LibGuides: Asian Studies: Articles

Find Journal, Magazine & Newspaper Articles

Our Research databases page offers you access to over 100 databases.

But to start your research, we recommend:

Academic Search Complete
Large, multidisciplinary article database that is a good starting point for research in many areas.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
CBCA Complete
Multidisciplinary scholarly and popular articles from Canadian journals and magazines.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Australia & New Zealand Database
Multidisciplinary academic journals published in Australia and New Zealand.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
East & South Asia Database
Multidisciplinary academic journals that are published in many East Asian and South Asian countries.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
India Database
Journals published in India, supporting many subjects, including business, medicine, science, technology, social sciences and humanities.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
eHRAF World Cultures
Contains information on present and past aspects of cultural and social life for a worldwide sample of societies. Includes full text of ebooks, articles, and other documents.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
JSTOR
Scholarly articles from all subject areas.
Most journals have extensive past coverage with access to current articles typically delayed 3-5 years post publication.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

For help in learning how to search JSTOR efficiently, see this useful guide.

MLA International Bibliography
Scholarly articles across the fields of literature and linguistics. Also searches book and thesis content.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Project MUSE
Scholarly journal articles from a variety of humanities disciplines.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Proquest Sociology Collection
Scholarly articles from sociology and related disciplines. Also searches Sociological Abstracts.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

Not sure if a journal article is scholarly / academic?

Have a look at these links:

Global Breaking Newswires
Provides timely access to worldwide newswire content.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
International Newsstream
Provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives that stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Canadian Newsstream
Major Canadian newspapers as well as many small-market newspapers.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Globe and Mail: ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Complete coverage of The Globe And Mail newspaper from 1844 to three years ago.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Vancouver Sun Historical and Recent Archive
Provides access to archival articles of the Vancouver Sun from 1912 to 3 months ago. Scans of microfilm. For access to current articles, please search Canadian Newsstream.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

Find out if KPU Library subscribes to a particular journal (print or online) by searching the Journal Titles database.

Where Can I Get This?

"The database only gives me a citation, or just an abstract. How do I find the full text?"

The Where Can I Get This? link lets you know if the full-text of the article is available online through another library database. or in print in the KPU library. If not, you can ask for an .inter-library loan.

Find out more about Interlibrary Loans!

Check your Interlibrary Loan Account.