KPU Library subscribes to over 200 research databases covering different subjects and types of information. Most of these databases help you to find journal articles on specific topics. The Summon search tool searches most of the library's database, all at once.
But sometimes, Summon doesn't find the results you want. In that case, try searching within a specific database. Each database covers a different set of journals (and other sources), and has its own search tools. It's a good idea to search in more than one.
Scholarly articles covering all aspects of criminology. Also searches books, theses, and additional materials.
Scholarly articles from all psychological fields. Also searches book and thesis content.
Large, multidisciplinary article database that is a good starting point for research in many areas.
Major Canadian newspapers as well as many small-market newspapers.
If you have not found anything useful in the Library's databases (though that's very unlikely!), you may want to check Google Scholar.
Google Scholar lists articles from a wide variety of scholarly journals. It also includes references to book chapters and many other types of sources.
"How can I use Google Scholar to find full text articles?"If database searching is new for you, learn the benefits of using them in your research, with this short video from Yavapai Community College Library.
VIDEO: How to Find a Particular Journal in the Library (5:42)
Note: This search will ONLY tell you whether Kwantlen users have access to a specific journal title, and link you to a list of available issues. This tool will NOT search for individual articles on a specific topic. For that, you need to use either Summon or one of the library's research databases.
Peer-reviewed journals are often called scholarly or academic journals. They are different from popular magazines. Articles in peer-reviewed journals:
If you'd like to scan through some of the most important journals in the field, here is Google Scholar's list of the top 5 journals in Criminology, Criminal Law and Policing, as of September 2025:
And for a Canadian focus, see:
"Does the library have this journal/ newspaper/ magazine?"You can look up the journal title using this quick search box:
Note: This search will ONLY tell you whether Kwantlen users have access to a specific journal title, and link you to a list of available issues. This tool will NOT search for individual articles on a specific topic. For that, you need to use either Summon or one of the library's research databases.
Once you've searched the Library's databases, check Google Scholar for more articles and reports.
"How can I use Google Scholar to find full text articles?"The University of Toronto's Centre for Criminology & Sociolegal Studies publishes excellent, critical summaries of important publications (mostly journal articles) several times a year in its Criminological Highlights publication. The search options are limited, however.
Check out these special issues of Criminological Highlights:
