LibGuides: Political Science: Find Books

Find Books @ KPU Library

Catastrophic Success: Why Foreign-imposed Regime Change Goes Wrong
The author explains why foreign-imposed regime change so often goes awry. Drawing on two centuries of data and over one hundred regime changes, he shows that regime change increases the likelihood of internal conflict in target states and fails to reduce the probability of intervener-target conflict
Dictators and Autocrats : Securing Power across Global Politics
In order to truly understand the emergence, endurance and legacy of autocracy, this volume of engaging essays explores how autocratic power is acquired, exercised and transferred or abruptly ended, through the careers and politics of influential figures in more than 20 countries and six regions. The book looks at both traditional hard dictators such as Hitler, Stalin and Mao, and more modern soft or populist autocrats, who are in the process of transforming once fully democratic countries into autocratic states.
Elites and the Politics of Accountability in Africa
Elites and the Politics of Accountability in Africa examines the ways that accountability offers an effective interpretive lens to the social, cultural, and institutional struggles of both the elites and ordinary citizens in Africa. Each chapter investigates questions of power, its public deliberation, and its negotiation in Africa by studying elites through the framework of accountability. The book enters conversations about political subjectivity and agency, especially from ongoing struggles around identities and belonging, as well as representation and legitimacy.
The Listeners: A History of Wiretapping in the United States
Wiretapping is nearly as old as electronic communications. Telegraph operators intercepted enemy messages during the Civil War. Law enforcement agencies were listening to private telephone calls as early as 1895. Communications firms have assisted government eavesdropping programs since the early twentieth century--and they have spied on their own customers too. Such breaches of privacy once provoked outrage, but today most Americans have resigned themselves to constant electronic monitoring. How did we get from there to here?
The Trump Effect: Disruption and its Consequences in U.S. Politics and Government
This book reveals the widespread effects of the Trump administration's efforts to unsettle and reshape American governance. The chapters focus on the major fronts of conflict evident during Trump's presidency: in public opinion, party politics, media coverage, Congressional relations, executive branch management, judicial appointments, foreign policy and domestic policy.

Summon searches almost all print and online resources in the Library collection. Learn how to refine your searches by watching this short video.

KPU Summon Scope Graphic
Visualizes the types of content included in the KPU Summon search tool.

Search Summon for eBooks only

Call numbers help you locate items in the library. You will always find related books shelved together so understanding call numbers can help you find many resources on the shelves.

Call number ranges for political science:

HB 501: Capitalism
HJ: Public Finance
HX 1-970.7: Socialism, Communism & Anarchism
J-JC: Political Science (General)
JC 11-605: Political Theory
JC 329: Patriotism
JC 421-458: Democracy
JC 474: Totalitarianism
JF 51: Comparative Government
JF 2011: Political Parties and Electoral Systems
JK: United States - Politics and Government
JL: Canada - Politics and Government
JL 400-439: British Columbia - Politics and Government
JS 1701-1800: Canadian Municipal Governments
JV 6001-9840: International Migration
JZ: International Relations
U - V: Military and Naval Science

Reference books are useful as a first step in research - they will provide a quick overview of a topic that will allow you to understand its specific terminology and parameters.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text general and subject-specific reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
KnowBC This link opens in a new window
An encyclopedia providing an array of information, maps, graphics and historical sources for B.C. and its history.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

Selected Individual Encyclopedias & Dictionaries; print & online

The concise Oxford dictionary of politics
The dictionary has international coverage and will prove invaluable to students and academics studying politics and related disciplines, as well as politicians, journalists, and the general reader seeking clarification of political terms.
The concise Oxford dictionary of politics and international relations
This bestselling dictionary contains over 1,700 entries on all aspects of politics and international relations. Written by a leading team of political scientists, it embraces the multi-disciplinary spectrum of political theory including political thinkers, history, institutions, theories, andschools of thought, as well as notable current affairs that have shaped attitudes to politics.
The concise Princeton encyclopedia of American political history
With 150 accessible articles written by more than 130 leading experts, this essential reference provides authoritative introductions to some of the most important and talked-about topics in American history and politics, from the founding to today. Abridged from the acclaimed Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History , this is the only single-volume encyclopedia that provides comprehensive coverage of both the traditional topics of U.S. political history and the broader forces that shape American politics--including economics, religion, social movements, race, class, and gender.
A glossary of political theory
This essential reference covers alphabetically both the major concepts in political theory and the key writers in the field. While ensuring accuracy and objectivity, the entries represent interpretations that are both challenging and interesting.The premise underlying the book is that politics cannot be studied without theory, and for students, the more concrete and relevant the theory, the better.
Politics : the key concepts
Politics: The Key Concepts is an up-to-date and broad-ranging introduction to the terms that lie at the heart of political discourse. Entries are drawn from areas such as political theory, international politics, political science and methodology. As well as explaining core, established principles, this informative guide explores some of the more complex, topical and contested concepts from the world of politics.
The SAGE encyclopedia of political behavior
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Political Behavior explores the intersection of psychology, political science, sociology, and human behavior. This encyclopedia integrates theories, research, and case studies from a variety of disciplines that inform this established area of study

Who is the author?

holds an advanced degree in the subject covered by the book?
professional or researcher in the field?
is the author affiliated with a university / professional organization?

Purpose?

original research
literature review
advances research in discipline

Cited Sources?

bibliography / extensive notes
cites other scholarly sources
has an index

Publisher?

university press
scholarly publisher

Language?

uses terminology of the discipline
is written for other scholars / students

You are looking for academic / reliable books for your research essay. Which of the following items would be acceptable?

Pick one of the following

1. Failed states and fragile societies : a new world disorder?: 1 votes (8.33%)

2. Damned nations : greed, guns, armies, and aid: 0 votes (0%)

3. Women, peace and security : the Canadian NGO experience: 2 votes (16.67%)

#1 and #2: 3 votes (25%)

#1 and #3: 3 votes (25%)

All items: 3 votes (25%)

Total Votes: 12

What is a "Primary Source"?

Primary sources are original materials. They are first-hand accounts from the time period involved and may include such things as:

diaries, letters, photographs, art, maps, original video, film or sound recordings, interviews, or newspaper articles.

How to read and evaluate a primary source

Why study history through primary sources?

Secondary sources are created after the fact by individuals or groups who did not witness the events being discussed. They interpret, report, or correlate subjects based on their study of primary material. It is inevitable that we all interpret events of the past through the lens of our own experience, but reputable scholars attempt to minimize subjectivity.

How do I find 'Primary Sources' in the Library catalogue?

In the Library Catalogue use keywords that describe your topic together with any of the following subject headings:

Autobiography / Autobiographies
Correspondence
Diary / Diaries
Interview / Interviews
Journal
Letter / Letters
Personal narratives
Public opinion
Sources
Speech / Speeches

Examples:

Request Books from other Libraries

Find resources at other libraries.

KPU Library

Political Science

Political Science Liaison Librarian

New Library Books

Find Books @ KPU Library

What is a "Primary Source"?

How do I find 'Primary Sources' in the Library catalogue?

Request Books from other Libraries