Citation Styles

Chicago Manual of Style This link opens in a new window
Online version of the 17th and 16th editions.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

The Chicago Manual of Style
This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords.
Chicago Style Citations: 17th Edition
The tutorial covers why it is important to use citations, elements of common source types, and how to create footnotes or endnotes and bibliographic citations based on the 17th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition
This new edition filters decades of expertise into modern standards. While previous editions incorporated digital forms of research and writing, this edition goes even further to build information literacy, recognizing that most students will be doing their work largely or entirely online and on screens. Chapters include updated advice on finding, evaluating, and citing a wide range of digital sources and also recognize the evolving use of software for citation management, graphics, and paper format and submission. The ninth edition is fully aligned with the recently released Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research.

Chicago LibGuide - (17th edition) Excellent Guide from the the University of Lethbridge

From the OWL at Purdue University: Comprehensive information about Chicago Style, including formatting and sample papers

From the University of Chicago: Turabian Quick Guide (Turabian is a simplified form of the Chicago Manual of Style)

Check the APA Citation Guide for more help.

Images--How to Find, Use and Cite

Copyright for Students

Citation & References
Indigenous Intellectual Property
Indigenous Research

Elements of Indigenous style : A guide for writing by and about Indigenous peoples
Elements of Indigenous Style offers Indigenous writers and editors--and everyone creating works about Indigenous Peoples--the first published guide to common questions and issues of style and process. Everyone working in words or other media needs to read this important new reference, and to keep it nearby while they're working.

What Zotero Does

Zotero (pronounced "zoh-TAIR-oh") is a Firefox addon for Windows, Mac, or Linux that collects, manages, and cites research sources. As such, it lives in your web browser where you do your work, is easy to use, and best of all it's free.

Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies. It automatically updates itself periodically to work with new online sources and new bibliographic styles.

Search the Zotero Guide for more information

Online Guides

Elements of Style - online version of William Strunk's classic reference book
Purdue University Writing Labs: The Writing Process - guides for punctuation and sentence construction as well as planning, writing and revising an essay
Writing Academic Essays - developed by the University of Toronto.
Formulating a Thesis Statement - a guide to choosing and stating the main focus of your essay from Indiana University

Need more help? Check out the Research Help Subject Guide

The Craft of Political Research
The Craft of Political Research immerses readers not only in how political scientists work but also in how ideas produce research questions and guide the selection of research methods.
The Political Science Student Writer's Manual
The manual considers the different types of papers common to political science at all levels, at the introductory level, and at the advanced level--exploring the purposes and characteristics of each paper, the steps for writing a successful paper, and typical formats.
Writing a Research Paper in Political Science : A Practical Guide to Inquiry, Structure, and Methods
This writing guide breaks down the research paper into its constituent parts and shows students what they need to do at each stage to successfully complete components until the paper is finished. Even writing an introduction, coming up with effective headings and titles, presenting a conclusion, and the important steps of editing and revising are covered with class-tested advice and know-how.

Find more books:

Political science -- Authorship

Political science -- Research

You may be asked to prepare a literature review as an assignment, but more likely you are going to be expected to include a lit review as part of the introduction to your research paper. Properly done, a literature review is more than an annotated bibliography or summary of research articles. Your lit review should inform your readers of significant past research in your specialized topic, but also highlight critical issues, areas where research is lacking, or novel applications that your research is going to explore.

For some helpful tips on how to get started doing a literature review, see the University of Toronto Library's The Literature Review: A Few Tips on Conducting it.

Differences between and characteristics of an annotated bibliography & literature review

How to write an annotated bibliography - a guide from UBC library.
How to write an annotated bibliography - a University of Toronto guide.
Write an annotated bibliography - UC Santa Cruz
Differences between and characteristics of an annotated bibliography & literature review

KPU Library

Political Science

Why We Cite

Citation Styles

Images--How to Find, Use and Cite

Copyright for Students

Accidental Plagiarism