PSYC 3980 - Cluny South - Psychology - LibGuides at Kwantlen Polytechnic University

Welcome to this Psychology Research Page for Cluny South's PSYC 3980 Environmental Psychology class!

I've gathered together some resources on this page that will make things a bit easier to find and cite the academic sources for your Field Trip proposal.

For this assignment you must find:

A minimum of 3 academic sources
Sources need to be found in specific ebooks and/or peer-reviewed journals
The sources must be cited using the correct APA citation format

Keep in mind, for all the resources below you will need to provide your KPU login when accessing the full-text off campus.

Article Searching

Tip 1: Use the link below to access PsycINFO

The search will automatically limit the results to content from these journals: Journal of Environmental Psychology, Environment & Behavior, Ecological Psychology, Journal of Applied Social Psychology, Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, Journal of Community Psychology, Journal of Environmental Education:

https://ezproxy.kpu.ca:2443/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=psyh&bquery=SO+%26quot%3bJournal+of+Environmental+Psychology%26quot%3b+OR+SO+%26quot%3bEnvironment+and+Behavior%26quot%3b+OR+SO+%26quot%3bEcological+Psychology%26quot%3b+OR+SO+%26quot%3bJournal+of+Applied+Social+Psychology%26quot%3b+OR+SO+%26quot%3bJournal+of+Personality+and+Social+Psychology%26quot%3b+OR+SO+%26quot%3bJournal+of+Community+Psychology%26quot%3b+OR+SO+%26quot%3bJournal+of+Environmental+Education%26quot%3b&type=1&searchMode=Standard&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Make sure you keep the information in the 1st box and only add search terms to the boxes below.

Tip 2: Look at the Subjects to expand your search

Because you are only searching in a few journals, you may have a problem finding enough articles. If so

try different search terms (think of different words that are related or mean the same thing)
look at the Subject words attached to articles you are finding that seem related to your topic - this will give you more search term ideas
use the the word "OR" and combine different words with similar meanings in each box to expand your search

Tip 3: Use the Folder or E-mail option

And you will receive a permalink and APA citation for the article. Sometimes the full-text of the article will also be included.

Note: Environmental Communication Journal

One of the journals you are also allowed to search is Environmental Communication. This journal is not indexed in PsycINFO. If you like, you can search the journal here. https://kwantlen.summon.serialssolutions.com/en/#!/search?ho=t&include.ft.matches=t&l=en&q=ISSN:(1752-4032)

Do not delete the ISSN number in the search box, simply add your search terms after it.

eBook Searching

Below are links to the ebooks you can search.

Tip 1: If the book doesn't immediately display, look for "Read Online", "Download", "PDF", etc. links

The interfaces will look different from title to title, as they are stored in different databases. But all of them should open in your browser and allow you to read and keyword search the text.

Tip 2: These all have some sort of Citation tool (look for the words "Cite" or "Citation" or the image of quotation marks: ")

Some of these ebook database citation tools are more accurate than others, so consult the APA section at the bottom of this page to make sure you can double check the accuracy of any citations you copy from the databases.

Conservation Psychology by Susan Clayton; Gene Myers
ISBN: 9781118874646
Publication Date: 2015-06-29
People are inseparable from natural ecosystems, and understanding how people think about, experience, and interact with nature is crucial for promoting environmental sustainability as well as human well-being. This is the new edition of what is now the leading textbook in conservation psychology, the field that explores connections between the study of human behavior and the achievement of conservation goals. Completely updated, this book summarizes theory and research on ways in which humans experience nature; it explores people's conceptions of nature and environmental problems, their relationship with nature, and their moral lenses on nature; and examines ways to encourage conservation-oriented behavior at both individual and societal levels. Throughout, the authors integrate a wide body of research demonstrating the role of psychology in promoting a more sustainable relationship between humans and nature. New sections cover human perceptions of environmental problems, new examples of community-based conservation, and a "positive psychology" perspective that emphasizes the relevance of nature to human resilience.
Environmental Ethics and Behavioural Change by Benjamin Franks; Stuart Hanscomb; Sean F. Johnston
ISBN: 9781315684611
Publication Date: 2017-12-14
Environmental Ethics and Behavioural Change takes a practical approach to environmental ethics with a focus on its transformative potential for students, professionals, policy makers, activists, and concerned citizens. Proposed solutions to issues such as climate change, resource depletion and accelerating extinctions have included technological fixes, national and international regulation and social marketing. This volume examines the ethical features of a range of communication strategies and technological, political and economic methods for promoting ecologically responsible practice in the face of these crises. The central concern of the book is environmental behaviour change: inspiring, informing and catalysing reflective change in the reader, and in their ability to influence others. By making clear the forms of environmental ethics that exist, and what each implies in terms of individual and social change, the reader will be better able to formulate, commit to, articulate and promote a coherent position on how to understand and engage with environmental issues.
Environmental Psychology and Human Well-Being: The Effects of Built and Natural Settings by Ann Sloan Devlin
ISBN: 9780128114827
Publication Date: 2018
Environmental Psychology and Human Well-Being: Effects of Built and Natural Settings provides a better understanding of the way in which mental and physical well-being is affected by physical environments, along with insights into how the design of these environments might be improved to support better health outcomes. The book reviews the history of the field, discusses theoretical constructs in guiding research and design, and provides an up-to-date survey of research findings. Core psychological constructs, such as personal space, territoriality, privacy, resilience, stress, and more are integrated into each environment covered. Provides research-based insight into how an environment can impact mental and physical health and well-being Integrates core psychological constructs, such as coping, place attachment, social support, and perceived control into each environment discussed Includes discussion of Kaplan's Attention Restoration Theory and Ulrich's Stress Reduction Theory Covers educational settings, workplace settings, environments for active living, housing for the elderly, natural settings, correctional facilities, and more.
Environmental Psychology for Design by Dak Kopec
ISBN: 9781501316838
Publication Date: 2018-02-08
How does a room affect an occupant's behavior and well-being? How does a building influence its residents' health? Environmental Psychology for Design, 3rd Edition, explores these questions with an in-depth look at psychosocial responses to the built environment. Awarded the 2006 ASID Joel Polsky Prize, the first edition served as an introduction to the discipline of environmental psychology and inspired readers to embrace its key concepts and incorporate them into their practice. This 3rd edition continues to analyze the interaction between environments and human behavior and well-being, while exploring how individual differences related to age, gender, and cultural background impact that interaction.
Handbook of Environmental Psychology and Quality of Life Research by Ghozlane Fleury-Bahi (Editor); Enric Pol (Editor); Oscar Navarro (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319314167
Publication Date: 2016-08-05
This Handbook presents a broad overview of the current research carried out in environmental psychology which puts into perspective quality of life and relationships with living spaces, and shows how this original analytical framework can be used to understand different environmental and societal issues. Adopting an original approach, this Handbook focuses on the links with other specialties in psychology, especially social and health psychology, together with other disciplines such as geography, architecture, sociology, anthropology, urbanism and engineering. Faced with the problems of society which involve the quality of life of individuals and communities, it is fundamental to consider the relationships an individual has with his different living spaces. This issue of the links between quality of life and environment is becoming increasingly significant with, at a local level, problems resulting from different types of annoyances, such as pollution and noise, while, at a global level, there is the central question of climate change with its harmful consequences for humans and the planet. How can the impact on well-being of environmental nuisances and threats (for example, natural risks, pollution, and noise) be reduced? How can the quality of life within daily living spaces (home, cities, work environments) be improved? Why is it important to understand the psychological issues of our relationship with the global environment (climatic warming, ecological behaviours).
Psychological Theories for Environmental Issues by Mirilia Bonnes; Terence Lee (Editor)
ISBN: 9781351907903
Publication Date: 2017-03-02
Environmental psychology is an increasingly important area of research, focusing on the individual and social factors responsible for many critical human responses to the physical environment. With such rapid and widespread growth, the main theoretical strands have often been left unclear and their scientific and practical implications have been underdeveloped. This essential and stimulating book contextualizes and critically analyzes the main theoretical ideas. It compares the different theories, assessing each one's possibilities and limitations, and demonstrates how each approach has been used for the development of knowledge of environmental psychology. The research area infiltrates a broad selection of disciplines, including psychology, architecture, planning, geography, sociology, environmental issues, economics and law. It also offers significant contributions to a wide range of policy evaluations.
Psychology and Climate Change by Susan Clayton (Editor); Christie Manning (Editor)
ISBN: 9780128131305
Publication Date: 2018-06-07
Psychology and Climate Change: Human Perceptions, Impacts, and Responses organizes and summarizes recent psychological research that relates to the issue of climate change. The book covers topics such as how people perceive and respond to climate change, how people understand and communicate about the issue, how it impacts individuals and communities, particularly vulnerable communities, and how individuals and communities can best prepare for and mitigate negative climate change impacts. It addresses the topic at multiple scales, from individuals to close social networks and communities. Further, it considers the role of social diversity in shaping vulnerability and reactions to climate change. Psychology and Climate Change describes the implications of psychological processes such as perceptions and motivations (e.g., risk perception, motivated cognition, denial), emotional responses, group identities, mental health and well-being, sense of place, and behavior (mitigation and adaptation). The book strives to engage diverse stakeholders, from multiple disciplines in addition to psychology, and at every level of decision making - individual, community, national, and international, to understand the ways in which human capabilities and tendencies can and should shape policy and action to address the urgent and very real issue of climate change.
Wellbeing: a Complete Reference Guide, Wellbeing and the Environment by Rachel Cooper (Editor); Elizabeth Burton (Editor); Cary Cooper (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118716243
Publication Date: 2014-02-05
Part of the six-volume Wellbeing: A Complete Reference Guide, this volume examines the ways in which the built environment can affect and enhance the wellbeing of society. Explores the effects of environment on wellbeing and provides insight and guidance for designing, creating, or providing environments that improve wellbeing Looks at the social and health issues surrounding sustainable energy and sustainable communities, and how those connect to concepts of wellbeing Brings the evidence base for environmental wellbeing into one volume from across disciplines including urban planning, psychology, sociology, healthcare, architecture, and more Part of the six-volume set Wellbeing: A Complete Reference Guide, which brings together leading research on wellbeing from across the social sciences

APA Citations

Use the database generated citations: but don't trust them blindly!

All the ebook and article resources linked above have some kind of citation tool available, but the accuracy of these tools vary widely from database to database. After copying and pasting the computer generated citation, make sure you check the accuracy before handing in your assignment! The links below should help.

Article, Book, and Book Chapter formatting in APA
Handout from the APA Style website. Check the format of your copied citations against this.
Creating APA citations within a Powerpoint
APA doesn't have official rules, but here are some excellent guidelines (in Powerpoint format!) from Bennett College.

Not finding what you need?

From our Ask Us page you can:

Visit the one of the Library's Research Help desks in person
Email a Librarian
Text a Librarian
Chat Live with a Librarian
Book a virtual or in-person appointment with a subject specialist librarian (like me! :-)
Phone the Library

Library employees are monitoring the queues above and will respond to you as soon as possible.

KPU Library

Psychology