LibGuides: Asian Studies: Gender Studies in Asia

Find Background Research & Journal Articles

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text general and subject-specific reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women : Global Women's Issues and Knowledge
Featuring comprehensive global coverage of women's issues and concerns, from violence and sexuality to feminist theory, the Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women brings the field into the new millennium. In over 900 signed A-Z entries from US and Europe, Asia, the Americas, Oceania, and the Middle East, the women who pioneered the field from its inception collaborate with the new scholars who are shaping the future of women's studies to create the new standard work for anyone who needs information on women-related subjects.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
This comprehensive two-volume encyclopedia covers the major theories, research, people and issues in contemporary gender studies. It is distinguished by a cross-national, cross-cultural perspective providing comparative analyses of life experiences of men and women around the world.
Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories
This path-breaking volume offers an accessible multi-disciplinary insight into the complex field of feminist thought.
Feminist Philosophies A-Z
A concise alphabetical guide to the key terms, issues, theoretical approaches, projects and thinkers in feminist philosophy. Feminist Philosophies A-Z covers contemporary material in a number of feminist approaches. It illustrates the complexity, range and interconnectedness of issues in feminist philosophy while making clear the relationship of feminist philosophy to the rest of philosophy as a discipline (epistemology, metaphysics, ethics, social philosophy and metaphysics).

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Large, multidisciplinary article database that is a good starting point for research in many areas.
The interface for this and all our other EBSCO databases will change mid-2025. Click here to try out the new interface early!
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from all subject areas.
Most journals have extensive past coverage with access to current articles typically delayed 3-5 years post publication.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Proquest Sociology Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from sociology and related disciplines. Also searches Sociological Abstracts.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles from a variety of humanities disciplines.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

Find out if KPU Library subscribes to a particular journal (print or online) by searching the Journal Titles database.

Selected Journals

Feminist Formations

Gender Studies & Research

Indian Journal of Gender Studies

Journal of Gender Studies

Journal of Gender-Based Violence

Journal of Research in Gender Studies

Race, Gender & Class

Studies in Gender and Sexuality

Women, Gender, and Families of Color

Women's Studies

Women's Studies International Forum

Women's Studies Journal

Women's Studies Quarterly

Find Books & Videos

Gender- Asia

Women -- Asia -- History

Gender Identity - Asia

Women -- Sexual behavior - Asia

Women foreign workers -- Asia.

Women -- Crimes against -- Asia.

Women -- Violence against -- Asia.

Women -- Asia -- Economic conditions.

Sex discrimination against women -- Asia.

Women's rights -- Asia.

Gender- East Asia

Women -- East Asia -- History

Sex Role - East Asia

Feminism -- East Asia.

Mothers -- East Asia.

Women -- Sexual behavior - East Asia

Gender identity -- China.

Sex role -- China.

Women -- China -- Social conditions.

Gender identity -- South Asia.

Women -- South Asia.

Equality -- South Asia.

Women -- Political activity -- South Asia.

Feminism -- South Asia.

Sex Role -- South Asia.

Mothers -- South Asia.

Women -- India.

Women -- Violence against -- India.

Women's studies -- India.

Feminism - Philosophy

Women's studies -- History.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Academic, career, and technical streaming videos. KPU's largest streaming video subscription.

Please use Google Chrome when playing videos on campus. When using PCs in e-classrooms, videos should be accessible through Internet Explorer.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
National Film Board This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos from Canada's National Film Board (NFB).

Please use Google Chrome when playing videos on campus. When using PCs in e-classrooms, videos should be accessible through Internet Explorer.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Curio.ca This link opens in a new window
Streaming video, films, and audio content from CBC and Radio-Canada in both French and English.

Please use Google Chrome when playing videos on campus. When using PCs in e-classrooms, videos should be accessible through Internet Explorer.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Criterion on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming feature films.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

Selected Websites

Asian Pacific Institute on Gender-Based Violence

Gender Equality - UNICEF South Asia

UN Women - Asia and the Pacific

Gender Data Portal - The Gender Data Portal is the World Bank Group’s comprehensive source for the latest sex-disaggregated data and gender statistics covering demography, education, health, access to economic opportunities, public life and decision-making, and agency.

Global Gender Gap - World Economic Forum; Annual Reports

WomanStats Project - The WomanStats Project began in 2001 with the aim of investigating the link between the security and behavior of states and the situation and security of the women within them.

Directory of UN Resources on Gender and Women's Issues - Reports, databases and archives relating to gender equality and women's human rights