LibGuides: Creative Writing: Welcome

New Books

Telling Stories

Telling Stories is intended for anyone interested in thinking more about the elements of storytelling in short stories, novels, and memoirs.

The writing moment : a practical guide to creating poems

This first-of-its-kind volume on flash fiction-prose of no more than 1,000 words-tracks the development and critical context of this international literary genre. Essays look at both prominent forebearers and current practitioners including Kate Chopin, Franz Kafka, Julio Cortazar, Amy Hempel, and Lydia Davis.

The Princeton Handbook of World Poetries

The Princeton Handbook of World Poetries provides a comprehensive and authoritative survey of the history and practice of poetry in more than 100 major regional, national, and diasporic literatures and language traditions around the globe.

Into the Woods

The idea of Into the Woods is not to supplant works by Aristotle, Lajos Egri, Robert McKee, David Mamet, or any other writers of guides for screenwriters and playwrights, but to pick up on their cues and take the reader on a historical, philosophical, scientific, and psychological journey to the heart of all storytelling. In this exciting and wholly original book,

Selected Creative Writing Books

General Books on Writing

Canadian Writer's Market REF PN 161 C35 2013 Langley, Richmond, Surrey
Three genres : the writing of literary prose, poems, and plays PN 145 M5 2012 (S,R)
Key concepts in creative writing PN 145 M545 2010 (S)
Story Matters: Contemporary Short Story Writers Share the Creative Process PN 3373 S68 2006
Writer's Journey: Mythic Structure for Storytellers and Screenwriters PN 1996 V64 1999
Elements of Fiction Writing series
Write Great Fiction series. Various call numbers
Open roads : exercises in writing poetry PE 1413 T448 2005
From language to creative writing : an introduction PE 1408 S4538 2013 (S)
The Artful Edit: On the Practice of Editing Yourself PN 162 B44 2008

Poetry Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

The Princeton Handbook of World Poetries online and print PN 1021 P76 2017 Surrey
Dictionary of Poetic Terms PN 1042 M93 2003 R,S,L
Poetry Handbook: a dictionary of terms PN 44.5 D4 1974 R, S, L
The Princeton encyclopedia of poetry and poetics - ebook
The Princeton handbook of multicultural poetries PN 1021 N392 1996 R,S
The Cambridge introduction to British poetry, 1945-2010 PR 601 F35 2015 Surrey
Old English poetry : an anthology PR 1508 O43 2014 Surrey
Encyclopedia of American poetry. The twentieth century PS 323.5 E53 2001 R,S,L

You can find more books through our Library Catalogue by searching the subject terms. See examples below:

Canadian Poetry	Canadian Poetry - British Columbia
Creative writing	Editing (Writing)
English language - Rhetoric	English language - Style
Feature writing	Fiction - technique
Motion picture authorship	Playwriting
Poetics - technique of poetry	Poetry collections
Short story technique	Short Stories – collection of stories
Canadian Short Stories

PE 1408: Writing (grammar, style, some books on creative writing
PE 1591 - 3235: Thesauri and dictionaries
PN 1996: Screenwriting
PN 3355 - 3383: Authorship, technique (creative writing)
PN 4775 - 4784: Journalism, technique
PN 6099 - 6120.95: General anthologies of poetry, drama, and fiction

KPU Library

Creative Writing

Subject Guide