Skip to Main Content

Chicago Citation Style: Articles

Journals, Magazines, Newspapers

  • DOI: Always include the DOI if available as the mode of access. For articles from library databases that do NOT have a DOI, include the name of the database instead. For artidles accessed directly online (i.e. not through a database) with no DOI, give the URL. 

    ABOUT THE DOI: the current preferred format for ALL DOI hyperlinks uses https://doi.org/ as the prefix. Older works may use previous formats (e.g., “http:/dx.doi.org/” or “doi:” or “DOI:” before the DOI number). Standardize all your DOI hyperlinks into the current preferred format in your reference list

Example - Journal article in print
Chicago Manual Bibliography Footnote

Chapter

14.23 & 14.76 

 

Author Last Name,  First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume #, no. issue # (Year of Publication): page #-#. 

 

 Frideres, James. “Aboriginal Identity in the Canadian Context.” Canadian Journal of Native Studies 28, no. 2 (2008): 313-42.                                                                                                    

1. Author First Name Last Name, "Title of Article," Title of Journal volume #, no. issue # (Year of Publication): page #.

 

1. James Frideres, “Aboriginal Identity in the Canadian Context,” Canadian Journal of Native Studies 28, no. 2 (2008): 315.

2. Frideres, "Aboriginal Identity", 322.

 
Example - Journal article from a KPU database or from the open Web with DOI
Chicago Manual Bibliography Footnote

Chapter

14.23 & 14.76 

 Author Last Name,  First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume #, no. issue # (Year of Publication): page #-#. https://doi.org/xxxxxxxxxx.

 

Frideres, James, and Marie Dalhouse. “Intergenerational Congruency: The Role of the Family in the Political Attitudes of Youth.” Journal of Family Issues 17, no. 2 (1996): 227-48. https://doi.org/10.1177/019251396017002005.

Jansuwan, Para, and Kerstin K. Zander. “Multifunctional Farming as Successful Pathway for the Next Generation of Thai Farmers.” PLOS ONE 17, no. 4 (2022): e0267351. https://​doi​.org​/10​.1371​/journal​.pone​.0267351.

 

Note: in the second example, a distinct article number is available and used instead of page numbers 

1. Author First Name Last Name, "Title of Article," Title of Journal volume #, no. issue # (Year of Publication): page #, https://doi.org/xxxxxxxxxx.

 

1. James Frideres and Marie Dalhouse, “Intergenerational Congruency: The Role of the Family in the Political Attitudes of Youth,” Journal of Family Issues 17, no. 2 (1996): 230, https://doi.org/10.1177/019251396017002005.

2. Para Jansuwan and Kerstin K. Zander, "Multifunctional Farming as Successful Pathway for the Next Generation of Thai Farmers,” PLOS ONE 17, no. 4 (2022): e0267351. https://​doi​.org​/10​.1371​/journal​.pone​.0267351.

3. Frideres and Dalhouse, “Intergenerational Congruency", 242.

4. Jansuwan and Zander, " Multifunctional Farming." 

 

 
Example - Journal article from a KPU database with no DOI
Chicago Manual Bibliography Footnote

Chapter

14.23 & 14.76

 

 Author Last Name,  First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume #, no. issue # (Year of Publication): page #-#. Name of the database.

 

Frideres, James. “Aboriginal Identity in the Canadian Context.” Canadian Journal of Native Studies 28, no. 2 (2008): 313-42. Proquest.

 

                                                                                                         

1. Author First Name Last Name, "Title of Article," Title of Journal volume #, no. issue # (Year of Publication): page #, Name of the database.

 

1. James Frideres, “Aboriginal Identity in the Canadian Context,” Canadian Journal of Native Studies 28, no. 2 (2008): 315, Proquest.

2. Frideres, "Aboriginal Identity", 322.

  
Example - Journal article from the open Web with no DOI
Chicago Manual Bibliography Footnote

Chapter

14.84

 

 Author Last Name,  First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume #, no. issue # (Year of Publication): page #-#. URL.

 

Frideres, James. “Aboriginal Identity in the Canadian Context.” Canadian Journal of Native Studies 28, no. 2 (2008): 313-42. https://www3.brandonu.ca/library/CJNS/ 28.2/05Frideres.pdf.

 

1. Author First Name Last Name, "Title of Article," Title of Journal volume #, no. issue # (Year of Publication): page #, URL.

 

1. James Frideres, “Aboriginal Identity in the Canadian Context,” Canadian Journal of Native Studies 28, no. 2 (2008): 315, https://www3.brandonu.ca/library/CJNS/28.2/05 Frideres.pdf.

2. Frideres, "Aboriginal Identity", 322.

  
  • Weekly or monthly magazines are cited by date (month/year), even if there is a volume/issue number (Chicago Manual: 14.188).
  • Page numbers are normally omitted in the bibliography entry for magazine articles, but a specific page number (or heading if no page number is available) may be included in the footnote/endnote.
  • For online articles without page numbers, none can be given. In a footnote or endnote, a section, heading or similar may be included, but is not mandatory.
  • Magazine articles usually do not have a DOI; however, should one be available, always use the DOI instead of a URL or database name.
Example - Magazine article in print
Chicago Manual Bibliography Footnote

Chapter

14.188

 

Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, Date of Publication.

 

Gerster, Jane. "The RCMP Revisited." The Walrus, November 2021.  

 

                                                                                             

 1. Author First Name Last Name, "Title of Article," Title of Magazine, Date of Publication, page #.

 

1. Jane Gerster, “The RCMP Revisited," The Walrus, November 2021, 48.

2. Gerster, “The RCMP Revisited," 50.
Example - Magazine article from a KPU database
Chicago Manual Bibliography Footnote

Chapter

14.23 & 14.107 

 

Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, Date of Publication. Database Name. 

 

McBride, Jason. "Burned Out." Maclean's, August 2022. Academic Search Complete. 

 

                                                                                                         

1. Author First Name Last Name, "Title of Article," Title of Magazine, Date of Publication, page #, Database Name. 

 

1. Jason McBride, "Burned Out," Maclean's, August 2022, 25, Academic Search Complete.

2. McBride, "Burned Out," 30.

 
Example - Magazine article from the open Web
Chicago Manual Bibliography Footnote

Chapter

14.107 & 14.161 

 

Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, Date of Publication. URL. 

 

Angulalik, Jana. "Kakiniit: The Art of Inuit Tattooing." Canadian Geographic, July 26, 2021. https://canadiangeographic.ca/articles/kakiniit-the-art-of-inuit-tattooing/. 

 

                                                                                                         

1. Author First Name Last Name, "Title of Article," Title of Magazine, Date of Publication, page # (if available), URL. 

 

1. Jana Angulalik, "Kakiniit: The Art of Inuit Tattooing," Canadian Geographic, July 26,2021, https://canadiangeographic.ca/articles/kakiniit-the-art-of-inuit-tattooing/.

2. Angulalik, " Kakiniit."

 

 

 

 

  • Page numbers are normally omitted in the bibliography entry for newspaper articles, but a specific page number (or heading if no page number is available) may be included in the footnote/endnote. If known, it is useful to add the edition.
  • For online articles without page numbers, none can be given. In a footnote or endnote, a section, heading or similar may be included, but is not mandatory
  • Newspapers usually do not have a DOI; however, should one be given, always use it instead of the URL or database name
Example - Newspaper article in print
Chicago Manual Bibliography Footnote

Chapter

14.188

 

Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Date of Publication.

 

Wearmouth, Dione. "Summer Brings More Great White Sightings in New Brunswick Waters." Kings County Record, July 5, 2022.  

                                                                                                      

 1. Author First Name Last Name, "Title of Article," Title of Newspaper, Date of Publication.

 

1. Dione Wearmouth, “Summer Brings More Great White Sightings in New Brunswick Waters," Kings County Record, July 5, 2022.

2. Wearmouth, "Summer Brings More."
Example - Newspaper article from a KPU database
Chicago Manual Bibliography Footnote

Chapter

14.191 

 

Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Date of Publication. Database Name. 

 

Silcoff, Sean. "Revenge of the Nerds: How Reading App Wattpad is Using AI to Create the Next Disney." Globe and Mail, July 25, 2019. Proquest.                  

1. Author First Name Last Name, "Title of Article," Title of Newspaper, Date of Publication, Database Name. 

 

1. Sean Silcoff, "Revenge of the Nerds: How Reading App Wattpad is Using AI to Create the Next Disney," Globe and Mail, July 25, 2019, Proquest.

2. Silcoff, "Revenge of the Nerds."

 
Example - Newspaper article from the open Web
Chicago Manual Bibliography Footnote

Chapter

14.191 

 

Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Date of Publication. URL. 

           

Dumont, Dawn. "Lessons in Procrastination." Saskatoon StarPhoenix, March 7, 2017. https://thestarphoenix.com/opinion/columnists/ thats-what-she-said-lessons-in-procrastination.   

1. Author First Name Last Name, "Title of Article," Title of Newspaper, Date of Publication, URL. 

 

1. Dawn Dumont, "Lessons in Procrastination," Saskatoon StarPhoenix, March 7, 2017, https://thestarphoenix.com/opinion/columnists/thats-what-she-said-lessons-in-procrastination.

2. Dumont, "Lessons."

 

 

Example - Review article in a print newspaper (book review)
Chicago Manual Bibliography Footnote

Chapter

Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Review Article." Review of Title of Book, by Author of Book. Title of Publication, Date of Publication. 

 

McGillis, Ian. "Ann-Marie MacDonald Mines Her Own Life in Adult Onset." Review of Adult Onset, by Ann-Marie MacDonald. Montreal Gazette, November 14, 2014.

   

1. Author First Name Last Name, "Title of Review Article," review of Title of Book, by Author of Book, Title of Publication, Date of Publication.

 

5. Ian McGillis, “Ann-Marie MacDonald Mines Her Own Life in Adult Onset,” review of Adult Onset, by Ann-Marie MacDonald, Montreal Gazette, November 14, 2014.

6. McGillis, "Ann-Marie MacDonald."