Watch this video for an introduction to basic searching in PsycINFO
If you prefer, read the text and look at the screen shots on the other tabs of this box, which cover the same information
If the search box below doesn't work for you, you can find a link to the PsycINFO database below.
Databases don't like natural language (whole sentences or questions).
Decide on the keywords or phrases that best describe your topic and enter these different terms into separate search boxes.
Make sure to include quotation marks around any phrases (eg. "online dating") if you only want the database to give you results where those two words are right beside each other.
This approach is called keyword searching. Unlike the kind searching we do in our everyday lives, REsearching for a class assignment usually requires you do several different searches to find the best articles, so don't be discouraged if you don't find what you need with one search.
Not sure if you're using the best words? Spend some time thinking of other ways to say the same thing and try different word/phrase combinations in your searches. If you are new to this approach, the PDF below will guide you through the process of translating your topic into keywords.
Or you can try Subject searching (click on the next tab above).
If the words you use aren't bringing up a lot of relevant articles, it's probably your search words.
PsycINFO assigns official Subjects to all of the articles, so they only use specific words to represent a topic.
So in our example...
Are online dating and lying official subject terms?
A quick way to find out is to just look through your search results.
There were 18 articles in the result list, the first item in the list looks like it is on topic, so we look at the Subjects:
Looks like online dating is an official search term, but the database uses deception as the official subject term instead of lying.
So if we change our search using the official Subjects:
You may get more or less results (in this case more) but all the articles in your result list should be more relevant to your topic.
Go to the next tab of information at the top of this box to find more functional tools of the database (how to get the full-text, limit to peer-reviewed, print, save, cite, etc.).
Limit To - In the left most column, you'll see options to limit your results to Peer-Reviewed journals & Publication Date slider. If you scroll down you'll find many more factors you can limit by. The Advanced Search box on this page will go over some of these options to refine your search in more detail.
Where can I get this? For most articles, you will see a link to the Full-text of the article in this area. If PsycINFO doesn't have the article full-text, you have the option of searching our other databases for this article by clicking on Where can I get this? You will find we often have the article in another database. If not, you will see an option to Interlibrary Loan so you can request we find an e-copy at another library for you. This service is free and if we can find it elsewhere, the Library can usually email it to you in a few days.
Magnifying glass icon The sheet of paper with magnifying glass icon will bring up part or all of the article abstract (a brief description of what the article is about). This is usually enough information for you to judge if it is worth your time to look more closely at the full-text. Note: you can click on the title of the article to see the complete abstract, and find options to save, print, generate a citation and more.
Folder icon allows you to save articles. You will see the articles saved in the Folder icon in the top menu bar. Before you logout or leave the database, you need to click on that icon and choose whether you want to print, save or email the articles. At this point, you can also have the database include an APA citation with each article. Note: The PsycINFO citation tool is very good, but always double check the accuracy before using it in your paper/assignment.
AskAway If you need help searching, please contact a librarian using the chat box on the right. We're happy to help you in your research!
From our Ask Us page you can:
Library employees are monitoring the queues above and will respond to you as soon as possible.
The Advanced video focuses on using the PsycINFO Thesaurus to search and additional filters not covered in the Basic Search video.
Use the Checklist in the next tab to review all the search strategies and filtering options covered in these videos to make sure you are maximizing the database search tools.
1. Are you using the best combination of keywords?
2. Are you making the most of the database filters (in the left column in your search results)? Filters are powerful tools; they are a great way to narrow down a large result list. But remember, the more filters you use, the smaller the list of search results will be.
Want to become a PsycINFO search wizard? Here are some additional search tools to explore.
From our Ask Us page you can:
Library employees are monitoring the queues above and will respond to you as soon as possible.