Skip to Main Content

ENGL Library Research Guide

Find Books

 

To search the library's collection of e-books all at once, click on the link below and then ADD your keywords to the box at the top of the screen:

You can also search within these specific e-book collections:

Summon searches almost all print and online resources in the Library collection. Learn how to refine your searches by watching this short video.

Watch this short video to learn how to search for books, e-books, and streaming media in the Library Catalogue.

Search tips:

  • Use the Advanced Search screen in the Library Catalogue for more precise searching.
  • The library catalogue lists all of the books, e-books, and videos in the library's collection. It does not include newspaper or journal articles.
  • The most typical search in the Library Catalogue is a keyword search. Keywords are everyday terms used to describe a topic. A more precise search is by subject. Subject headings are the agreed-upon terms designated by the Library of Congress and assigned to each item in your library’s catalog.

Find print books on the Library Shelves:

  • Books are shelved in alphabetical and numerical order according to the call number, a combination of letters and numbers on the spine.
  • Call numbers signify subjects, so books on similar topics will have similar call numbers and be shelved near each other. For a brief introduction, check Library of Congress Classification Outline.

VIDEO: Finding Streaming Videos and DVDs (7:38)

Covers how to find streaming videos and DVDs at KPU Library by searching the Summon search interface, the Library Catalogue, and also by searching in individual video portals.

  • Video (YouTube)
  • Video (Kaltura)
  • Video transcript (text file)

    • KPU has unlimited access to the following streaming platforms:

     Curio.ca Canadian content KPU login required   Streaming video and audio content from CBC and Radio-Canada in both French and English. Please use Google Chrome when playing videos on campus. When using PCs in e-classrooms, videos should be accessible through Internet Explorer.

    Please use Google Chrome when playing videos on campus. When using PCs in e-classrooms, videos should be accessible through Internet Explorer.

    Kanopy To find the videos purchased to date, please search the library catalogue for "Kanopy streaming video."

    Please use Google Chrome when playing videos on campus. When using PCs in e-classrooms, videos should be accessible through Internet Explorer.

    Free Streaming Video Sites

    There is a vast number of websites providing free streaming video in all genres from all over the world. Providers include archives, non-profit organizations, academic institutions, private collectors, news organizations, commercial platforms, and government agencies. Below is a selection of recommended, curated lists that are kept up to date.

     

    What are Open Textbooks? Open textbooks are part of a larger movement called "Open Educational Resources" (OER).

    An open textbook is a textbook with an open copyright license that allows the material to be freely accessed, shared and adapted.

    BC Open Textbook Collection - English

    Other Open Textbooks

    • Writing Spaces Open Textbook - Vols. 1-3 - a collection of Creative Commons licensed essays for use in the first year writing classroom, all written by writing teachers for students.