LibGuides: Political Science: Find Articles

Find Journal. Magazine and Newspaper Articles

Our Research database page offers you access to over 100 databases.

But to start your research, we recommend:

Political Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Articles from all areas of political science.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

Also try the following databases:

CBCA Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary scholarly and popular articles from Canadian journals and magazines.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Large, multidisciplinary article database that is a good starting point for research in many areas.
The interface for this and all our other EBSCO databases will change mid-2025. Click here to try out the new interface early!
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from all subject areas.
Most journals have extensive past coverage with access to current articles typically delayed 3-5 years post publication.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

Political Science Resources on JSTOR Guide

Canada Commons Public Document Search (formerly Canadian Public Documents Collection from desLibris) This link opens in a new window
Ebooks and reports published by Canadian organizations and government bodies.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Defence Research Reports This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of research reports contracted by department of National Defence and the Canadian Forces.
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters This link opens in a new window
Documents from 1650-1920 that illuminate the experiences of European settlers and indigenous peoples in the frontier regions of North America, Africa, and Australasia.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular articles on a wide variety of topics of interest to military and government.
The interface for this and all our other EBSCO databases will change mid-2025. Click here to try out the new interface early!
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that integrates data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources. It contains statistics, reports on industries, markets, surveys, toplists, and infographics.
United States Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
A broad range of previously classified federal records spanning the twentieth and twenty first centuries.

After clicking the link, scroll through the list of resources to find this collection.
Freely available to all BC residents.

Chatham House Online Archive - contains the publications and archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs (Chatham House), the world-leading independent international affairs policy institute founded in 1920 following the Paris Peace Conference.

United States Declassified Documents Online - Open access database freely available to anyone in British Columbia over the Web.

The database only gives me a citation, or just an abstract. How do I find the full text?

The Where Can I Get This link lets you know if the full-text of the article is available:

Online through another library database.
In print by doing a search in the Library Catalogue.
Available via interlibrary loan by making an interlibrary loan request

Not sure if a journal article is scholarly / academic?

Have a look at these links:

Anatomy of a scholarly article

Scholarly Publications explained

Find out if KPU Library subscribes to a particular journal (print or online) by searching the Journal Titles database.

Selected Print & Online Journals

Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Major Canadian newspapers as well as many small-market newspapers.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Global Breaking Newswires This link opens in a new window
Provides timely access to worldwide newswire content.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Current American newspaper and newswire content with archival coverage to the 1980s.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives that stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Globe and Mail: ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Complete coverage of The Globe And Mail newspaper from 1844 to three years ago.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Gale NewsVault This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers and periodicals, mainly from Britain and the United States. Dates range from the 17th to 20th centuries.

After clicking the link, scroll through the list of resources to find this collection.
Freely available to BC residents.
Points to the Past This link opens in a new window
Historic primary source materials and newspapers available to all British Columbia residents.
Freely available to all BC residents.

News Websites

Politico.com

Politico Europe - European politics

Find more Canadian & International newspaper & news websites.

Accessing Articles from off Campus locations

You can access our research databases from home if you are a Kwantlen student or employee.

Here is the login information you will need to use to access these online resources:
- Students:
  username = student number
  password = same password used to register for classes online
- Employees:
  username = assigned short name that you use to login to office computer
  password = same password used to login to office computers or access HR self services
- Staff and Administrators
  username = same name ID used to access office computers
  password = same password used to login to office computers
You must have 'Cookies' enabled on your browser. This will ensure that the system will recognize you after you enter your barcode just once despite how many databases you use during your browser session.
If your username/password works for logging into Moodle or computers on campus, but does not work for logging into our databases, try a password reset. This often triggers library database access.
If you use any type of chain to automatically save passwords, you will need to make sure that is updated to your changes. Library databases are unavailable from a VPN connection. Please use a direct internet connection for their use.
Still having issues?? We are here to help! Contact us by phone, email or text and we will assist you - https://www.kpu.ca/library/services/askus.

KPU Library

Political Science

Search Tips: Academic Search Complete

Ask

Find Journal. Magazine and Newspaper Articles

Accessing Articles from off Campus locations