LibGuides: Asian Studies: Asian Cinema

Find Background Research & Journal Articles

Credo Reference
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text general and subject-specific reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

The Asian Cinema Experience : Styles, Spaces, Theory.
This book explores the range and dynamism of contemporary Asian cinemas, covering East Asia (China, Japan, South Korea, Hong Kong, Taiwan), Southeast Asia (Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia), South Asia (Bollywood), and West Asia (Iran), in order to discover what is common about them and to engender a theory or concept of "Asian Cinema".
Routledge Handbook of Indian Cinemas
India is the largest film producing country in the world and its output has a global reach. After years of marginalisation by academics in the Western world, Indian cinemas have moved from the periphery to the centre of the world cinema in a comparatively short space of time. Bringing together contributions from leading scholars in the field, this Handbook looks at the complex reasons for this remarkable journey.

Proquest Sociology Collection
Scholarly articles from sociology and related disciplines. Also searches Sociological Abstracts.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Scholarly articles from communication, mass media, journalism, linguistics, and related fields.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
JSTOR
Scholarly articles from all subject areas.
Most journals have extensive past coverage with access to current articles typically delayed 3-5 years post publication.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
MLA International Bibliography
Scholarly articles across the fields of literature and linguistics. Also searches book and thesis content.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Project MUSE
Scholarly journal articles from a variety of humanities disciplines.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
CBCA Complete
Multidisciplinary scholarly and popular articles from Canadian journals and magazines.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

Online Scholarly Film Reviews

Film Comment

Film Quarterly

Find out if KPU Library subscribes to a particular journal (print or online) by searching the Journal Titles database.

Selected Journals:

Cinema Journal

Global Media Journal

Journal of Asia-Pacific Pop Culture

Journal of Cinema and Media Studies

Journal of Film and Video

Modern Asian Studies

Society and Culture in South Asia

South Asian Popular Culture

Find Books & Videos

Motion pictures -- Asia

Asians in motion pictures

Films -- Asia.

Tradition, Culture and Aesthetics in Contemporary Asian Cinema
From the critically acclaimed Malaysian film Sepet to the on-going box office successes of the films created by Hong Kong director Wong Kar Wai, cinematic texts from the nations of Asia are increasingly capturing audiences beyond their national boundaries. Tradition, Culture and Aesthetics in Contemporary Asian Cinema explores the rise of popular Asian cinema and provides an understanding of the aesthetic elements that mark these films as 'Asian cinema'.

Motion pictures -- China

Motion pictures -- Taiwan

Motion pictures -- Hong Kong

Motion picture industry -- China

Chinese in Motion Pictures

China -- In motion pictures

Film criticism -- China

Film -- China

Motion Picture Producers and Directors -- China.

Motion Picture Music -- China.

Motion Picture Actors and Actresses -- China.

South Asians in Motion Pictures

Bollywood

Motion Pictures -- India

Film - India

India in Motion Pictures

Motion Picture Industry - India

Motion Pictures, Hindi.

Motion Picture Producers and Directors -- India

Motion Picture Music -- India

Motion Picture Actors and Actresses -- India

The Cinematic Imagination: Indian Popular Films as Social History
India produces more films than any other country in the world, and these works are avidly consumed by non-Western cultures in Africa, Eastern Europe, the Middle East, and by the Indian communities in Australia, Britain, the Caribbean Islands, and North America. Jyotika Virdi focuses on how this dominant medium configures the "nation" in post-Independence Hindi cinema.
From Bombay to Bollywood : The Making of a Global Media Industry
From Bombay to Bollywood analyzes the transformation of the national film industry in Bombay into a transnational and multi-media cultural enterprise, which has come to be known as Bollywood. Combining ethnographic, institutional, and textual analyses, Aswin Punathambekar explores how relations between state institutions, the Indian diaspora, circuits of capital, and new media technologies and industries have reconfigured the Bombay-based industry's geographic reach.
100 Essential Indian Films
In 100 Essential Indian Films, Rohit K. Dasgupta and Sangeeta Datta identify and discuss significant works produced since the 1930s. Examining the output of different regional film industries throughout India, this volume offers a balance of box-office blockbusters, critical successes, and less-recognized cult classics.

Motion Pictures -- Japan

Motion Picture Industry -- Japan

Japanese in Motion Pictures

Japan in Motion Pictures

Film - Japan

Film Criticism - Japan

Motion Picture Producers and Directors -- Japan

Motion Picture Actors and Actresses -- Japan

Films on Demand
Academic, career, and technical streaming videos. KPU's largest streaming video subscription.

Please use Google Chrome when playing videos on campus. When using PCs in e-classrooms, videos should be accessible through Internet Explorer.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
National Film Board
Streaming videos from Canada's National Film Board (NFB).

Please use Google Chrome when playing videos on campus. When using PCs in e-classrooms, videos should be accessible through Internet Explorer.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Curio.ca
Streaming video, films, and audio content from CBC and Radio-Canada in both French and English.

Please use Google Chrome when playing videos on campus. When using PCs in e-classrooms, videos should be accessible through Internet Explorer.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Criterion on Demand
Streaming feature films.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

Selected Websites

Centre of South Asian Studies Cambridge Film Collections - University of Cambridge; approximately 50 individual collections totalling in the region of 80 hours of footage; (streaming available for teaching or research purposes only)

Colonial Film: Moving Images of the British Empire

Film and Video from the Himalayas - University of Cambridge

Film South Asia

China Film Insider

Chinese Movie Database

Hong Kong Movie Database

Media History Project

The Paul Kendel Fonoroff Collection for Chinese Film Studies

International Indian Film Academy (IIFA)

The Art of Bollywood - Victoria and Albert Museum, London, UK

National Film Development Corporation of India

National Film Archive of India

Japanese Film Database