Use
to find books, journal articles and more!
Start with a few keywords to describe your topic or simply start with the name of your icon.
TIP! Use the filter "Full Text Online" under Refine Your Search to access content available online.
Summon is a fast search engine that helps you discover a range of relevant information in the Kwantlen Polytechnic University Library collection. It can be a useful starting place for your library research.
From a single search box you can search for: books/ebooks, conference proceedings, government documents, journal and newspaper articles, and more...
Sometimes a search will return an overwhelming number of results so it is a good idea to use limiting options available, such as limiting to books/ebooks or peer-reviewed journals or by date. After searching in Summon you may wish to switch directly into the library catalogue to search for books or into the individual databases...especially the ones that are not included in a Summon search.
Because SUMMON searches "everything" often the number of search results is overwhelmingly high. Here are some tips to help you create a more manageale list:
Use options (found on the left hand side of the search screen) to reduce the number of results. For example, limit your results to full-text articles from scholarly journals published in a particular date range (e.g. the last ten years)
Search for an exact phrase by using quotation marks. For example, if you are looking for restaurant design try "restaurant design"
Try adding additional keywords that further describe what you are looking for. For example, "restaurant design" AND lighting
Looking for Academic or Scholarly Results?
Searches results can contain a variery of sources including both academic and popular itesm. If you need only scholarly or academic results, please look for the Refine Your Search box and click on "Scholarly & Peer-Review"
Search the Library Catalogue for books by entering keywords that describe what you are looking for.
You can also search by author name, book title or subject heading.
Classic Chic by 
The Killer Detail by
Striking photographs of 120 influential figures of the twentieth century highlight a singular sartorial detail that the stars wore first and that, as a result, redefined fashion. In a series of iconic portraits accompanied by insightful and sometimes dishy text, this volume examines the most influential stars of the twentieth century and the "killer detail" that made them stand out and for which they would forever be remembered. If what Stendhal called "the charming little flaw" is what inflames desire, then the killer detail is the harbinger of true elegance. It is a particular feature that catches the eye, encapsulates an attitude, or refines a style, distinguishing the wearer from the crowd. The Killer Detail is a veritable fashion show featuring writers, artists, performers, and models who all left their mark on the twentieth century as bellwethers of style: from Marlene Dietrich’s pantsuit to Kate Moss’s skinny jeans; from Liz Taylor’s leopard-print swimsuit to Jimi Hendrix’s military jacket; and from Thelonious Monk’s beret to Frank Sinatra’s fedora. These are the individuals who dared to invent new perspectives in fashion and adopt fresh trends that would be reinvented by others continually for years to come.
Fashionista by
With its unique take on fashion trends through the years, this sumptuous tribute to divas and dresses reminds us that style never goes out of fashion. Instead of focusing on the designers that have made their marks in the past decades, this original and inspiring portrayal of style icons features the unforgettable faces and bodies that helped propel designers into the limelight over the years. Organized by timeless style sensibilities that reflect distinctive fashion identities, the book features a wide array of fashion icons, including sophisticates such as Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis and Audrey Hepburn, it-girls like Edie Sedgewick and Chlo' Sevigny, bombshells like Marylin Monroe and Brigitte Bardot, and eccentrics like Bjork and Grace Jones. Each fashion icon is given her own generous two-page spread. Beautiful photographs illustrate how the subject personifies a certain quality of style, and fascinating texts discuss her influence and unique contributions to the world of fashion. This engaging and endlessly appealing celebration of style will please fashionistas of all ages and tastes.
The Power of Style by
Reveals the inner qualities of 14 remarkable women who define style in ways that have lasted for generations. Witty and fascinating excursions into the worlds of Coco Chanel, Pauline de Rothschild, Diana Vreeland, Elsie de Wolfe, and others are captured in lavish photographs and entertaining anecdotes. We discover not only the preeminent influence that these women held over fashion and culture, but also the wry, often poignant tales of their personal lives.Full-color photographs.
Fashion by
This heavily illustrated overview of fashion presents the clothing styles of men & women from the late Middle Ages & Renaissance, through the era of democracy & industrialization, & culminating with the diverse fashions & fashion leaders of the present day. Readers gain an understanding of how fashions in dress have always reflected social status & each era's dominant social philosophies. All aspects of fashion history are presented, & an overview of fashion's significance shows how it shapes the way we live, how it has influenced expression throughout the world, & how it affects both the fine & commercial arts. This book includes an extensive glossary, a list for further reading, & a detailed index.
Fashion + Music by
As twin agents of creative expression fashion and music have long shared a powerful mutual attraction: from the Sex Pistols to Madonna, Kylie Minogue to Lady Gaga, fashion has consistently amplified our understanding of the band (and in many cases the brand) - fuelling the fantasy, giving context to the sound and adding depth to artists' wider agendas. From pop videos to editorial shoots, via the evolution of some of the industry's most significant and era-defining pairings/collaborations this book will focus on the power of fashion as a make-or-break tool within the music industry's creative process - making it an essential reference point for anyone interested in fashion's role as a medium with which to innovate, communicate and build enduring brands. Providing fascinating insights and behind-the-curtain journeys into the usually closed world of the fashion/music industry it will include original interviews with stylists, photographers, video directors, record label reps, hair & make-up artists, graphic designers and the artists themselves.
Isms by
This engaging and informative guide lays out the significant design trends and movements that have shaped costume and fashion from the ancients through today. The latest in the best-selling Isms series, which includes Isms: Understanding Art, Isms: Understanding Architectural Styles and Isms: Understanding Religion, is Isms: Understanding Fashion. Concisely written, this book packs loads of detail into a handy small format, tracing the evolution of costume history and fashion through a series of interconnected trends and movements (a.k.a. "isms") from the Greco-Roman toga and the antebellum hoop skirt to the latest from the runway. This guide is organized chronologically and covers the evolution of costume, the beginning of haute couture, and the rise of fashion as we know it-- documented throughout with a combination of line drawings, costume illustration, and fashion photography. It includes an overview of designers from the classic--Coco Chanel, Dior--to the contemporary design greats, such as Tom Ford and Marc Jacobs. While the book traces the influences and links between designers, it also includes patrons, from Marie-Antoinette to Jackie Kennedy and Princess Diana, as well as fashion muses from Sarah Bernhardt to Sarah Jessica Parker. Related topics such as accessories and accoutrements are included as well. Anyone interested in costume and fashion will delight in this book.
Search the library's book catalogue for the name of your fashion icon. Here are some samples:
David Bowie Is... by
David Bowie Is is the first book that grants access to the internationally acclaimed artist and performer’s personal archive of costumes, ephemera, original design artwork, and more, bringing it together to present a completely new perspective on his creative work and collaborations. It traces Bowie’s career from its beginnings in London, through the breakthroughs of Space Oddity and The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars, and on to his enormous impact on 20th-century avant-garde music and art. Essays by V&A curators Victoria Broackes and Geoffrey Marsh on Bowie’s London, image, and influence on the fashion world are complemented by Christopher Frayling, Mark Kermode, and Philip Hoare on film; Howard Goodall on musicology; Camille Paglia on gender and decadence; and Jon Savage on Bowie’s relationship with William Burroughs and Bowie’s fans. The more than 300 color illustrations include personal and performance photographs, album covers, performance costumes, original lyric sheets, and much more. Praise for David Bowie Is: "Perusing David Bowie Is (V&A Publishing, distributed by Abrams), the exhibition’s catalog, with its procession of poses and costumes and weighty essays tracking the cross-references to pop culture and high art, you get a sense of how much hard work it took to be Mr. Bowie.” --The New York Times "The fans of 50 years or those making discoveries in retrospect will be intrigued by the accompanying book David Bowie Is that is far more than a fanzine.”--The New York Times "Lends context and picks away at Bowie with such insight that it’s a rare hagiography with soul.” --Chicago Tribune "Combining top-notch articles on the singer/actor’s life and work with official images and reproductions of his fashion and associated ephemera, the hefty, mango-colored book is nothing short of a treasure trove of all things Bowie; a one-stop smorgasbord for the eyes whose pictorials chronicle the groundbreaking star from Ziggy Stardust to Thin White Duke to Heathen and every personality in between.” --Examiner.com
Marilyn in Fashion by
Fifty years after her death, Marilyn remains an incandescent movie star, legendary sex symbol, and a woman whose private life fascinates the public--but the story never before showcased is Marilyn Monroe’s enduring impact on fashion. From the pink satin "Diamonds Are a Girl’s Best Friend” gown, to the pleated white dress fromThe Seven Year Itch to the revealing nude sheath worn to sing "Happy Birthday” to JFK, Marilyn created endless unforgettable looks. Before they were household names, she wore Ferragamo pumps, carried Gucci bags and wore the designs of Oleg Cassini, Norman Norell, Emilio Pucci and Jean Louis. In an era of Peter Pan collars, poodle skirts, and repressed sexuality, Marilyn’s sexy style and ability to spot up-and-coming designers made her a fashion visionary. Marilyn in Fashion traces the evolution of her style, from wholesome sweetness early in her career, to sex kitten looks in the '50s, to elegant sophistication in the last years of her life. The text details the designers of her ensembles, where she wore them, and their influence on fashion. Behind-the-scenes stories reveal how the star often worked closely with designers to create looks befitting the Marilyn Monroe image. Illustrated with hundreds of rare and never-before-published photos, Marilyn in Fashion fabulously traces the style evolution of the ultimate Hollywood icon.
Jackie by
Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy Onassis is the ultimate American fashion icon. Jay Mulvaney, author of Kennedy Weddings, celebrates her unique style in this lavishly illustrated book. JACKIE: The Clothes of Camelot is a richly illustrated history of those magical years when the Kennedys captivated a nation and the world. Her glamour was electric, her style imaginative, and the effect was brilliant. Jacqueline Kennedy's fashions from the White House years, over two hundred outfits, are illustrated with three hundred photographs, in both black and white and color, many previously unpublished or rarely seen. Also included are photographs of jewelry and accessories as well as memorabilia, all exploring the continuing impact of Jackie's fashion sensibility on our culture.The range of illustrations and text is broad, including:Early Fashion InfluencesThe Inauguration EnsemblesGowns for State EventsThe Wardrobe for State Visits AbroadPrivate Living and Casual WearFrench Designers: Haute Couture in the White HouseNovember 1963Mrs. Onassis and the Post-Camelot Years JACKIE: The Clothes of Camelot is a striking portrait of an unforgettable fashion legend.
A Thousand Days of Magic by
A gorgeously revised edition of this fashion favorite book, which combines Cassini’s memoirs of working closely with Jacqueline Kennedy during her brief White House years, his fashion philosophies and ideas, and the iconography of the early 1960s style and energy of the Kennedy years. Jacqueline Kennedy’s selection of Oleg Cassini to design her personal wardrobe as First Lady was not only fashion history, but political history as well. As the creator of the "Jackie look," Cassini made the First Lady one of the best-dressed women in the world and a glamorous icon of the Kennedy era. During the 1000 days of the Kennedy administration, Cassini designed over 300 outfits for Jackie Kennedy—coats, dresses, evening gowns, suits, and day wear—and coordinated every aspect of her wardrobe, from shoes and hats to gloves and handbags. In this book, Cassini offers a fascinating and comprehensive view of his role as Jackie’s personal couturier, a position that allowed him unprecedented access to both Jackie and John Kennedy as a designer and a trusted friend. From the details of his first meetings with the First Lady to his thoughts on Jackie’s clothes and their legacy, Cassini’s recollections are far-ranging and informative. Also included are Cassini's original sketches accompanied by 200 color and black-and-white photographs of the First Lady as she tours India, France, England, and Italy, shows off the White House, and hosts state dinners and family gatherings. Public moments as well as private ones capture the great elegance and charm of one of the most admired and emulated women in the world.
Call numbers help you locate items in the library. You will always find related books shelved together so understanding call numbers can help you find many resources on the shelves.
Still confused about call numbers? See our Call Numbers Demystified Guide!
Call number ranges to get you started:
Let There Be Clothes : 40,000 Years of Fashion
One Hundred Years of Menswear
Survey of Historic Costume by 
Vingage Fashion Complete by 
Fashion, History, Museums Inventing the Display of Dress by 
Women's Fashions of the Early 1900s
Fashions of a Decade - The 1920s
The 1920s
Fashionable Clothing from the Sears Catalogs - Early 1930s
Fashionable clothing from the sears Catalogs - Mid 1930s
Fashionable Clothing from the Sears Catalogs - Late 1930s
Fashions of a Decade - The 1930s
The 1930s
The 1940s
Fashionable Clothing from the Sears Catalogs - Early 1940s
Fashionable Clothing from the Sears Catalogs - Mid-1940s
Fashionable Clothing from the Sears Catalogs - Late 1940s
Fashions of a Decade - The 1940s
Forties Fashion by 
The 1950s
Fashionable Clothing from the Sears Catalogs - Early 1950s
Fashionable Clothing from the Sears Catalogs - Mid 1950s
Fashionable Clothing from the Sears Catalogs - Late 1950s
Fashions of a Decade - The 1950s
Fashionable Clothing from the Sears Catalogs - Early 1970s
Fashionable Clothing from the Sears Catalogs - Mid-1970s
Fashionable Clothing from the Sears Catalogs - Late 1970s
Fashions of a Decade - The 1970s
The 1970s
Fashionable Clothing from the Sears Catalogs - Early 1980s
Fashionable Clothing from the Sears Catalogs - Mid 1980s
Fashions of a Decade - The 1980s
The 1980s
Fashions of a Decade - The 1990s
Our Research database page offers you access to over 200 databases.
Start with the following:
The database only gives me a citation, or just an abstract. How do I find the full text?
The Where Can I Get This link lets you know if the full-text of the article is available:
Make sure to look for the Where Can I Get This on the database page!
Find out more about Interlibrary Loans!
You can access our research databases from home if you are a Kwantlen student or employee.
When conducting research it is important to distinguish between journal articles and magazine articles. Journal articles are typically referred to as "scholarly" or "refereed" while magazine articles are usually considered "popular" or "sensational". Always know which type is acceptable for your research.
|
|
Refereed or Scholarly Journal |
Trade Publication |
Popular Magazine |
|
Format |
Has serious format |
Attractive in appearance |
Generally glossy & attractive format |
|
Graphics |
Graphs and charts to illustrate concepts |
Photos, graphics and illustrations used to enhance articles |
Photos, illustrations and drawing to enhance image of publication |
|
Sources |
Cited sources with footnotes and/or bibliography |
Occasionally cite sources, but not as a rule |
Rarely cite sources. Original sources may be obscure |
|
Authors |
Written by scholars or researchers in the field or discipline |
Written by professionals or experts in the field |
Written by the staff or free-lance writers for a broad audience |
|
Language |
Uses terminology, jargon, and the language of the discipline. Reader is assumed to have similar background |
Uses language appropriate for an educated readership |
Uses simple language for minimal educational level. Articles are short, with little depth |
|
Purpose |
To inform, report, or make original research available to the scholarly world |
Report on trends in specific industry, business or organization; give practical advice |
Designed to entertain or persuade, to sell products or services |
|
Publishers |
Generally published by a professional organization |
Published by commercial enterprises for profit |
Published for profit |
|
Advertising |
Contains selective advertising |
Carries advertising, mostly trade related |
Contains extensive advertising |
Please use Google Chrome when playing videos on campus. When using PCs in e-classrooms, videos should be accessible through Internet Explorer.
Don't believe everything you read. Ask some critical questions about every website:
Who
Is the author easily identified?
- check for an "About us" link
Why should I trust what they say?
Are they credible?
- look for relevant educational qualifications and professional experience
- check author's reputation in Google
What
What type of information is provided?
- personal opinions? research findings?
Does the author cite sources so that you can verify the info?
- confirm in other sources
And are they scholarly sources?
- see features of scholarly journals
Why
Is the author trying to sell something?
- watch especially with .com websites
Does the author or organization have a political or ideological bias, and only present one point of view?
- look them up on Google
When
How current is the information?
- look for sites that are updated regularly
- some areas can change rapidly, e.g. medicine, law
How
Is the site logically arranged?
- avoid sites with many dead links
Does the site look professional?
- not full of misspellings
When writing a research paper, you must always cite any sources that you have consulted. You must acknowledge when you are using the ideas, information, arguments, phrases or any other intellectual or creative output by another person. Not to do so is referred to as plagiarism. Plagiarism is a serious offense that carries with it severe academic consequences, but that can largely be avoided by always citing your resources.
We cite:
Common examples of plagiarism:
Find out more about Plagiarism
