ENGL 1100 - Weber - English - LibGuides at Kwantlen Polytechnic University

This guide was created for students in Steve Weber's ENGL 1100 class in summer 2019.

MLA citations handout
Shows examples of computer-generated citations from research databases, side-by-side with corrected citations.

Understanding rhetorical analysis

Rhetorical Terms and Concepts: A Contemporary Glossary
Call Number: PN 172 T73 2000
Print book at Surrey
Penguin Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory
Call Number: PN 41 C83 1998
Print book at Surrey, Richmond and Langley
A Dictionary of Literary and Thematic Terms
Call Number: PN 44.5 Q56 1999
Print book at Surrey, Richmond and Langley
Rhetorical Terms: An Introduction
E-book

Rhetorical Terms
Guide from Texas A&M University's Writing Center. Brief definitions with examples.

Encyclopedia of Rhetoric
Call Number: PN 172 E52 2001
Print book at Surrey
Persuading People: An Introduction to Rhetoric (3rd ed.)
Call Number: PN 4121 C555 2014
Print book at Surrey.
Thank You for Arguing: What Aristotle, Lincoln, and Homer Simpson Can Teach Us about the Art of Persuasion (Revised and Updated ed.)
Call Number: P 301.5 P47 H45 2013
Print book at Surrey and Richmond.
Rhetoric for Radicals: A Handbook for 21st Century Activists
E-book
Read, Reason, Write: An Argument Text and Reader
Call Number: PE 1408 S464 2005
Print book at Richmond and Langley
Can I Change Your Mind? The Craft and Art of Persuasive Writing
E-book

Rhetorical Analysis
From Texas A & M University's Writing Center
more...less...
Quote from this guide (with added bullet point formatting):
"In writing an effective rhetorical analysis, you should discuss:
o the goal or purpose of the piece;
o the appeals, evidence, and techniques used and why;
o examples of those appeals, evidence, and techniques; and
o your explanation of why they did or didn’t work."
Rhetological Fallacies
Defines common logical errors, with examples, in a visual format. From Information is Beautiful.
more...less...
See how they have analyzed a piece of writing using their categories:
http://infobeautiful2.s3.amazonaws.com/RhetoricalFallacy_SameSexMarriage.png

Finding background info with Credo

Credo Reference is a collection of hundreds of scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries. It is an excellent place to look for background information on any topic.

The entries range from very short definitions to longer essays. All are written by experts in their fields, so are more trustworthy than information you might find in Wikipedia.

Credo also has a built-in citation tool to help you create an MLA-formatted citation. Make sure to check for mistakes, though!

"Rhetoric [Mind Map]." Credo Reference, search.credoreference.com/search/visual.embed?concepts=28380&width=600&institutionId=9473. Accessed 10 Jun. 2019.

For a reference source where all entries are written by same author(s):

Incorrect, computer-generated citation from Credo:

Corrected MLA-formatted citation for this Credo source:

For a reference source where individual entries are written by different authors, and compiled by one or more editors.

Incorrect, computer-generated citation from Credo:

Corrected MLA-formatted citation for this Credo source:

Types of information sources

Types of Information Sources
Section from the KPU Library's tutorial on Doing Research.

Who is the author?

holds an advanced degree in the subject covered by the book?
professional or researcher in the field?
is the author affiliated with a university / professional organization?

Purpose?

original research
literature review
advances research in discipline

Cited Sources?

bibliography / extensive notes
cites other scholarly sources
has an index

Publisher?

university press
scholarly publisher

Language?

uses terminology of the discipline
is written for other scholars / students

What is a peer-reviewed journal?

Peer-reviewed journals are often called scholarly or academic journals. They are different from popular magazines. Articles in peer-reviewed journals:

are written by experts for other experts
usually report on research findings
always include many in-text citations and a list of references or works cited by the author(s)
most importantly: have been rigorously critiqued and reviewed by experts for quality before being published. This is called peer-review.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
This interactive guide highlights all the key features you would see in a scholarly journal article.

Research databases we may use in class

Ebook Central Academic Complete (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Ebooks spanning a wide variety of disciplines. It includes many scholarly and academic publishers as well as some non-scholarly content.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles across the fields of literature and linguistics. Also searches book and thesis content.
The interface for this and all our other EBSCO databases will change mid-2025. Click here to try out the new interface early!
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and encyclopedia entries on all genres of literature.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from all subject areas.
Most journals have extensive past coverage with access to current articles typically delayed 3-5 years post publication.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

KPU Library

English

Understanding rhetorical analysis

Finding background info with Credo

For a reference source where all entries are written by same author(s):

Incorrect, computer-generated citation from Credo:

Corrected MLA-formatted citation for this Credo source:

For a reference source where individual entries are written by different authors, and compiled by one or more editors.

Incorrect, computer-generated citation from Credo:

Types of information sources

What is a peer-reviewed journal?

Research databases we may use in class