Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

KPU Library: News & Events

Current news and events for KPU Library

Spring Service Update

Continued Modified Library Service in Response to COVID-19

To protect the health of KPU students and employees:

  • Assistance is offered remotely by phone, text, email or chat.
  • All campus libraries remain open, but with reduced hours and limited capacity.
  • The only in-person service we are offering are pick-up appointments for library material, equipment or KPU Cards.
  • Appointments need to be made to return equipment at our Service Desks. Other library material, like books, can be returned using the Book Return bins. Most library material borrowed during spring semester have a due date of April 23, 2021. If you have borrowed library material, check My Account for your due dates. 

Please check our COVID-19 Response Guide for the most detailed and up-to-date information about library services during the pandemic.

If you need assistance or have a question, you can still chat, email, text or phone us to get in touch.

We hope everyone stays safe and healthy during this time.

December 9, 2020

KPU Library Strategic Plan 2021-2023

After a process that involved brainstorming, consultation, feedback and revision, KPU Library is pleased to announce the final version of KPU Library Strategic Plan 2021-2023. The plan has been evolving for over a year and we are excited with the direction it will take the library and how it aligns with KPU's Vision 2023 and Academic Plan 2023.

We would like to thank the Strategic Plan Working Group members, library employees, and all those outside of the library who provided feedback towards this final version of the plan; we value your thoughts and paid close consideration to every comment.  Your contributions have made this plan richer and more meaningful. 

Visit About the Library to view the final plan. 

December 8, 2020

Richmond Campus Library Closures

Due to upcoming electrical work on Richmond campus, our Richmond campus library will be closed on December 14, 18, and 21. Our other campus libraries will remain open with our regular hours on these days. Visit Library Hours & Locations.

Questions? Ask Us

November 27, 2020

New Indigenous Information Literacy Videos

KPU Library is pleased to announce a new series of videos on using or sharing Indigenous information in research.

Created to support research with an Indigenous lens, these videos are for Indigenous and non-Indigenous instructors, their classrooms, and for students who undertake research using Indigenous sources or in Indigenous communities.  The videos cover topics such as respectful research practices, how to cite Elders & Knowledge Keepers, and how to evaluate Indigenous sources. 

We encourage KPU instructors to incorporate these videos in their courses. They were created by Rachel Chong, Indigenous & Anthropology Subject Liaison Librarian.

Video Overviews: 

Source Evaluation: Factors to consider when evaluating Indigenous sources for credibility. Among other things, the video highlights the importance of situating authorship, how to examine outdated sources, and evaluating sources for credibility and respectful research practices.

Finding Indigenous Voices: How to find sources in KPU Library's catalogue and considerations regarding searching for Indigenous authors and creators in KPU Library's collection.

TCPS2 & Indigenous Research: An overview of the Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans, how it should be consulted, and good research practices if you're researching and working with Indigenous communities. 

Elders & Respectful Research: Who are Elders & Knowledge Keepers in an Indigenous community, and how to engage and collaborate with Elders & Knowledge Keepers respectfully in your research. 

Elder & Knowledge Keeper Citation: Instruction on how to cite an Elder or Knowledge Keeper in APA, MLA and Chicago, and considerations and best practices when using Indigenous print and oral sources. 

To view the videos, visit the Indigenous Information Literacy section in our Indigenous Studies Subject Guide

Questions? Contact Rachel Chong, Indigenous & Anthropology Subject Liaison Librarian

November 27, 2020

Spring 2021 Student Laptop Requests will open December 3 

Starting December 3, the library will begin accepting new requests to borrow Student Laptops for spring semester, as well as requests to renew laptops that are currently on loan.

In both cases, students must fill out the form on Laptop Loans. The library will contact you if your request is approved. Once approved, we will contact you with details. You will be required to come to campus.

To borrow any library material in-person, including laptops, you need to have your KPU Card. Don't have one yet? Make sure to apply ahead of time so you have it ready to go. 

Laptops loaned for the fall semester have a due date of December 17, 2020. 

This service is open to current KPU Students only. 

Questions? Visit Borrowing Equipment on our COVID-19 Library Response Guide. You may also contact us via the form on Library Borrowing and Fine Questions. 

November 17, 2020

Service Reminder: Link.Scan.Open  (LSO)

KPU Instructors: We've brought together a number of library services, new and old, to facilitate our faculty and instructors' online teaching. The goal is to provide digitized access to the library's collection for KPU instructors and their students.

Using the form on Link.Scan.Open, instructors can request:

  • A direct LINK to an online article or book from the library's collection
    • a link or an embed code for streaming a video from the library's collection
  • SCAN  of an article or a chapter from a book from the library's collection
  • Help finding OPEN resources in your teaching area for your course site. 

In other words, LSO is a contactless service for KPU instructors to request accessible library material for their online classes.

Used to placing items on Course Reserve for your students? LSO replaces the Course Reserve process, which is currently unavailable due to COVID-19.

In all cases, copyright compliance is checked before any action is taken. What can be scanned? Things such as a chapter from a book (or up to 10% of a book), one article from a journal issue, or a newspaper article or page are all considered copyright compliant. Read more about Fair Dealing and copyright or send copyright questions to copyright@kpu.ca.

Do you have questions about this service? Ask us!

November 12, 2020

Interlibrary Loan service resumes

On November 16, KPU Library resumes full Interlibrary Loan service, within our COVID-19 procedures.

Interlibrary Loan is the service that allows KPU employees and students the ability to borrow materials from other post-secondary institutions through KPU Library. During the pandemic, we have only been able to process requests for articles, but on November 16, we will resume processing requests for print items such as books.

Please note that while Interlibrary Loan will resume regular service, it does so within our COVID-19 operating procedures. This means that an appointment will be necessary to pick up any library material, and processing time may take longer than it would have pre-pandemic. Please adhere to KPU policies and Health Authority guidelines while visiting the library.

A KPU Card is necessary to pick up any library material, so please apply online before doing so. KPU Card issuance takes time to complete, so please apply with ample time before requesting books for pick up. 

For full information, or for instructions on how to order an interlibrary loan, visit Interlibrary Loans.

October 27, 2020

Check your library account begore registration

Registration begins November 16, 2020. Unpaid fines and/or overdue material can interfere with registering and withdrawing from courses. It may result in the withholding of transcripts, diplomas, certificates or citations and loss of library privileges.

Please check My Library Account often to ensure a trouble free registration. If you have any questions please contact the library via the form on Borrowing and Fine Questions, which is available from kpu.ca/library under Our Services. 

October 23, 2020

New Online Resources this Fall

We’re well into Fall semester, and the library would like to highlight some of the new resources we’ve added to our online collections.

  • Criterion-on-Demand: a feature-film platform specifically designed to provide streamed access to feature films relevant to post-secondary education and higher education. This resource includes over 1500 titles including French and other foreign language films, documentaries and new releases! 
  • Fairchild Interior Design Library: This resource provides access to some important interior design textbooks and related educational materials for our students in design. There are almost 70 textbooks to choose from and ranges from foundational to specialized content. 
  • JoVE Collection: JoVE Core and JoVE Lab Manuals features video format textbook and lab manuals in biology and chemistry. Searching this database for information on topics like photosynthesis or metabolism will garner results comprising of reference videos for knowledge building and research videos for inquiry. It also covers the same topics as Campbell Biology. Win! 
  • OverDrive: The newest addition to our online resources! OverDrive provides online access to certain ebooks and audiobooks. While our current collection is small, the addition of OverDrive allows us to add popular titles to our collection in different formats, including “So you want to talk about race?’ by Ijeoma Oluo, “The Lying Life of Adults” by Elena Ferrante, and Carmon and Knizhnik’s “Notorious RBG.”
  • PrepStep: PrepSTEP provides practice tests and other learning support materials for standardized tests such as NCLEX, IELTS, TOEFL, LSAT, MCAT, GRE, and the RCMP Aptitude Test. It also features general skill development in English, math, computer and college success skills. 
  • Vancouver Sun Archives: We already have access to Vancouver Sun articles from 2011 onward, but now we’ve added access to articles written as far back as 1912!

Many of these databases provides our students access to class materials, and we’re proud to help reduce textbook costs to our students. These resources help provide options for our instructors so they can offer students access to textbooks at zero cost. All of these databases are available to current KPU students, instructors and employees. 

The continued access to our online resources relies on usage and your feedback. Please let us know what you think! We’d be happy to hear about your experience with these resources and your online resource needs. Please use the form at https://kpu.libwizard.com/f/collectionsfeedback.

October 14, 2020

KPU Library's Strategic Plan 2021-2023: Call for feedback

Between now and October 27, we are gathering feedback from the KPU community on our upcoming Strategic Plan. We welcome your thoughts and insights, so please visit KPU Library Strategic Plan Feedback to view the document and provide feedback using the form. We look forward to hearing from you!

September 9, 2020

Now available from the library: A new open resource on academic integrity and a new badge

Academic Integrity cover Academic Integrity is an open resource with readings and interactive components that can be accessed online. The content is designed to help students understand the importance of adhering to academic integrity principles and raise their awareness around plagiarism, citation, quoting and paraphrasing, and KPU assistance in these areas. Instructors can assign this resource to students and integrate it into their own teaching. KPU instructors may also choose to ask students to earn an academic integrity recognition badge.

To encourage understanding and to ensure your students don’t skip reading the resource before doing the quizzes and earning the badge, we recommend integrating Academic Integrity into your own assignments and interactions with your students. It is a flexible resource (you can link to any part you want) and a great opportunity for content for discussion and reflection work!

To get a badge, KPU students are asked to read the first four parts of Academic Integrity and then answer the corresponding quizzes in the Academic Integrity Moodle course and submit an Academic Integrity Declaration. Once earned, the badge will appear on their Moodle profile.

There are also three optional, ungraded modules in Academic Integrity that introduce the main citations styles used at KPU: APA, MLA and Chicago. You can assign the modules individually, depending on what style you use in your course, as a course reading or task. These modules are not connected to the badge.

Visit our Academic Integrity Moodle Course page to access this new open resource and for the link for KPU students to enroll to earn their badge.

Questions? Contact Ulrike Kestler, LANC, EDST & Academic Integrity Liaison Librarian, KPU Library.

August 4, 2020

The challenge of purchasing e-textbooks for the library's collection 

As the library is busy preparing for the fall semester, we want to let our instructors and users know about the barriers academic libraries face while attempting to provide alternative access to our collections. It becomes especially apparent while trying to find solutions for course reserves, a service unavailable during COVID.  Read more about our E-Textbook Purchasing Challenges

Library Twitter Account