intimate partner violence, but not all incidents are reported to police. ...Due to the complexities of intimate relationships, spousal violence is particularly susceptible to underreporting. As a result, self-reported data are critical to understand the true magnitude of this problem. ...This Juristat article examines self-reported experiences of spousal violence in Canada. Based on the 2019 General Social Survey (GSS) on Canadians’ Safety (Victimization), this article discusses the nature and prevalence of spousal violence, victim characteristics, the physical and emotional consequences of such violence and how victims sought support."

"This Juristat article will present the most current self-reported data on the lifetime (since age 15) prevalence of violent victimization, as well as the prevalence of violent victimization in the past 12 months, of Indigenous women in Canada. Where possible, results are provided separately for First Nations, Métis and Inuit Indigenous identity groups. The article further highlights experiences of childhood abuse and maltreatment, and explores the intersectionality of violent victimization with other demographic and socioeconomic factors. In addition, the article assesses perceptions of safety and neighbourhood disorder, and confidence and trust in the police and the justice system among Indigenous women. Lastly, homicide data highlights the prevalence and characteristics among homicide of Indigenous women in Canada. The article uses data from multiple sources including the 2018 Survey of Safety in Public and Private Spaces (SSPPS), 2019 General Social Survey (GSS) on Canadians’ Safety (Victimization), and five years (2015 to 2020) of data from the Homicide Survey."

"Using data from the 2019 General Social Survey (GSS) on Canadians’ Safety (Victimization), this Juristat article examines experiences of discrimination in daily life, with a particular focus on the experiences of the Black and First Nations, Métis, and Inuit populations living in Canada."

Detailed annual breakdown of crime by province, with analysis. Less detailed for Census Metropolitan Areas such as Metro Vancouver.
Since 2004, a shorter version of this report has been published as the July issue of Juristat, with the title "Police-Reported Crime Statistics in Canada"; see CRIMES tab above for link.

Provides a detailed annual breakdown of crime by province, with analysis. Less detailed for Census Metropolitan Areas such as Metro Vancouver.

Includes statistics from 1867 to mid-1970's. Over 300 tables grouped into four main sub-sections: crime and law enforcement; court proceedings; penal institutions; and juvenile delinquency. Also provides good summary of changes in reporting of criminal justice statistics over time.

Provincial, regional and local court statistics about the justice system’s operations and progress beginning fiscal year 2007/2008. The statistics represent activity in all three levels of court (B.C. Provincial, Supreme and Appeal courts) and both justice divisions (criminal and civil, which includes family justice). From BC Courts Services Branch.

Annual. Contains information about policing costs, strengths and caseloads. Also provides a complete list of municipal, provincial and First Nations policing jurisdictions, and statistics about police resources.

Links to an overall report, plus additional sections for use of police service dogs, intermediate weapons, firearms, and conducted energy weapons (Tasers).

Download CSV files to Excel or generate tables and graphs using built-in Explorer tools. Includes files on:
- licensed security workers and businesses in BC
- population of policing jurisdictions in BC
- policing jurisdictions and regions in BC

Interactive trend analyzer allows you to explore and compare hospitalizations and deaths due to alcohol, tobacco, and other drug use for different groups of people in different parts of BC (by health region) from the years 2002 to 2013. From UVIC's Centre for Addictions Research of BC.

Includes reports on deaths in several categories of causes: Motor Vehicles, Recreational Activities, Drugs and Alcohol, Other. The 'Other' category includes deaths due to Intimate Partner Violence, Residential Structure Fires, and Suicide, as well as deaths among Homeless Individuals, and Inmates of Correctional Facilities.

Monthly and annual crime statistics by neighbourhood and police district. Also annual summaries by type of crime for whole city. Scroll down screen to view choices.
See also the interactive GeoDash options for different ways to view the data.

Interactive dashboard lets you search recent crime stats by neighbourhood.

Interactive mapping tool from the VPD for crimes in Vancouver. Includes trend charts also.

Downloadable spreadsheet with incident data back to 2003. Fields include type of crime, date and time, location (to 100 block), neighbourhood, and latitude/longitude coordinates.
Note: All addresses are offset by at least one city block. Carefully read the cautionary notes on how the data is reported before you download the file, especially if you are mapping the data.

Links to 10-year city crime profile, quarterly reports by district, and mapping tool (COSMOS).

Shows residential and commercial break-and-enter offences, and auto thefts.