- Borrowing
Articles published in scholarly journals are highly focused and written by researchers for other researchers and experts in the field. They either report on primary research they have done themselves, or provide a review and evaluation of the body of work done in a given area (systematic review or meta-analysis).
Below are the research databases we recommend for starting your academic article search.
Pro tip: It's good research strategy to do your searches in MORE THAN ONE database.
To browse the more than 250 databases the library subscribes to, please visit our Research database page. From there, you can browse by subject.
Current scholarly articles from many areas of science and ebooks published from 2017-2021.
Scholarly and popular articles for all business disciplines.
Large, multidisciplinary article database that is a good starting point for research in many areas.
A library database provides access to the full text contents of thousands of scholarly journals, sometimes covering a particular discipline or sometimes multi-disciplinary in scope, meaning they may cover many subject areas.
Databases come with tools that help you refine your search to get more relevant results, as well as links to related articles. In most cases, you can be confident that the articles you find will be credible sources to incorporate into your writing.
Google Scholar is a search engine that covers much of the scholarly, peer reviewed literature from academic publishers, plus conferences, theses and dissertations, abstracts and more. Some of the content is available full text, and some will be citation-only.
You can configure your settings to include links to articles available from Kwantlen Polytechnic Library subscription journals to avoid hitting publishers' paywalls. See the screenshot below.
