Skip to Main Content

English

This guide lists key sources of information for English Language and Literature that are available for Kwantlen users. Click on the tabs for different types of sources and useful research tips.

Anglo-Saxon/Medieval

Beowulf

Sir Gawain

Chaucer

Malory

Marlowe

Reference Shelf

Web sources

  • Middle English Dictionary - a comprehensive analysis of lexicon and usage for the period 1100-1500, based on the analysis of a collection of over three million citation slips
  • Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index - covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

 

Early Modern / Shakespeare

John Donne

Milton

Pepys

Burton, Robert

Shakespeare

Sir Philip Sydney

Edmund Spenser

  • Edmund Spenser - Bibliographies, Abstracts, and Reviews from Spenser Newsletter and The Spenser Review.

Richard Brome

Richard Brome Online - Online edition of the Collected Works of the Caroline dramatist, Richard Brome

18th Century

Defoe

Swift

Pope

Notable Websites

  • Wiliam Blake Archive
  • Renascence Editions - An Online Repository of Works Printed in English Between the Years 1477 and 1799.

  • Documenting the American South Provides access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture from the 17th century through 1922. Currently includes ten thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters,and oral histories. English Short Title Catalog Provides extensive descriptions and holdings information for materials printed in English anywhere else in the world. Coverage is from the beginnings of print to 1800.

19th Century

  • 19th Century in Print  Over 1,500 books, fully searchable with page images, as well as extended runs of 23 American magazines, among them Harper's New Monthly Magazine, Scribner's Magazine, and Scientific American.
  • Documenting the American South Provides access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture from the 17th century through 1922. Currently includes ten thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters,and oral histories.
  • Mark Twain Project Its ultimate purpose is to produce a digital critical edition, fully annotated, of everything Mark Twain wrote.
  • Wright American Fiction  This is a collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875. There are currently 2,887 volumes included (2,239 unedited, 648 fully edited and encoded) by 1,383 authors.
  • Victorian Women Writers Project The Victorian Women Writers Project (VWWP) began in 1995 at Indiana University and is primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more.
  • 19th Century Yellowbacks More than 1,200 novels known as yellowbacks have been digitized by Emory Library.
  • The Walt Whitman Archive Contains thousands of digital facsimiles of Whitman’s poetry and letters as well as writings about Whitman.
  • Chroncicling America An ongoing NEH and Library of Congress initiative to digitize local newspapers. In beta.
  • NLA Australian Newspapers Historic Australian newspapers 1803-1954

Gateway / Portal Pages

  • N I N E S
    NINES provides an integrated publishing environment for aggregated, peer-reviewed online scholarship in nineteenth-century studies, British and American.
  • Victorian Web

Victorian Studies

Book Trade

Web Projects

 

20th Century

Major Authors

James Joyce Centre

  • Though a number of the resources listed on this site from the James Joyce Centre are local to Dublin, there are neat little tidbits for the rest of us. About Joyce, for instance, features a nippy biography of the great man. The Blog, frequently updated and always insightful, features commentary on some of Joyce’s most famous - and difficult - work. Also of interest is the site’s serializing of Robert Berry’s graphic novel adaptation of the 1922 edition of Ulysses, complete with a Reader’s Guide.

Geoffrey Chaucer

Emily Dickinson Archive

Burton, Robert

Shakespeare

Edmund Spenser

  • Edmund Spenser - Bibliographies, Abstracts, and Reviews from Spenser Newsletter and The Spenser Review.


Sir Philip Sydney

  • Sir Philip Sydney - An annotated bibliography of material by and about Sir Philip Sidney from his lifetime to the present.

Charles Dickens

Mark Twain - Mark Twain Project