Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL Library Research Guide

Find Articles

Scholarly articles are written by researchers or professors (experts in a certain field), and they often report an original research or experiment results. Before they are published, these articles go through a peer review process by which an author's peers, recognized researchers in the field, read and evaluate a paper (article) submitted for publication and recommend whether the paper should be published, revised, or rejected. (See "Comparison Chart" on our site for more information.)

Quiz - Which of these is a scholarly journal article? Each link takes you to a full text of the article. From there, click on "PDF Full Text" to view the article. Choose only one answer and click Submit.
Article 1: 6 votes (33.33%)
Article 2: 12 votes (66.67%)
Article 3: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 18

 

Watch the Video on the left hand side "Peer Review in 3 Minutes" and do an activity below:

MLA citation:
Brinkerhoff, Celia. "Activity: Summarize the Peer Review Process." Doing Research: A Student's Guide to Finding and Using the Best Sources, KPU Library, 2019, pressbooks.bccampus.ca/doingresearch/chapter/peer-review/.
(Used under CC-BY 4.0 International licence.)

Find journal articles, newspaper and magazine articles in our databases. KPU Library subscribes to more than 200 Research Databases :

  • Use online research databases that Library subscribes to. It is the most efficient way to find scholarly and other types of articles on a topic.
  • For a quick scan of articles and other information sources, use the Library's all-in-one search tool called Summon.

How do I know which database to use?

  • Recommended databases for ENGL 1100 can be found here.
  • The Library Subject Guides will provide the titles of the best databases to search in your subject area, as well as other relevant sources, e.g. books or websites. Remember, it is often necessary to search more than one database to find the best articles on your topic. Or, simply click on Browse Databases by Subject  for a quick subject overview.

What type of article do I need?

  • Make sure you know what type of article you need to find: a scholarly/academic/peer-reviewed, a newspaper or magazine article? Use Library databases to full text articles. If you're not sure whether a journal is scholarly (often called "academic" or "peer-reviewed"), look at our Scholarly Journals checklist.

I have a citation (or, I know exactly what article I want).  How do I find the article? 

  • See if KPU has access to it electronically or in print.  Search by the name of the Journal on the Journal Titles page.

Access all databases on the Databases A-Z page. Note that Library subscribes to more than 200 Research Databases.Here is a short list of recommended databases.
 

Multidisciplinary Databases

Subject-Specific Databases

Academic Search Complete-Scholarly and popular articles from peer reviewed journals, magazines and newspapers in all  subject areas.

Literature Resource Center - Full text content, literary criticism and literary encyclopedias from Gale

CBCA Complete-A comprehensive reference and current events database.

MLA International Bibliography- Detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations.

CPI.Q- Indexes Canadian English and French periodicals and includes selected full-text for articles from 1983 to the present.

JSTOR- full text scholarly articles in all subject areas, with excellent Literary criticism collection

JSTOR - a multi-disciplinary database of archived full-text scholarly journals. How to search JSTOR tutorial.

Project MUSE - full text articles from over 400 peer reviewed titles with excellent Literary criticism collection

Project MUSE - Project Muse is a non-profit, full text repository of articles from over 400 peer reviewed titles from scholarly presses and societies.

Browse Databases by Subject Areas - Search for the best databases relevant to your topics.

Canadian Newsstream - Full-text of major Canadian newspapers and small-market BC papers.

 

VIDEO: Using Academic Search Complete (8:37) : Introduction to Finding Articles Using the Academic Search Complete Research Database at KPU Library. Find embed code for this video in Kaltura.

Find if the Library Subscribes to a Particular Journal - Watch this short video

KPU Library Newspaper Databases:

Canadian & International Newspaper & News Sites

  • a comprehensive guide to Newspaper Databases, BC and Canadan News Sources, as well as International News and Newspapers

Mainstream News Sites

Alternative / Progressive News Sites

International News

Fake News

Concordia Fake News LibGuide