Library Tutorials and Activities

VIDEO: Using Academic Search Complete Database (8:36)

Introduction to Finding Articles Using the Academic Search Complete Research Database at KPU Library. Shows how to: do basic searches using the AND and OR search operators; filter search results to peer-reviewed articles and by date; generate formatted citations; and find the full text of articles.

VIDEO: EDUC Searching Academic Search Complete (13:55)

Shows Educational Studies students how to effectively use the Academic Search Complete database.

VIDEO: Searching Business Source Complete (5:36)

Introduction to searching the Business Source Complete research database by KPU Business Librarian, Andre Iwanchuk.

VIDEO: Using CARD Online (5:55)

Introduction to Using the CARD Online Research Database at KPU Library

VIDEO: CREDO Database Search: Health (6:26)

This video covers the basic features of the Credo database using a health topic search.

VIDEO: Credo Database Search: Psychology (6:29)

This video covers the basic features of the Credo database using a psychology topic search.

VIDEO: Searching in Databases: Basic Tips (30:49)

Learn how to transform a research question into database search strategy​ that will help you locate relevant articles.
Part 4 of the Finding Original Research Articles in Criminology video series.

The learning objectives for this video are that students will use the Criminal Justice Abstracts database to learn how to:

• transform a research question into database search strategy
• break down a research question into its main concepts (WHO, WHAT, WHERE), and then into search keywords
• put keywords together in a way that a database can understand using the AND Boolean operator
• understand the basics of how databases work to take advantage of their strengths and avoid their weaknesses
• appreciate that that searching in databases is a process of trial and error; there is no simple formula for the perfect search.

VIDEO: How to Search the DSM-5 Online (5:09)

This is a quick demonstration of how to search the online version of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5).

VIDEO: Using IBISWorld (6:00)

An introduction to the IBISWorld research database by KPU Business Librarian Andre Iwanchuk.

VIDEO: PsycINFO Basic Search (10:43)

This covers the basic keyword search approach in PsycINFO as well as using the official Subject Terms to target searches. This also provides an overview of the primary PsycINFO functions: filtering by date and peer-review; preview & folder tools; print, copy, save and cite options; and different ways to access the full-text article.

VIDEO: PsycINFO Advanced Search (15:13)

This video focuses on using the Thesaurus to build boolean searches and some of the filter options not covered in the PsycINFO Basic Search video.

VIDEO: RxTx: Basic Search (6:04)

This video demonstrates basic drug and condition searches in the database.

VIDEO: RxTx: Advanced Search (10:49)

This video covers advanced search tips, the Product Identification, Lexi-Interact, and Body Calculation tools, as well as APA citation format for information retrieved from the database.

VIDEO: Searching for Primary Research Articles using ScienceDirect (4:49)

An overview of basic search techniques for ScienceDirect database. Created for Biology students, but general principles are useful for any discipline.