On March 14, 2016, Statistics Canada released the fact sheets on Aboriginal peoples in Canada’s provinces, from the publication Aboriginal Peoples Fact Sheets. These fact sheets present a statistical overview of the socioeconomic characteristics of Aboriginal peoples in each of the ten provinces. They include information on living arrangements of children, education, employment, income, housing, health and languages of the Aboriginal population.
Fact sheet links:
On March 29, 2016, Statistics Canada released the fact sheets on Aboriginal peoples in Canada’s territories and Inuit regions, from the publication Aboriginal Peoples Fact Sheets. These fact sheets present a statistical overview of the socioeconomic characteristics of Aboriginal peoples two territories and five Inuit regions. They include information on living arrangements of children, education, employment, income, housing, health and languages of the Aboriginal population.
Fact sheet links:
The Various Aboriginal Concepts in Statistics Canada’s Data
There are many different ways of identifying Aboriginal peoples in Statistics Canada data. There is no single or "correct" definition of Aboriginal peoples. There are many different ways of looking at the data. The choice of a concept depends on what the data will be used for.
All of our data is self-reported. Respondents decide how to best answer the questions as they apply to them.
Aboriginal Insight Newsletter - December 2014 [pp. 4-5]
Aboriginal Liaison Program, Aboriginal Statistics Program, Statistics Canada
Data sources for Aboriginal Statistics at a Glance: 2nd Edition include the 2001 and 2006 censuses of population, the 2011 National Household Survey (NHS), the 2012 Aboriginal Peoples Survey, the Canadian Community Health Survey, the Adult Correctional Services Survey, the 2012 Programme for the International Assessment of Adult Competencies, the Labour Force Survey, and the General Social Survey on Victimization and the Homicide Survey.
Canadian Demographics at a Glance released in PDF and PowerPoint format.by Statistics Canada in February 2016. It was previously released in HTML on June 19, 2014. Aboriginal data can be found in two sections. In Section three, aspects related to the composition of the Canadian population are analyzed, including Aboriginal identity, ethnocultural diversity, language, the labour force and families and households. Section four examines selected demographic characteristics for the provinces, territories and some subprovincial areas.
On April 16, 2019, Statistics Canada released the article ‘Harvesting activities among First Nations people living off reserve, Métis and Inuit: Time trends, barriers and associated factors, 2001-2017’. Harvesting activities such as hunting, fishing, trapping and gathering wild plants have been part of Aboriginal peoples’ ways of living for millennia. They have endured despite the impact of colonization, including the impacts of residential schools, relocation to permanent settlements and introduction of the wage economy. This paper examines trends in harvesting activities, specifically hunting, fishing or trapping and gathering wild plants or berries, among First Nations people living off reserve, Métis and Inuit using four cycles of the Aboriginal Peoples Survey (2001, 2006, 2012 and 2017). It also explores self-reported barriers to participation in harvesting activities and associated factors.
Overview of Census 2016
Click here for an interactive infographic put together by the CBC on the Census 2016 “Where do you fit in Canada’s 35 million”.
Provides a quick access to key results from the census at different levels of geography.
Focusing on a selected geographic area, this product presents data highlights for each of the major releases of the 2011 National Household Survey (NHS). These data highlights are presented through text, tables and figures. Series provides a quick access to key results from the NHS for different levels of geography and topics. These topics include: Aboriginal Peoples, Immigration and Ethnocultural Diversity, Education, Labour, Income and Housing
Statistics Canada has released the Regional discussion report: Review of First Nations, Métis and Inuit questions on the census.
From September 2017 to February 2018, Statistics Canada undertook a series of regional discussions across the country to talk to First Nations people, Métis and Inuit. These discussions focused on the questions asked in the census and in other Statistics Canada surveys to produce data about First Nations people, Métis and Inuit.
The goal of this report is to summarize the feedback heard in the regional discussions. This feedback was used to prepare questions that will be tested in the 2019 Census Test.
Statistics Canada has released theTechnical Report. The report deals with Aboriginal identity, Registered or Treaty Indian Status, Membership in a First Nation or Indian band, and Aboriginal ancestry. The report contains explanations of concepts, data quality, historical comparability with other sources, as well as information on data collection, processing and dissemination.
GeoSearch. This is an interactive mapping application that makes it easy to find geographic areas in Canada for which census data are available. When you select an area you will notice below the map there are links to data products, analytical products, and maps that are available for your selected area.
The Census Program Dissemination Project has released the following:
The links to the Census Program dissemination Project releases are located under the ‘Release and Concepts Overview, 2016 Census of Population’ heading on the ‘Reference materials’ landing page.
The purpose of the Release and concepts overview series is to provide an overview of:
Census Products from the 2011 Census:
Canadian Census Analyser features census profiles for multiple levels of geography as far back as 1961, online analysis of public use microdata files 1971- , and postal code conversion files 1996-
Aboriginal Peoples Survey 2017
From January to June of 2017 Statistics Canada conducted the 2017 Aboriginal Peoples Survey which collected information from First Nations people living off-reserve, Métis, and Inuit, aged 15 and over across Canada. Questions focused on key topics such as employment, skills and training, education, health, and cultural practices.
With this information, Aboriginal organizations, communities, service providers, researchers and governments will be able to provide appropriate programs and services across the country—for you, your family, and your community.
Answers are confidential. The Statistics Act protects respondents' information. This information cannot be disclosed without the respondents' consent or as authorized by the Statistics Act.
"The purpose of the APS is to provide data on the social and economic conditions of Aboriginal people in Canada. More specifically, its purpose is to identify the needs of Aboriginal people and focus on issues such as education, employment, health, language, income, housing and mobility"
The 2012 Aboriginal Peoples Survey (APS) is a national survey of First Nations people living off reserve, Métis and Inuit aged six years and over. The 2012 APS represents the fourth cycle of the survey and focuses on the topics of education, employment and health. It also collects information on language, income, housing and mobility.
The 2012 APS collects unique and detailed data on education, employment and health, data which are not available from any other source. For example, although the 2011 National Household Survey collected data on level of education and on major field of study, the 2012 APS addresses additional topics such as number of schools attended, exposure to Aboriginal languages, school climate and support, frequency of reading, participation in extra-curricular activities, peer influences and plans for further schooling. Lots of health related questions and is a better sources than the Canadian Community Health Survey (CCHS ) which had a very small sample of aboriginal people.
APS does NOT include on-reserve aboriginals (see FNIGC sources below for on-reserve coverage); Census enumeration of reserves is incomplete
2012 includes Q re: residential school attendance
On April 1, 2016, Statistics Canada released 10 new tables from the 2012 Aboriginal Peoples Survey (APS). Data from the 2012 Aboriginal Peoples Survey, Education and Employment are now available on CANSIM at the national, provincial, territorial and Inuit region levels. The 10 tables are related to Education, Employment, and Aboriginal Languages spoken and understood. They provide data by age group, sex, and Aboriginal identity.
Available in CANSIM: tables 576-0009 - 576-0014, and 578-0001 - 578-0004 at:
‘Adult and youth correctional statistics in Canada, 2017/2018’. was released on May 9, 2019. This Juristat article provides a statistical overview of adults and youth admitted to and released from custody and community supervision in Canada in 2015/2016. Analysis is presented at the national as well as the provincial and territorial levels. Average counts and the incarceration rates are presented. Admissions and the characteristics of adults and youth in the correctional system (such as age, sex and Aboriginal identity) are also discussed.
Aboriginal data is not included in this release but it may be useful or interesting for you. On May 7, 2019, Statistics Canada released the article ‘Police-reported crime in rural and urban areas in the Canadian provinces, 2017’. This Juristat article presents information on the nature and extent of crime in the rural areas of the Canadian provinces. This includes analysis of recent trends in crime rates and severity in rural and urban areas, both at the national and provincial levels. The report also examines the specific nature and extent of crime in rural areas of the provincial North. Analysis uses police-reported data from the Uniform Crime Reporting Survey and the Homicide Survey, as well as self-reported data from General Social Survey on Canadians’ Safety (Victimization).
Violent victimization and discrimination among visible minority populations, Canada, 2014
On April 12, 2018, Statistics Canada released ‘Violent victimization and discrimination among visible minority populations, Canada, 2014.’ This Juristat article presents information on the experiences of violent victimization among the visible minority population in Canada using self-reported data from the 2014 General Social Survey on Canadians' Safety (Victimization). In addition, characteristics of violent incidents are explored, along with experiences of discrimination and perceptions of safety. Note: Aboriginal people are included under the ‘non-visible minority’ group used in this article, but generally have a very different demographic and victimization profile than non-Aboriginal Canadians who are not visible minorities. See Tables 4 and 6.
Among the findings:
In 2014, the overall rate of violent victimization among visible minorities (55E incidents per 1,000 population) was significantly lower than among non-visible minorities (80 per 1,000) and that of Aboriginal people (163 per 1,000).
The Daily: http://www.statcan.gc.ca/daily-quotidien/180412/dq180412d-eng.htm
Violent victimization and discrimination by religious affiliation in Canada, 2014
On April 12, 2018, Statistics Canada released ‘Violent victimization and discrimination by religious affiliation in Canada, 2014.’ This Juristat article uses data from the 2014 General Social Survey on Canadians’ Safety (Victimization) to analyze self-reported experiences of victimization and discrimination among Canadians by their religious affiliation. Characteristics of violent incidents are examined—including whether victim reported to police—while information on the context surrounding experiences of discrimination is explored. In addition, religious affiliation is examined in relation to Canadians’ perceptions of safety and attitudes toward police performance.
Among the findings:
When asked about their confidence in the police, Christians and non-Christians generally had a similar level of confidence, and both groups had higher confidence than did individuals with no religious affiliation. However, Buddhists (31%) and individuals affiliated with Aboriginal spirituality (23%E) were less likely to have a ‘great deal’ of confidence compared to Christian individuals (48%).
The Daily: http://www.statcan.gc.ca/daily-quotidien/180412/dq180412d-eng.htm
‘Police-reported hate crime in Canada, 2015', a Juristat article released on June 13, 2017, examines the nature and extent of police-reported hate crime in Canada. This article includes information on police-reported hate crimes in 2015 targeting such groups as Aboriginal people. In addition, a trend analysis was done on police-reported hate crimes from 2010 to 2015. This analysis includes information on the characteristics of the offences, victims and accused of such police-reported hate crimes.
On April 25, 2018, Statistics Canada released the article ‘Police-reported hate crime in Canada, 2016’. This Juristat article examines the nature and extent of police-reported hate crime in Canada. Key topics include motivations for hate crime (e.g., race/ethnicity, religion, and sexual orientation), types of offences, geographical comparisons and accused/victim characteristics. The article uses data from the Incident-based Uniform Crime Reporting Survey which gathers data from police records.
Among the findings:
Police-reported hate crime against Aboriginal peoples continued to account for a relatively small proportion of hate crimes (2%), declining from 35 incidents in 2015 to 30 incidents in 2016.
On February 16, 2017, Statistics Canada released the article ‘Family violence in Canada: A statistical profile, 2015’. This Juristat article profiles a general overview of family violence in Canada, intimate partner violence (including both spousal and dating violence partners), family violence against children, and family violence against seniors. This annual article is designed to help monitor changes in family violence over time and identify emerging issues. Section 1 includes data on Aboriginal people.
'Family violence in Canada: a statistical profile, 2014' can be found at:
On March 1, 2017, Statistics Canada released the article ‘Youth correctional statistics, 2015/2016’. This Juristat article provides a statistical overview of youth under correctional supervision in Canada in 2015/2016. Analysis is presented at the national as well as the provincial and territorial levels. Average counts, intakes, admissions and the characteristics of youth in the correctional system (such as age, sex and Aboriginal identity) are discussed.
For 'Youth Correctional Statistics in Canada, 2014/2015' click here.
On March 1, 2017, Statistics Canada released the article ‘Adult correctional statistics in Canada, 2015/2016’. This Juristat article provides a statistical overview of adults admitted to and released from custody and community supervision in Canada in 2015/2016. Analysis is presented at the national as well as the provincial and territorial levels. Average counts and the incarceration rates are presented. Admissions and the characteristics of adults in the correctional system (such as age, sex and Aboriginal identity) are also discussed.
On June 28, 2016, Statistics Canada released the article ‘Victimization of Aboriginal people in Canada, 2014’. This Juristat article uses data from the 2014 General Social Survey on Victimization to present information on Aboriginal victimization, with a particular focus on violent victimization. Characteristics associated with these incidents, including possible risk factors, as well as consequences of victimization, reasons for reporting or not reporting the victimization to the police, perceptions of personal safety, and perceptions of the criminal justice system are also explored.
On April 27, 2016, Statistics Canada released the article ‘Criminal victimization in the territories, 2014’ in its publication Juristat. This article presents the first results from the 2014 General Social Survey on Victimization in the territories. The analysis provides insight on the nature and extent of criminal victimization in the territories. The report also examines the factors associated with the risk of being the victim of a crime, the characteristics of spousal violence, the consequences of victimization, the reporting of incidents to police, feelings of safety and perceptions of the police.
On June 13, 2016, Statistics Canada released the article ‘Perceptions of police performance in the territories, 2014’ in Spotlight on Canadians: Results from the General Social Survey. This paper examines the perceptions of residents in the territories of the performance of the police in their communities, using data from the 2014 General Social Survey (GSS) on Victimization. The impact of geography, socio-demographic and neighbourhood characteristics on perceptions are also discussed.
Among the findings:
Aboriginal people living in the territories were less likely to state that police were doing a good job when compared to non-Aboriginal residents. In particular, Aboriginal people were considerably less likely than non-Aboriginal people to believe police were doing a good job enforcing the laws (43% compared to 59%) and promptly responding to calls (41% compared to 58%).
Police-reported hate crime in Canada, 2017
This Juristat article, released April 30, 2019, examines the nature and extent of police-reported hate crime in Canada. Key topics include motivations for hate crime (e.g., race/ethnicity, religion, and sexual orientation), types of offences, geographical comparisons, and victim/accused characteristics. The article uses data from the Incident-based Uniform Crime Reporting Survey which gathers data from police records.
Among the findings:
Incidents against Aboriginal people account for a relatively small proportion of police-reported hate crimes (2%). The number of hate crimes targeting the Aboriginal population increased from 30 in 2016 to 31 in 2017. This represented 2.0 hate crimes per 100,000 Aboriginal people in Canada in 2017. In comparison, there were 67 hate crimes targeting the South Asian population in Canada, representing 3.5 hate crimes per 100,000 South Asians. There were also 61 police-reported hate crimes targeting the East or Southeast Asian population, amounting to 2.1 incidents per 100,000 East or Southeast Asians.
Over half (54%) of hate crimes targeting the East or Southeast Asian population were violent and 46% non-violent, with the most common being common assault (25%), or uttering threats (13%). Similarly, 53% of hate crime targeting Aboriginal people were violent, yet these tended to involve offences beyond common assault (16%), including assault with a weapon or causing bodily harm (11%), and uttering threats (11%).
For all types of hate crimes, almost a third of victims reported by police between 2010 and 2017 were female. However, violent incidents targeting the Muslim and Aboriginal populations are more likely than other types of hate crimes to involve
female victims. Of all victims of violent hate crimes targeting the Muslim population that were reported to police, 44% were women or girls, as was true for 44% of victims of hate crimes against the Aboriginal population. For all other types
of hate crimes, female victims accounted for between 18% and 40% of victims.
‘Homicide in Canada, 2017’ was released by Statistics Canada November 2018. This Juristat article presents 2017 homicide data. Changes in the rates of homicide in Canada over time are examined as well as the characteristics of homicides committed in 2017. It presents information on the age and sex of homicide victims, the methods used to commit homicides (including the use of firearms), whether the homicide was determined to be gang-related, the relationship of the accused to the victim as well as other characteristics of the accused. In addition, information is presented on homicide victims and accused who were identified as Aboriginal.
Among the findings:
While only representing an estimated 5% of the Canadian population, Aboriginal people accounted for 24% of all homicide victims in 2017. This proportion has remained relatively unchanged since the first release of complete Aboriginal identity information for both male and female victims in 2014.
By the end of 2017, police services had solved 79% of 2017 homicides involving an Aboriginal victim compared to 63% for non-Aboriginal victims; however, differences emerged depending on the sex of the victim. Just over three quarters (76%) of homicides involving an Aboriginal female victim were solved by police compared to 84% for non-Aboriginal female victims. In previous years, solve rates for Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal female victims have been similar.
Homicide in Canada, 2015, ’. This Juristat article released on November 23, 2016, presents 2015 homicide data. Short and long-term trends in homicide are examined at the national, provincial/territorial and census metropolitan area levels. Gang-related homicides, firearm-related homicides, intimate partner homicides, and homicides committed by youth are also explored. This article also presents a special analysis of the circumstances surrounding homicides of Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal females committed by 'casual acquaintances' from 1980 to 2015.
'Homicide in Canada, 2014' presents new data on the nature and extend of homicides involving Aborigianl victims and accused persons. The year 2014 marks the first cycle of collection of Homicide Survey data for which complete information regarding Aboriginal identitiy has been reported for both victims and accused persons, regardless of gender. Among the findings:
On February 23, 2016, Statistics Canada released the chapter from Women in Canada entitled “First Nations, Métis and Inuit Women”, which explores the diverse circumstances and experiences of Aboriginal women in Canada. Overall, the chapter highlights demographic characteristics, families, housing, knowledge of Aboriginal languages, employment, income, education, and health. Where appropriate, comparisons have been made between the Aboriginal female population and the non-Aboriginal female population as well as the Aboriginal female population and Aboriginal male population. Wherever possible, information is provided for First Nations, Métis and Inuit women separately.
On April 13, 2016, Statistics Canada released the article entitled “Living arrangements of Aboriginal children aged 14 and under, 2011”. This study uses data from the National Household Survey (NHS) to examine the living arrangements of Aboriginal children aged 14 and under, and includes results about the proportion of Aboriginal children who lived with lone parents, with their grandparents, or in a stepfamily. The study also provides key statistics about Aboriginal foster children.
On April 17, 2019, Statistics Canada released the article ‘Canadian residential facilities for victims of abuse, 2017/2018’. This Juristat article profiles Canadian residential facilities for victims of abuse and their residents. The article provides a one-day ‘snapshot’ of available services and the characteristics of the residents being served, including women, men, and accompanying children. It also includes information on annual admissions, occupancy rates and capacity, turn-aways, funding and repairs, and challenges facing residential facilities for victims of abuse and their residents. Information is presented at the provincial, territorial or regional level, as well as according to urban and rural geographies.
This article uses data from the Survey of Residential Facilities for Victims of Abuse (SRFVA). The SRFVA frame covers all residential facilities primarily mandated to serve victims of abuse.
Among the findings:
According to the latest Canadian Census of Population, 4% of Canadian women aged 18 and older and 8% of children aged 0 to 17 are Aboriginal. In the Survey of Residential Facilities for Victims of Abuse, 86% of facilities, accounting for 91% of residents, reported the Aboriginal identity of their residents as of snapshot day. More than one in five (22%) women aged 18 and over, and one in four (25%) children residing in facilities for victims of abuse on that day were Aboriginal.
Over half (57%) of the residential facilities that reported the services they provide to vulnerable populations offer culturally sensitive services that accommodate the unique needs of Aboriginal persons. For example, these services may recognize traditional healing methods and Aboriginal cultural norms and beliefs. At 24%, Quebec reported the lowest proportion of facilities offering such services. In other jurisdictions the proportion of residential facilities that offered culturally sensitiveservices ranged between 51% and 100% (Table 4). Quebec had the second lowest rate of Aboriginal residents staying for reasons of abuse on snapshot day (7%), after Prince Edward Island (0%).
Nationally, 30 (6%) residential facilities indicated they were located on a reserve. Provincially, Ontario (7), Quebec (6), British Columbia (5), Alberta (4) and Manitoba (4) accounted for the majority of on reserve facilities, while another 4 facilitieswere located in the Atlantic region. The majority (27 of 30) of facilities located on reserve were short-term facilities.
On May 4, 2017, Statistics Canada released the article ‘Young men and women without a high school diploma’ in Insights on Canadian Society. In this paper, multiple sources of data are used to study the profile and labour market outcomes of young men and women aged 25 to 34 without a high school diploma. The data sources include the Labour Force Survey (LFS), the Canadian Income Survey (CIS) and the Canadian Survey on Disability (CSD).
Among the findings:
Aboriginal people (First Nations living off reserve, Métis and Inuit) were more likely to have less than a high school diploma. Specifically, 20% of Aboriginal men and 16% of Aboriginal women did not have a high school diploma. Among immigrants, the percentages were 7% for men and 5% for women; among non-Aboriginal men and women who were born in Canada, the percentages were 9% and 5%, respectively.
Employment of First Nations men and women living off reserve – This paper uses the 2017 Aboriginal Peoples Survey to assess the employment characteristics of First Nations men and women, including occupation, industry and full-time/part-time employment. A number of other outcomes, influenced by these characteristics, are further explored, such as job satisfaction, skills, health, presence of disability, and measures of economic well-being such as food security.
Employment characteristics of Métis women and men aged 25 to 54 in Canada – This paper uses the 2017 Aboriginal Peoples Survey to assess the employment characteristics of Métis men and women. A number of other outcomes, influenced by these characteristics, are further explored, such as employment rates, employment income, education, occupation and employment types, economic instability, and self-reported mental health.
Inuit participation in the wage and land-based economies in Inuit Nunangat – For Inuit, the term 'livelihood' encompasses work in the wage economy and in the labour that connects them with the land, their culture and their community. The results from the 2017 Aboriginal Peoples Survey presented in this paper highlight how important it is to include land-based economy in any examination of the labour market. Furthermore, these findings suggest the need for policies and programs aimed at improving Inuit employment and related economic outcomes.
On January 8, 2015, Statistics Canada released updated CANSIM tables from the Labour Force Survey (LFS) including data for the off-reserve Aboriginal population. LFS data are used to produce the well-known unemployment rate as well as other standard labour market indicators such as the employment rate and the participation rate. The LFS also provides employment estimates by industry, occupation, public and private sector, hours worked and much more.
The eight tables listed below provide data for the years 2007 through 2015 by Aboriginal or non-Aboriginal identity. Table 282-0227 (unemployment rates) also has data for First Nations and Métis separately.
Labour force survey estimates (LFS), by Aboriginal group, sex and age group, Canada, selected provinces and regions, annual (Persons), 2007 to 2015 282-0226
Labour force survey estimates (LFS), by detailed Aboriginal group, sex and age group, Canada and selected regions, annual (Persons), 2007 to 2015 282-0227
Labour force survey estimates (LFS), by Aboriginal group, educational attainment and age group, Canada and selected regions, annual (Persons), 2007 to 2015 282-0228
Labour force survey estimates (LFS), employment by Aboriginal group, North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), sex and age group, annual (Persons), 2007 to 2015 282-0229
Labour force survey estimates (LFS), employment by Aboriginal group, North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) and age group, Canada and selected regions, annual (Persons), 2007 to 2015 282-0230
Labour force survey estimates (LFS), employment by Aboriginal group, National Occupational Classification for Statistics (NOC-S), sex and age group, annual (Persons), 2007 to 2015 282-0231
Labour force survey estimates (LFS), employment by Aboriginal group, National Occupational Classification for Statistics (NOC-S) and age group, Canada, selected provinces and regions, annual (Persons), 2007 to 2015 282-0232
Labour force survey estimates (LFS), average hourly and weekly wages and average usual weekly hours by Aboriginal group and age group, Canada, selected provinces and regions, annual (Number), 2007 to 2015 282-0233
On March 16, 2017, Statistics Canada released the article ‘Aboriginal People Living Off Reserve and the Labour Market: Estimates from the Labour Force Survey, 2007 to 2015’. This report provides an up-to-date overview of the labour market involvement of the off-reserve Aboriginal population in Canada's ten provinces during and after the 2008/2009 economic downturn, as compared to the non-Aboriginal population. Using annual averages from the Labour Force Survey (LFS), covering the period of 2007 to 2015, the main focus is on Aboriginal people in the core working ages (25 to 54 years), although youth (aged 15 to 24 years) and older adults (aged 55 years and older) are considered separately. In addition to Aboriginal group, labour market indicators are distinguished by gender, geography (province/region of residence), education, lone parenthood, and marital status. The distribution of work characteristics (e.g., self-employment, sector of employment, usual work hours, wages, job tenure, industry, and occupation) by Aboriginal group are also explored.
Labour market experiences of First Nations people living off reserve: Key findings from the 2017 Aboriginal Peoples Survey
Labour market experiences of Métis: Key findings from the 2017 Aboriginal Peoples Survey
Labour market experiences of Inuit: Key findings from the 2017 Aboriginal Peoples Survey
Off-reserve First Nations people entering the labour force
Self-employment among Métis
Harvesting and handicraft activities among Inuit
Interactive map (data visualization product)
Labour market experiences of First Nations people living off reserve, Métis and Inuit, Canada, 2017: Methods used to look for work, reasons for difficulty finding work, and things that would help find work
2017 Aboriginal Peoples Survey—Nunavut Inuit Supplement
Aboriginal Peoples Survey, 2017: Concepts and Methods Guide
On May 18, 2016, Statistics Canada released the article ‘Literacy and numeracy among off-reserve First Nations people and Métis: Do higher skill levels improve labour market outcomes?’ in its publication Insights on Canadian Society. This article examines the literacy and numeracy skills of off‑reserve First Nations and Métis adults, focusing on the factors and labour market outcomes associated with higher skill levels. In this study, individuals in the higher range for literacy and numeracy are defined as those who scored level 3 or higher (out of 5 levels) in tests administered by the 2012 Programme for the International Assessment of Adult Competencies (PIAAC).
AANDC defines "Aboriginal peoples" as:
The descendants of the original inhabitants of North America. The Canadian Constitution recognizes three groups of Aboriginal people — Indians, Métis and Inuit. These are three separate peoples with unique heritages, languages, cultural practices and spiritual beliefs.
By clicking on the link to the interactive map you can see a map that gives information about many First Nations groups
Information on how BC Statistics defines "Aboriginal" for statistical purposes can be found here.
Excel summary tables also available for each region.
2011 National Household Survey (NHS) Aboriginal Population Profile
NHS is the replacement for the Long-form Census questionnaire
FNIGC Data Online : First Nations Information Governance Centre
Free online access to published aggregate data. in the form of charts, tables and graphs that can be exported for use in presentations, reports and academic papers, beginning with the [2008/10] First Nations Regional Health Survey.
Starting in fall 2013 the REEES will be carried out in 250 reserves and northern communities across Canada by FNIGC Regional Partners and trained regional field workers. The FNIGC received a mandate to conduct the REEES from the Assembly of First Nations Chiefs in Assembly (per Resolution 19-2011) during their Annual General Meeting in Moncton, New Brunswick in June 2011. There is limited overlap in questions with Statcan's Aboriginal Peoples Survey:
The REEES will survey some 30,000 First Nations people on-reserve and in northern communities. These will be broken down into several categories: