Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Resources for Remote Delivery

Embedding library resources into your online course & Moodle site

Streaming Video Services

We have added streaming video collections! You now have access to:

You can also find streaming videos in Sage Research Method. Find a list of them all at https://libguides.kpu.ca/az.php?t=24284

Some methods for linking to videos are more highly recommended than others. Start by finding the film you want to link to, then check the instructions for the database your film is located in. Always check your video links from off campus. What might appear to work on campus, may give you different results from off site.

***Note that the library streaming video collections cannot be streamed through Big Blue Button. ***

The Library maintains a Moodle site that shows you examples of what links can look like. It is open to guests. To see our Moodle site:

  1. Go to https://courses.kpu.ca/course/view.php?id=781
  2. Select  Login as Guest and see how embedded resources can expand your course site!

 

KPU Library Streaming Video Collections

  1. Connect to the Criterion on Demand 

  2. Search for your film and click on the title from the result list.
  3. Copy the URL from the top of the page, 
  4. In your Moodle site or Libguide, create a link and use the title of the film as Title, and the link you have copies as URL.
    ** if you are on campus, you will need to add the add the proxy server at the front of the link. The proxy server address is  https://ezproxy.kpu.ca:2443/login?url=

Here is an example of a Criterion on Demand link:

https://media3-criterionpic-com.ezproxy.kpu.ca:2443/htbin/wwform/006?T=MON2769

*Preferred* Method 1: Link Directly to the Main page at https://ezproxy.kpu.ca:2443/login?url=http://curio.ca/en/ and let your students search for film(s).

*Preferred* Method 2: Link directly to a specific video:

  1. Search for your video
  2. Look for the 'Share' link from the video detail page. From there you can copy the URL and place it in your Moodle site, or you can embed a clip into Moodle.

Example of linking to a video: The Book of Negros

Method 3: Link to a Curio 'category'

Curio has grouped their videos by category (subject). You can link to any specific category by grabbing the link when you click on it. To see all categories, use http://curio.ca.ezproxy.kpu.ca:2080/en/categories/

Example of the Canadian History category - http://curio.ca.ezproxy.kpu.ca:2080/en/categories/#l

Method 4 (**may not work well for off campus access**): Embed a Video

  1. Search for the video
  2. Look for the 'Share' link and clip the 'embed' code into your Moodle site.

 

Method 1: Link to the NFB search page and let your students search for video(s). Use this link to avoid problems connecting from off site - https://ezproxy.kpu.ca:2443/login?url=http://www.nfb.ca/explore-all-films/​

Method 2: Link to a specific video.

Method 3: Connect to a Channel at https://www.nfb.ca/channels/

Method 4: Embed the video

  • Find your video and select it.
  • Look below the film window for the 'embed' <\> prompt and select it.
  • Copy the embed code into your Moodle site.

 

 

Method 1: You can create a link in your Moodle site or web page directly to the main search page for Films on Demand. This allows students to search for specific videos, or browse by topic.

Create the link using the main search page at https://ezproxy.kpu.ca:2443/login?url=http://digital.films.com/PortalPlayLists.aspx?aid=17039​

Method 2: You can add direct links to Films on Demand videos directly into your site by following these directions:

  1. Connect to the Films on Demand page at https://ezproxy.kpu.ca:2443/login?url=http://digital.films.com/PortalPlayLists.aspx?aid=17039​
  2. Search for your film and click on the title from the result list.
  3. Scroll down the screen until you see the Share link below the film.
  4. Select Embed/Link 
  5. Copy the URL; the proxy address is already embedded in the link.
  6. In your Moodle site or Libguide, create a link and use the title of the film as Title, and the link you have copies as URL.
  7. When off site, users will have to use their Kwantlen ID to access the video but they do NOT require a Films on Demand account.

Here is an example of the link to the video When Bubbles Burst: Why Financial Markets Crash

Once the link above is renamed, it will look like this:

Method 3: Connect to Topic Pages for films on the same subject.

  1. Connect to Films on Demand at https://ezproxy.kpu.ca:2443/login?url=http://digital.films.com/PortalPlayLists.aspx?aid=17039​
  2. From the hamburger menu in the top left corner, select "browse videos".
  3. Select your subject and look for the Page Link on the right side.
  4. Copy the entire html string and create a link for it in your Moodle or web site. The link contains our proxy server address so students will be asked to login when they connect if they are off campus.

Method 4: Embed Films (students must set up a Films on Demand account to view off campus)

  1. Start at the Films on Demand Search page at https://ezproxy.kpu.ca:2443/login?url=http://digital.films.com/PortalPlayLists.aspx?aid=17039. Click the Connect link.
  2. Search for your video and then load it by double clicking.
  3. Below the video clip, look for the Embed this Video link.
  4. Click the Embed?Link and copy the code that displays below the link. There is an example below in a new box of what the clip can look like.

Why the Cautionionary Note?? 

  • Your students must have a Films on Demand account in order to view the films from this guide off campus. They can create an account quickly by accessing the Films on Demand search page. Look for the Create an Account link in the upper right hand corner. Once the account is created, students can simply enter their Films on Demand username/password to view the video. If you think students will not create a Films on Demand account, then its better to link to the film (directions above) rather than embed it.
  • When you are creating the clip, if its possible to put it in a window individually, you have a better chance of not disrupting the long string of code.
  • In Moodle, the video clip will not display when you are in edit mode. Save your changes and it should appear.

 

Instructors can request purchases of individual videos by sending an email to the library here. While the Library would like to support the all-access, demand-driven acquisition model that would make all Kanopy films available, it is not financially sustainable at this time. To find the videos purchased to date, please search the library catalogue for "Kanopy streaming video."

Embedding Films in Kanopy:

To embed a film:

  1. Click the "Share" button that appears below the video player and select the Embed tab.
  2. Copy the HTML code that appears in the box and paste it into your LMS HTML editor or website code.

 

The library uses Kaltura to provide access to some of its licensed streamed content.
**Note: Licensed video's on the library Channel on Kaltura are only accessible to users once they log into Kaltura. They cannot be embedded into your Moodle site**

Note that your Moodle site must have an enrollment key for any of these options to work within our licenses for the video.

Embed the Catalogue permalink (you cannot embed the video so must connect through the catalogue)

  1. Look up your video in the Library Catalogue.
  2. Grab the Orange Permalink for the record (image below) and embed that link in your Moodle site.

Free Streaming Video Sites

  • American Silent Feature Film Database
  • British Pathe - film footage from around the world: 1896 - 1976
  • Canadian Feature Film Database  -  Library and Archives Canada
  • European Film Gateway
  • EUscreen  -  access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives
  • FedFlix - features the best movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S.
  • Films for Action - a community-powered learning library for people who want to change the world
  • Great Performances - clips from PBS music perfromances
  • Internet Archive  - This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts
  • National Geographic - video clips
  • National Screening Room - Library of Congress;
  • Open Vault  Open Vault provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by public television station WGBH for individual and classroom learning. The ever-expanding site contains video excerpts, searchable transcripts, a select number of complete interviews for purchase, and resource management tools.
  • PBS Learning Media
  • Westland - television series aired on the Knowledge Network from 1984 to 2007
  • Academic Earth  Free online video courses from leading universities
  • Free Video Lectures - free college courses with video lectures
  • Nobel Lectures  View new videos or search the Nobel Lecture video archive.
  • Ted Talks  The annual conferences in Long Beach and Oxford bring together the world's most fascinating thinkers and doers, who are challenged to give the talk of their lives (in 18 minutes). Many of the videos on this site are under 5 minutes
  • Google Videos - Search millions of videos from across the web
  • Yovisto - a search engine for a selection of freely available educational video content