Skip to main content

English

This guide lists key sources of information for English Language and Literature that are available for Kwantlen users. Click on the tabs for different types of sources and useful research tips.

Citing and Avoiding Plagiarism

  • MLA Quick Guide by KPU - based on 8th ed. Includes examples of sources cited using the new MLA style rules. MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association is available at KPU library, call number LB 2369 M57 2016. 
  • MLA Style Center - contains helpful information on citing, formatting a paper, sample papers, annotated bibliography, etc.

Guides from other institutions:

The core elements of any entry in the Works Cited list are shown in the chart below. The core elements are in the order in which they should appear, followed by the appropriate punctuation mark. If an element cannot be found or does not apply to the source being cited, omit that element from the entry. End the entry with a period.

MLA Works Cited Core Elements

Entries in the MLA Works Cited are based on nine core elements. The elements appear in the order and with the punctuation marks shown in the image to the left.

If an element cannot be found or does not apply to the source being cited, omit that element from the entry.

 

Image credit: What’s New in the Eighth Edition. Modern Language Association, 2016, www.mla.org/MLA-Style/What-s-New-in-the-Eighth-Edition.

 

 

Book and eBook  sample citations

Smith, James R. Don't Wake Me Up: Sleep Deprivation in the 21st Century. Oxford UP, 2015.

Smith, Albert, et al. Tech Stress: The Digital Age and the Decline of Mental Wellness. Pearson, 2015.

McLeod, Kevin, and Deborah Kaine. Macroeconomics and the Future of North America. HarperCollins Publishers, 2014,

           www.harpercollins.com/macroeconna

*** If a work has more than two authors, use the first author's name that appears followed by a comma and "et al."

Article from a Library Database sample citation

Chan, Evan, et al. "Postmodernism and Hong King Cinema." Postmodern Culture, vol.10 no. 3, 2012, pp. 44-78. EbscoHost, doi:10.1345/acd.2003.0087.

The MLA Handbook, Eighth Edition does not include guidelines for formatting an annotated bibliography. However, your professor may assign an annotated bibliography in MLA style. The annotated bibliography contains descriptive or evaluative comments about your sources. Each citation should adhere to MLA guidelines. Begin your comments immediately following the citation. The title might be 'Annotated Bibliography' or 'Annotated List of Works Cited'.

Your instructor may request an annotated bibliography in order to evaluate the types of sources you are selecting for your research. The annotations should show that you have carefully conducted your research and critically analyzed the information you will use to write your paper. The good news is that the 'Works Cited' list will be almost complete before you begin writing. Below is an example of an annotated bibliography in MLA style.

MLA 8th Annotated Bibliography Example

Why do we cite?

  • to distinguish previous from new thought
  • to give credit to the person whose ideas you used
  • to respect intellectual property and avoid plagiarism
  • to help a reader locate the source(s) you used
  • to show that you have investigated your topic well

"When writing a research paper, you must always cite any sources that you have consulted. You must acknowledge when you are using the ideas, information, arguments, phrases or any other intellectual or creative output by another person. Not to do so is referred to as plagiarism.  Plagiarism is a serious offense that carries with it severe academic consequences, but that can largely be avoided by always citing your resources." (excerpt from the Plagiarism page)

Academic Integrity - What does it mean to be a person of integrity?

First and foremost, it means to be honest and therefore trustworthy. It means having strong moral principles and striving to always "do the right thing", even when it is difficult to do so and even if easier, but less honest ways of doing something are available. (excerpt from the Plagiarism page)

Enroll in the Plagiarism Awareness Tutorial - If you successfully complete all 3 parts of the tutorial, you will be awarded a digital badge that will be displayed on your Moodle profile.

Loading ...

ENGL 1202 (Weber)