Skip to main content

Physics, Applied Science & Astronomy

Welcome

This guide was prepared by the Liaison Librarian for Physics and Astronomy.  It pulls together a number of useful resources in the field including: books, ebooks, journals,  recommended databases & websites that will be useful in your research.  

Looking for Books, Journal Articles, or need some help? The links below will help guide you:

  • Try our Summon Search and find resources across our entire library collection - books, journal articles and more!
  • Find journal articles in our Research Databases
  • Ask a Librarian - by phone, text message, email, or chat
  • Library Hours - each campus library has different hours, please check the link to see the hours

Want to talk to a Librarian Online?

Chat with a Librarian - AskAway – Chat online with our research experts and find answers to your questions. Use the window to your right for speedy access to our chat service.

Our Online Chat service is open: 

  • Monday - Thursday: 9am - 9pm
  • Friday: 9am - 5pm
  • Saturday: 11am - 5pm
  • Sunday: 10am-9pm

Tell us what you think.

Fill out our feedback form.


Find Background Information

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries Online

Credo Reference
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text general and subject-specific reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.

Funk & Wagnalls Encyclopedia
Basic encyclopedia entries covering a variety of subject areas.

Oxford English Dictionary
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords:
OED
The OED is the largest and most authoritative English language dictionary.

Sage Knowledge
Access to selected reference books published by Sage.
 

What's New & Exciting

Nuclear Systems Design Project - build your own nuclear power plant (OpenCourseWare course from MIT)

National Science Foundation: Current - informs the public of research and education efforts by the National Science Foundation

Society of Physics Students National Organization - offers a website that contains information on areas such as: career resources, undergraduate research resources, general physics sites and publications in the career area.  also links to key pubilcations such as "Physics Today" and "The Industrial Physicist".

Space Time Travel: This site offers a visual approach to the theory of relativity:  http://www.spacetimetravel.org/

Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: educator resources  - an archive of talks and lectures dating back to 2007.   Watch "Gamma Ray Bursts and the Birth of Black Holes" or the terrific "Suited for Space: The Science of the Spacesuit".

Astronomy Picture of the Day: http://apod.nasa.gov/apod/

Flash Animations for Physics-  From David M. Harrison at the University of Toronto, this website uses flash animation to demonstrate various concepts in the field of physics (including chaos, classical mechanics, quantum mechanics, relativity and vectors).

Doing Research