Did you know? The library has a Liaison Librarian who is an expert on information resources in your area of study. Don't know what research resources to start with or want to show your students where to begin? I am happy to help you and your students! We can talk about resources in your subject area, library instruction, and more!
Contact Mirela Djokic at Contact Your Librarian.
You can now request library instruction through our new Library Instruction Request form.
To use the form, we require at least 2 weeks notice for bookings. When your session is confirmed, you will be informed who your library instructor will be and any further correspondence can proceed directly between you and the librarian.
For more information on library instruction, please visit our KPU Instructional Services and Information Literacy guide.
The Library's Doing Research: A Student's Guide to Finding and Using the Best Sources has four modules:
Every module should take approximately 20 minutes to complete and consists of written text, video, interactive H5P, activities and a short quiz (linked through your Moodle site) that will be graded.
These modules roughly follow the research process, so you can assign one or more of them to your students depending on the class/assignment requirements at any particular point in the course. We have instructions for embedding the modules, or component parts, into Moodle.
If you have questions about this tutorial or have trouble integrating it into your courses, please contact Celia at celia.brinkerhoff@kpu.ca.
This tutorial is a great alternative to our in-person library research sessions, if you need a remote option. Want to know your options? Contact Your Librarian.
Fall 2023 Newsletter
New Academic Integrity TutorialClick on the 'Teaching resources' tab above to learn more.
What is Research Data Management? Attend this introductory workshopClick the 'Events' tab for full details.
Students need help with APA citations? Click on the 'Events' tab for more information.
KPU Library is now on Instagram!Click on the 'Library Services' tab above to learn more.
For more information and a detailed list of what is available, click here. See below for some equipment highlights:
|
Microphone - Yeti Desktop
|
 |
|
GoPro
|
 |
|
Light Kit
|
 |
Want to borrow equipment from the library? Visit any campus library and ask at the Service Desk. You can also request equipment here.
Get help from librarians when you need it!
Many students prefer chatting with a librarian through AskAway as they can access help at point-of-need: during their researching or while writing/citing assignments online.
If your students need research or citation help, you can refer them to the Library's Ask Us page (where they can choose to chat, email or text us).
Or you can embed our AskAway chat widget right into your Moodle site.
Designating library material as a Course Reserve means that we limit the loan period of an item in our collection so it is available to a greater amount of students during the semester. This is often done for items that are part of your course readings or needed for class assignments or for reference. However, Link.Scan.Open provides online, accessible readings to all your students rather than limiting access to one copy of a book. Your students will thank you!
Visit Course Reserves for Faculty to request to place an item on course reserve.
Visit Link.Scan.Open to request a link, PDF (within Fair Dealing), or open resource for class readings.
The Library's Open Publishing Suite of services can help you:
Learn more at Library Support for Open Education.
KPU Library is officially on Instagram! Visit our profile page and follow us to stay up to date with service announcements, upcoming events, library service highlights, and more. Stay tuned as we plan on posting quick guides to library services, citation questions, and highlight some frequently asked questions.
Student Art Featured at the Library
As part of a new initiative, KPU Library is displaying art from KPU students! We are looking to create spaces that are inviting, representative, and inspirational.
The 2023 Collection features four KPU artists and their works; pictured here is artist Eugene Kang.
Want to know more about the art and artists? Visit Library Art Committee.
Visit the χʷəχʷéy̓əm Collection
The χʷəχʷéy̓əm Collection is now available at all of our locations. We are formally opening the space at KPU Tech in December.
The χʷəχʷéy̓əm Collection, curated by Indigenous Engagement and Subject Liaison Librarian, Rachel Chong, aims to make Indigenous authors, history and culture more accessible, and the space itself features details that honour Indigenous knowledge, ways of thinking, and art.
To learn more about the collection, visit our Indigenous Studies subject guide.
Our Wellness Collection is a small collection of popular material that promotes health and wellness. Emotional, physical, financial and mental wellness are just some of the topics covered! Our Richmond Campus Library now has it's own collection so you can browse and borrow in person.
You can also browse the collection online through our catalogue. Visit The Wellness Collection for more information.
BCcampus has renamed the BC Open Text collection to B.C. Open Collection! This means that if you are using any open textbooks hosted by BCcampus, your links may have changed and need to be updated in your course outlines and syllabi.
Don't know if your open textbook is hosted by BCcampus? Ask us! You can also look for clues in your book's catalogue record (Hint: BCcampus is listed as an 'added corporate author' and in the publisher information; the URL for electronic access will also have 'collection.bccampus.ca' in it.
You can also browse the B.C. Open Collection from its webpage at B.C. Open Collection.
Image is from B.C. Campus website, B.C. Open Collection.
Richmond Campus Library now has a board and card game collection! The aim of this collection is to provide students and other library users with the opportunity to check out games to use throughout the semester for stress relief and socialization.
Not going to Richmond campus? You can also search this collection and order online through our catalogue.
'What is Research Data Management? An introduction for researchers' kicks off our new workshop series
You’ve got lots of great research data. But can you remember exactly what all those files are? Collaborate and share them securely? Meet funder and publisher data requirements?
This 1-hour webinar will introduce participants to the basics of Research Data Management (RDM): what it is, why it’s important, and what’s involved, such as data storage, organization, documentation, and sharing. Everyone conducting or supporting research at KPU is welcome to attend.
A little effort invested into data planning at the start of a project can save you a lot of time and stress down the road!
For more information or to register for this workshop, visit KPU Library Events.
This the first session in our 'What the Heck is RDM?' workshop series. Check back at KPU Library or our event listings for details on upcoming sessions.
APA Workshops for students
October 16-20 is Academic Integrity Week and the library is hosting APA workshops at Surrey and Richmond campuses. Librarians Ulrike Kestler and Melissa Smith will be conducting these 75 minute sessions and everyone is welcome!
For more information on Academic Integrity Week or to register for this workshop, visit Academic Integrity Week or KPU Library Events.