LibGuides: Statistics: Canada

Statistics Canada

Statistics Canada ("Statcan") is the national government agency responsible for collecting and publishing socio-economic statistics in Canada.

Census

Statistics Canada conducts the national population Census every 5 years.
The most recent Census was conducted in 2021. Data will be released over the next 2 years.
See the Census tab on this guide for more info and links to data from previous Censuses..

Other statistics

In addition to the Census, Statcan also gathers data from many other surveys and sources on an ongoing basis.
It publishes a lot of tables, articles, and reports on its website.
You can search all tables (including the Census) through the Data Portal. [Note: in the past they had a separate CANSIM collection.]

What doesn't Statcan measure?

Statistics Canada does NOT collect information on all topics.
See "Does Statistics Canada Collect This Information?"

Statistics Canada starting points

The Statistics Canada website is vast. Try these search tools:

Statistics by subject
A great tool for exploring the range of material available from Statistics Canada on different topics. You drill down from broad to narrower subjects. Results include Census and other tables, journal articles, and analytical reports.
Census Program
Includes links to key search tools for Census Profiles and Census Datasets. See the CENSUS tab on this guide for more detailed suggestions.
Data Portal
Search across Census and other StatCan data tables, articles, and other sources. Use the filters provided to focus your search. See the STATCAN DATA TABLES tab on this guide for more detailed suggestions.
Canada at a Glance
Brief annual summary of key statistics, with some international comparisons.

How to search Statistics Canada's Data Portal

Laurier University developed this excellent short video (5:29) on Finding Statistics Using StatCan's Data Portal.

Population Estimates and Projections

Current Estimates

Since the Census only takes place every 5 years, government agencies produce estimates of the actual population annually

Recent Changes in Demographic Trends in Canada
Short report from Statistics Canada, October 2015.
Annual Demographic Estimates: Subprovincial Areas
Statistics Canada. Best estimates of actual population in the years between Censuses.
Annual Demographic Estimates: Canada, Provinces and Territories
Statistics Canada. Best estimates of actual population in the years between Censuses.
BC Municipal and Regional District Population Estimates
Updated annually by BC STATS. Summary report and Excel tables available.
Registered Indian Population by Sex and Residence [annual]
From Indigenous Services Canada.

Future Projections

Future projections based on Census figures, birth and death rates, immigration, migration patterns, etc.

Population Projections for Canada, Provinces and Territories
Statistics Canada. Provincial projections to 2043, national projections to 2068.
BC STATS Population Projections (APP)
Provincial and sub-provincial estimates of population back to 1986, with projections to 2043. Customize your table based on population characteristics, region, and time frame. Also available as PDF or Excel spreadsheet.
BC Household Projections
from Data BC. Overall population, gender distribution, age distribution, median age, average age, population growth rates, number of households, average number of people per household. At the regional district and municipal levels. An interactive app is also available through BC STATS, but with less detail for each region.
Population projections on immigration and diversity: Interactive Dashboard
From Statistics Canada. Projects possible population numbers for racialized groups, for Canada as a whole, each province, and several metropolitan areas, including Vancouver and Abbotsford/Mission.
Projections of the Indigenous Populations: Interactive Dashboard
From Statistics Canada.
Registered Indian Population, Household and Family Projections, 2009-2034
From Indian Affairs & Northern Development Canada (now Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada).

Labour force estimates & projections

BC Labour Market Outlook
From Data BC. 10-year projections, by iindustry, occupation and job type, for each region.
Canadian Labour Force Projections to 2031
Statistics Canada. Feature article in the Canadian Economic Observer (August 2011). National level only.

Public Opinion Polls

York University Guide to Public Opinion Polls
An excellent list of Canadian and international sources, with brief descriptions. A few of the sources listed are not available to Kwantlen users.
CORA: Canadian Opinion Research Archive
Canadian opinion polls since the 1970's. Collected by CORA at Queen's University from a variety of sources. You can search, analyze and download data on the ODESI platform.
Ipsos News & Polls
As of mid-2017, Ipsos is freely releasing its Canadian News & Polls data.
Ipsos Canada
Access to over 100 Canadian public opinion polls conducted by Ipsos Canada from 2004 to 2015 and donated to Laurier University. Access is free to all through the ODESI data service.

ODESI This link opens in a new window
Digital repository of datasets in the social sciences.
Video Tutorials

ODESI contains datasets from many sources, including most of the Data Liberation Initiative (DLI) files from Statistics Canada, as well as Canadian polling data. Anyone can search the full ODESI collection to identify relevant data files and documentation, and view basic frequencies, but KPU users can only download selected parts of the collection.

Note: the Statistics Canada Public-Use Microdata Files (PUMF’s) in ODESI are subject to the DLI Licence agreement for Public Use Microdata Files. Other files are subject to varying licences.

Public Opinion Research Reports
Reports from public opinion polls conducted by the Government of Canada since 2006.

Historical statistics

Canada Year Book, 2006-2012
Excellent annual summary of a broad range of statistics, with brief commentary. This web version on the Statistics Canada website allows you to browse by broad topic (and read in HTML or PDF format), rather than view only one page at a time as in the CYB Historical Collection below.
Note: The CYB ceased in 2012.
Canada Year Book Historical Collection,1867-1990
Searchable PDF's of each annual volume. Each page in each volume is a separate PDF. If you'd prefer to view a whole volume at once, use the PDF version available through the Publications Canada catalogue instead.
Missing volumes for 1969, 1970-71, and 1972.
Note: We have print copies from 1968-2012 in the Surrey Reference collection. Call number: REF HA 741 A21
Canada Year Book, 1906-1967
In the Publications Canada catalogue. Each yearbook is a separate PDF which makes it easier to search and browse than the version in the CYB Historical Collection.
Historical Statistics of Canada, 2nd ed.
Over 1,000 statistical tables arranged in broad categories, from 1867 to the mid-1970's. Cites original sources of data. See subject index to quickly locate tables on your topic.
Note: We have the print version at the Surrey campus: REF HA 746 H58 1983
Statistics Canada Historical Publications
On the Scholar's Portal platform. "Over 90,000 digitized issues from Statistics Canada titles from the 19th to the early 21st century that were originally published in print, including the Canada Year Book, The Daily, Canadian Social Trends, and the Consumer Price Index."

KPU Library

Statistics

The Daily

Confidentiality