LibGuides: Statistics: Mapping

About this page

This page lists some easy-to-use, web-based tools that display statistics in a map format.

More complex mapping requires Geographic Information System (GIS) software and a fair bit of time and expertise. For more info on GIS, see our GIS Services guide.

Mapping Tools with Built-in Data

Canadian Statistical Geospatial Explorer Hub
Web-mapping tool from Statistics Canada. Currently includes data from the Census at a very fine geographic level (the Census Dissemination Area). Also includes data from other sources related to Health and Community at the Health Region level. More data will be added.
more...less...
For video tutorials on how to use various features of this tool, see the "What Can I Do?" page.
Census Program Data Viewer
Statistics Canada's interactive mapping tool for Census data. Search by placename or postal code, or zoom to the location of interest. The range of data included will increase with time.
Census Mapper
Provides variety of maps from 2021 Census data, plus some other sources, Some maps are at the small Dissemination Area (DA) level while others are at the Census Tract (CT) level. You can also produce maps for Census years back to 1996 for comparison.
iMapBC
Create map using many data layers provided by the BC government, ranging from natural resources to child care providers. You can also add your own data.
Proximity Measures Data Viewer
Maps a number of proximity measures at a very fine geographic level. These include proximity to: employment, grocery stores, pharmacies, health care, child care, primary education, secondary education, public transit, neighborhood parks, and libraries. The proximity measures are an index, with 0 meaning the lowest proximity, and 1 being the greatest proximity in Canada.

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping and data-visualization application that allows users to create interactive maps, charts, and reports. It contains over 75,000 variables on business, socio-demographics, and economics that can be mapped to any geographic area of Canada. Map and analyze data on diverse topics like demographics, consumer spending, brand preference, employment, public health, etc.
After logging in here, use your KPU email address to create an account to log in and save your work. If you don't want to create an account, you can choose the option to log in as a guest, but will not be able to save your work.

Please note there is a limit of 5 users at a time.

Canadian Statistical Geospatial Explorer Hub
Web-mapping tool from Statistics Canada. Currently includes data from the Census at a very fine geographic level (the Census Dissemination Area). Also includes data from other sources related to Health and Community at the Health Region level. More data will be added.
more...less...
For video tutorials on how to use various features of this tool, see the "What Can I Do?" page.
Census Program Data Viewer
Statistics Canada's interactive mapping tool for Census data. Search by placename or postal code, or zoom to the location of interest. The range of data included will increase with time.
Census Mapper
Provides variety of maps from 2016, 2011 and 2006 Census data, plus some other sources, Some maps are at the small Dissemination Area (DA) level while others are at the Census Tract (CT) level.
GeoSearch
Easy-to-search mapping tool for Census data and geographic boundaries. Can search by address or postal code.
Proximity Measures Data Viewer
Maps a number of proximity measures at a very fine geographic level. These include proximity to: employment, grocery stores, pharmacies, health care, child care, primary education, secondary education, public transit, neighborhood parks, and libraries. The proximity measures are an index, with 0 meaning the lowest proximity, and 1 being the greatest proximity in Canada.

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping and data-visualization application that allows users to create interactive maps, charts, and reports. It contains over 75,000 variables on business, socio-demographics, and economics that can be mapped to any geographic area of Canada. Map and analyze data on diverse topics like demographics, consumer spending, brand preference, employment, public health, etc.
After logging in here, use your KPU email address to create an account to log in and save your work. If you don't want to create an account, you can choose the option to log in as a guest, but will not be able to save your work.

Please note there is a limit of 5 users at a time.

Google Public Data Explorer
Create animated charts and maps from a variety of public data sources and embed them into websites, presentations, etc. Includes popular tables from World Bank, UN, Global Entrepreneurship Monitor, and many others. Can upload your own data as well.
IMF Data Mapper
From International Monetary Fund (IMF). Generate maps with up to 80 indicators from key IMF data sources such as World Economic Outlook. Can map specific countries, regions, or groupings such as the Euro area or emerging and developing economies. Can also generate line or bubble charts to track changes over time.
StatWorld
Easily create interactive maps from many freely-available data sources. Covers topics ranging from 'Most liveable cities' to 'Language distribution' and much more.
WorldMapper
A collection of over 700 world maps, where territories are re-sized on each map according to the subject of interest.
World Bank Spatial Agent
Free APP (Android and iOS) maps data on land and water resources, demography, climate, environment and natural resources, trade, etc. from a range of global, regional, national, and local institutions.

Map your own data!

StatPlanet
Easy-to-use tool to create interactive maps and graphs. You can import your own spreadsheet data, map it, and publish it on the web, if you wish.

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping and data-visualization application that allows users to create interactive maps, charts, and reports. It contains over 75,000 variables on business, socio-demographics, and economics that can be mapped to any geographic area of Canada. Map and analyze data on diverse topics like demographics, consumer spending, brand preference, employment, public health, etc.
NEW: you can now import your own data into SimplyAnalytics!

Handy tools

ColorBrewer 2.0
Helps you select good colour combinations for maps.

KPU Library

Statistics

About this page

Mapping Tools with Built-in Data

Map your own data!

Handy tools