English

Literary Theory and Criticism

• Literary Theory: An Introduction by Terry Eagleton
• The Cambridge companion to feminist literary theory / edited by Ellen Rooney.
• Theory of Literature and Other Critical Writings by Sosuke Natsemi
• Literary Theory: A Very Short Introduction by Jonathan Culler
• Mimesis and theory : essays on literature and criticism, 1953-2005 by  René Girard
• The Cambridge companion to critical theory / edited by Fred Rush.
• The Johns Hopkins guide to literary theory & criticism - REF PN 81 J554 2005, SUrrey, langley, Richmond campus
• Feminisms Redux : an anthology of literary theory and criticism - e-book
• After Said : postcolonial literary studies in the twenty-first century - e-book
• Using critical theory : how to read and write about literature - PN 98 S6 T973 2011, Surrey and Richmond campus
• How to interpret literature : critical theory for literary and cultural studies  - PN 94 P37 2008, Surrey campus

Dictionaries and encyclopedias

• Dictionary of literary and thematic terms REF PN44.5 Q5 1999 S,R,L
• Dictionary of literary symbols REF PN 56 S9 F47 1999 S, R, L
• Encyclopedia of folklore and literature REF PN 41 E48 1998 S, R, L
• Dictionary of literary characters REF PR 19 D53 2004 S, R, L 
• Twentieth-century literary movements dictionary - REF PN 597 T94 2000. Richmond

Drama and Theatre 

• The Cambridge Guide to Theatre - PN 2035 C27 , Surrey campus
• Oxford Companion to American Theatre - e-book

Novel

• The seven basic plots : why we tell stories - PN 3378 B65 2004, Surrey and Richmond campus
• Projections : comics and the history of twenty-first-century storytelling - PN 6725 G36 2012, Richmond campus
• Writing fiction : a guide to narrative craft  - PN 3355 B79 2011, Surrey campus
• The writer's journey : mythic structure for writers - PN 1996 V64 2007, Surrey campus
• Routledge encyclopedia of narrative theory - PN 212 R68 2005, Surrey campusPoetry

Poetry

• Canadian Poetry Online
• The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry - REF PN 1021 G7 1990, Surrey, Langley, Richmond campus
• The Columbia Granger's index to poetry in anthologies - REF PN 1021 G7 2007, Surrey, Langley, Richmond campus
• Poetry themes : a bibliographical index to subject anthologies and related criticisms in the English language, 1875-1975 -REF PN 1022 M3 Richmond

Short Story

• Twentieth century short story explication : new series : with checklists of books and journals used - REF PN 3491 Z982 , Surrey and Richmond campus
• The Canadian short story : interpretations - PR 9001 C36 2007. Surrey, Langley, Richmond campus
• The Cambridge introduction to the American short story  - PS 374 S5 S36 2006, Surrey

 Science Fiction and Fantasy

• Science fiction, imperialism and the third world : essays on postcolonial literature and film - PS 374 S35 S335 2010, Surrey campus
• The inter-galactic playground : a critical study of children's and teens' science fiction - PN 3433.8 M46 2009, Surrey campus
• the Oxford dictionary of science fiction

Find poems/criticism - Library databases

• Literature Resource Center
• MLA Bibliography
• Project Muse
• JSTOR

Poetry Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

• The Princeton encyclopedia of poetry and poetics 4th ed.  - e-book
• The Oxford Companion to Modern Poetry - e-book
• The Hutchinson encyclopedia of literature

Find poems/criticism online - Websites

• Poets.org - find full-text poems, literary criticism and poets' biographies.
• Poetry Foundation- Contains hundreds of poems that were published in _Poetry_ magazine. Use the Poetry Tool in the site's Archive to locate them.
• Poetry Archive- The site is run by some of today's most well-known poets and contains an online collection of poets reading their works, ranging from Tennyson to John Ashbery.
• Project Gutenberg - full-text poetry that is out of copyright realm
• Voice of the Shuttle - Literature- A web database that provides access to numerous links relevant to studies in English Literature, Literary Theory and other Humanities disciplines. The Literature (in English) section can be browsed by period, genre and/or academic field.