70% of the records in PsycTESTS contain either part of, or the full-text of the test/measure.
New to PsycTESTS? Watch this search video from the American Psychological Association.
Find more library databases with tests & measures on the other tabs of this box.
PsycTESTS doesn't contain free full-text access to all tests and measures - no database does. That is because some test creators publish their tests in books or articles, or sell the rights to a test to a publisher (who then sells it for profit), or the author retains ownership rights but doesn't publish. The owner often wants to control how the test is used, so even if the full-text is available, it may not include all the supporting documentation (like a marking rubric) you need to administer the test.
If you find a test that is not full-text, but you'd like to use if for research you are conducting, you can often get permission to use it from the author (if they've retained their ownership/publishing rights) along with copies of any supporting documentation you may need.
Most authors of tests & measures are keen to share their tests/measures with researchers to facilitate studies that further validate the efficacy of their test/measure.
To figure out whether the test/measure may be freely available to use, the elements you need to look for in the PsycTESTS record (see screenshot below) are:
These will tell you if and how you can contact the author and whether there is a fee involved to use the test.
Some problems you may encounter....
Confused? This PsycTESTS FAQ blog posting on using tests found in the database may be useful or contact the Psychology Liaison Librarian and I'll be happy to help you figure it out.
If you can't find the full-text of the test in PsycTESTS, you might be able to find it appended in a research article.
You can also search for research articles that use a particular test/measure to get more details about the methodology and/or efficacy of using the test.
Watch this video from the American Psychological Association on how to find appended tests in PsycINFO.
You may be able to find appended tests & measures in the Cinahl nursing database:
You may be able to find the appended test in the ERIC educational database:
This database includes descriptions of more than 25,000 tests & measures, including commercial tests not listed in PsycTESTS.
For any tests that include a link to the full-text, you do not need permission from the author to use that test for research purposes.
For any test without the full-text, check the Availability field for the publisher (who you can contact to obtain a full-text copy) or source information if the full test has been published in a book or journal.
Please note: data in these records are not updated after they are entered in the database, so contact information details may be out of date.
Go to the ETS Test Link database
If you find a test with a Google search that isn't full-text in any of the other resources here, chances are that test was copied and uploaded without permission from the test owner. Using that test would be a violation of copyright law.
If you search for questionnaire design in the Sage Research Methods database linked below, you'll find videos, books and more that will help you design your own questionnaire.
From our Ask Us page you can:
Library employees are monitoring the queues above and will respond to you as soon as possible.
An Introduction to Psychological Tests and Scales by 
Psychological Testing by 
See section 10.11 of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th edition, page 340-341 for more details and examples.
This tool in the Sage Research Methods database, guides you through each step of the research process, from defining a topic to presenting your results.
Note: This is a subscription database, so you will need to use your KPU login to access the planner off campus.
From our Ask Us page you can:
Library employees are monitoring the queues above and will respond to you as soon as possible.