Skip to Main Content

Chicago Citation Style: Movies, Videos, Podcasts, TV Series

Movies, Videos, Podcasts, TED

  • If the source has no date, use the date the material was accessed
  • For multimedia designed to run in a web browser, a file format does not need to be listed. if a downloadable file was used, specify format.
Example - Movie from a KPU database or on a DVD 
Chicago Manual Bibliography Footnote

14.265 

 

Director's Last Name, First Name, dir. Title of Movie.  Date. Name of Distributor, Name of Database / or Medium.

 

McInnes, Teresa, dir. Mabel. 2016. National Film Board of Canada. National Film Board of Canada Campus Collection. 

Wenders, Wim, dir. Wings of Desire. Santa Monica, CA: MGM Home Entertainment, 2003. DVD.

 

1. Director's Last Name First Name, director, Title of Movie, Date, Name of Distributor, Name of Database / or Medium.

 

4. Teresa McInnes, director, Mabel, 2016, National Film Board of Canada, National Film Board of Canada Campus Collection. 

6. McInnes, Mabel. 

8. Wim Wenders, director, Wings of Desire (Santa Monica, CA: MGM Home Entertainment, 2003), DVD.

10. Wenders, Wings.

 
Example - YouTube video
Chicago Manual Bibliography Footnote

Chapter

14.23 & 14.76

 

Author/Channel name. “Video Title.” Month date, year. Video, length. URL.

 

Mercer, Rick. “Rick’s Rant: Fake News.” February 1, 2017. Video, 2:00. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=biC1tcNzkWY.

MSNBC. “The Rachel Maddow Show: ‘Never Stop Asking'.” July 23, 2018. Video, 0:30. https://youtu.be/_biV0Pa5I1E.

                                                                                                         

Author/Channel name, “Video Title,” month date, year, video, length, URL.

 

5. Rick Mercer, “Rick’s Rant: Fake News,” February 1, 2017, video, 2:00, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=biC1tcNzkWY.

12. Mercer, "Rick's Rant." 

15. MSNBC, “The Rachel Maddow Show: ‘Never Stop Asking',” July 23, 2018, video, 0:30, https://youtu.be/_biV0Pa5I1E.

17. MSNBC, "The Rachel Maddow Show." 

 
Example - TedTalk video
Chicago Manual   Bibliography Footnote

Chapter

14.23 & 14.76

 

Presenter Last Name, First Name. "Title of Talk." Date in Place of Filming. TED video, length of recording. URL. 

 

Urban, Tim. "Inside the Mind of a Master Procrastinator." Filmed February 2016 in Vancouver, BC. TED video, 13:55. https://www.ted.com/talks/tim_urban_inside_the_mind_
of_a_master_procrastinator.                                                          

Presenter First Name Last Name, “Title of Talk,” Date in Place of Filming, TED video, length, URL.

 

5.  Tim Urban, "Inside the Mind of a Master Procrastinator," filmed February 2016 in Vancouver, BC, TED video, 13:55, https://www.ted.com/talks/tim_urban_inside_the_mind_
of_a_master_procrastinator.

20. Urban, "Inside the Mind." 

 
Example - Podcast
Chicago Manual   Bibliography Footnote

Chapter

14.23 & 14.76

 

Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Podcast." Date of Podcast. In Podcast Series, produced by Producer. Podcast, Format (e. g. MP4), Duration. URL

 

Dutil, Patrice, and Neville Thompson. "Mackenzie King and the Three Amigos." January 7, 2022. In Witness to Yesterday: The Champlain Society Podcast on Canadian History, produced by Jessica Schmidt. Podcast, 51:00. https://champlainsociety.utpjournals.press/podcast.

                                                                                                     

1. Author First Name Last Name, "Title of Podcast," Date of Podcast, in Podcast series, Producer, podcast, format, duration, URL.

 

1. Patrice Dutil and Neville Thompson, "Mackenzie King and the Three Amigos", January 7, 2022, in Witness to Yesterday: The Champlain Society Podcast on Canadian History, produced by Jessica Schmidt, podcast, 51:00, https://champlainsociety.utpjournals.press/podcast.

2. Dutil and Thompson, "Mackenzie King."
Example - TV series
Chicago Manual   Bibliography Footnote

Chapter

14.23 & 14.76

 

Title of Series. Season #, episode #, "Title of Episode." Directed by First Name Last Name. Aired Date, Streaming Service or Medium. URL.

 

Game of Thrones. Season 6, episode 5, “The Door.” Directed by Jack Bender. Aired May 26, 2016, on HBO. https://www.hbo.com/game-of-thrones/season-06/5-the-door/.

                                                                                                         

1. Title of Series, season #, episode #, "Title of Episode," directed by First Name Last Name, aired Date, Streaming Service or Medium, URL. 

 

4. Game of Thrones, season 6, episode 5, “The Door,” directed by Jack Bender, aired May 26, 2016, on HBO, https://www.hbo.com/game-of-thrones/season-06/5-the-door/.

2. Game of Thrones.