PsycINFO is our biggest psychology database. Most psychology students find the scholarly research articles they need there.
New to PsycINFO? Watch this Basic Search video.
Find links to more psychology article databases and resources on the other tabs of this box.
Then you may want to try ERIC, a large database of scholarly and popular articles related to all aspects of education.
Then you may want to try MEDLINE, a database of scholarly articles across a wide range of medical & health disciplines.
If your topic is very multidisciplinary (a topic that is also studied in disciplines other than psychology), or your topic is an area with very little research, you may need to do a broader search (searching several databases or web depositories at once). These tools don't search the full depth of the databases nor provide as many search tools and filters, but the broader search may allow you to find more obscure items. Two good multidisciplinary search options are:
Summon Search (searches the most of the Library's databases and some open web resources)
Google Scholar (scholarly documents that are freely available on the open web or full-text for a fee). Using the link below, you will see full-text link options to items that are not freely available online, but are in library databases. This indexing only covers some, not all, of the library's database content. Don't pay for articles online! If you find an article you want that isn't full-text, look for the article title in Summon Search. If it isn't full-text there, place an Interlibrary Loan.
Never searched Google Scholar before? This Google Scholar Screenshot with embedded information boxes should give you some good tips to start.
Still can't find what you need? Please Ask Us. We may be able to suggest a different database for your topic, or ways to improve your search strategy.
Use the search box below to find any specific journal, magazine or newspaper the Library carries, either online or in print.
Never searched for a journal before? Watch this video.
Need a journal that isn't in our collection? If you are looking for a particular article in that journal, you can place an interlibrary loan. The Library can usually email it to you within a few days.
A couple of unique peer-reviewed psychology journals that may be of interest:
From our Ask Us page you can:
Library employees are monitoring the queues above and will respond to you as soon as possible.
Peer reviewed journal articles are how most psychologists share their research findings with others. These articles are:
When these articles are published, other academics may do research of their own to verify, disproof or build upon the research, so peer-reviewed articles are how knowledge and evidence grows in a scholarly field of study like psychology.
This video will give you a quick introduction to the peer-reviewed process.
Prefer text to video? Read through the American Psychological Association's Peer Review page.
In a database you can often filter results to "peer reviewed" or "scholarly", but maybe the search tool you are using doesn't have that option. Or maybe the database says it's scholarly, but you have a feeling it might not be...
Click on the purple question marks embedded throughout this article to review the characteristics of a peer-reviewed original research article.
If you can't see the article below click on Reuse and then close the Reuse Content box that pops up.
Peer-reviewed articles are written by scholars and researchers, to be read by other scholars and researchers in the field.
If you aren't used to reading these kinds of articles, sometimes the language and experiment details can be difficult to read.
This video will give you some tips, so you don't waste time trying to read through a difficult article, wasting time on information not useful for your assignment.
From our Ask Us page you can:
Library employees are monitoring the queues above and will respond to you as soon as possible.