Skip to main content

English

This guide lists key sources of information for English Language and Literature that are available for Kwantlen users. Click on the tabs for different types of sources and useful research tips.

Writing Resources

KPU Virtual Writing Centre - get help with grammar, analyzing texts, writing in different disciplines, avoiding plagiarism, and citing sources.

Books on Academic Writing:

KPU Online Writing Resources

  • Online writing tutoring in the Learning Centres - peer-based online tutoring service provides feedback on your academic writing!
  • KPU Virtual Writing Centre - get help with grammar, analyzing texts, writing in different disciplines, avoiding plagiarism, and citing sources.

Other Online Resources:

Write

Cite, Organize and Share Your Research

  • Remember, when writing a research paper, it is required that you properly credit or cite all sources used. If you do not cite your sources, you are plagiarizing the work of others - a serious academic offense and a violation of the university regulations! Take a short quiz: Identifying Citations
  • Mendeley - is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research.  Tips and Support are available form Mendeley website.
  • Zotero - a research tool that helps users collect and organize sources. Check Zotero screencast tutorials for more information.

The MLA Handbook, Eighth Edition does not include guidelines for formatting an annotated bibliography. However, your professor may assign an annotated bibliography in MLA style. The annotated bibliography contains descriptive or evaluative comments about your sources. Each citation should adhere to MLA guidelines. Begin your comments immediately following the citation. The title might be 'Annotated Bibliography' or 'Annotated List of Works Cited'.

Your instructor may request an annotated bibliography in order to evaluate the types of sources you are selecting for your research. The annotations should show that you have carefully conducted your research and critically analyzed the information you will use to write your paper. The good news is that the 'Works Cited' list will be almost complete before you begin writing. Below is an example of an annotated bibliography in MLA style.

MLA 8th Annotated Bibliography Example

You may be asked to prepare a literature review as an assignment, but more likely you are going to be expected to include a literature review as part of the introduction to your research paper. Properly done, a literature review is more than an annotated bibliography or summary of research articles. Your literature review should inform your readers of significant past research in your specialized topic, but also highlight critical issues, areas where research is lacking, or novel applications that your research is going to explore.

For some helpful tips on how to get started doing a literature review, see the University of Toronto Library's The Literature Review: A Few Tips on Conducting it.

Loading ...