Library Tutorials and Activities

VIDEO: Using Summon Search (5:09)

Introduction to using the Summon search interface by KPU Business Librarian Andre Iwanchuk.

VIDEO: How to Find a Particular Journal in the Library (5:42)

This short screencast will show you how to find the full-text of any scholarly journal, newspaper or popular magazine available in the Library.

VIDEO: Choosing an Appropriate Research Database (8:39)

Shows students how to locate the library's research databases, and describes different types of databases, as well as how to locate databases which focus on a particular subject area.
Part 3 of the Finding Original Research Articles in Criminology video series.

VIDEO: Searching in Databases: Basic Tips (30:49)

Learn how to transform a research question into database search strategy​ that will help you locate relevant articles.
Part 4 of the Finding Original Research Articles in Criminology video series.

The learning objectives for this video are that students will use the Criminal Justice Abstracts database to learn how to:

• transform a research question into database search strategy
• break down a research question into its main concepts (WHO, WHAT, WHERE), and then into search keywords
• put keywords together in a way that a database can understand using the AND Boolean operator
• understand the basics of how databases work to take advantage of their strengths and avoid their weaknesses
• appreciate that that searching in databases is a process of trial and error; there is no simple formula for the perfect search.

VIDEO: Improving Your Database Search Strategy (26:58)

Take your basic search a step further. Learn how to expand and narrow your database search results to focus in on relevant articles. Also covers how to create and save a folder of useful articles. Builds on the Basic Tips video.
Part 5 of the Finding Original Research Articles in Criminology video series.

The learning objectives for this video are that students will use the Criminal Justice Abstracts database to learn how to:

• expand their search results using the OR Boolean operator and truncaction/wildcard searching
• narrow their search results using the AND Boolean command, field searching, date range, and reseach methodology limiters
• save their search results