Creative Writing

Research Databases

• Literature Resource Centre - Scholarly articles and encyclopedia entries on all genres of literature
• JSTOR - Scholarly articles from all subject areas.
• Project Muse - Scholarly journal articles from a variety of humanities disciplines.
• Cambridge Journals Online - Scholarly articles across a variety of disciplines.

Sample searches using Summon or Databases:

• fairytales and revisionist
• fairytales revision
• "Grimm Brothers" and revision and "fairy tales"
• ""revisionist fairy tales"
• "Beauty and the Beast" and revision

• Internet Classics Archive

  The more famous and some lesser known authors of Greek and Roman literature.
• Internet Public Library

  Links to many online book collections.
• Perseus Digital Library
• Department of the Classics, Tufts University. An evolving digital library whose primary goal is to bring a wide range of source materials to as large an audience as possible.
• Project Gutenberg

  Major collection of online books.
• World eBook Library

  The World eBook Library Foundation is a global coordinated effort to preserve and disseminate classic works of literature, serials, bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference works in a number of languages and countries around the world. The consortia provides both free and enhanced membership accesses.

• Andrew Lang's Fairy Books
  Andrew Lang known primarily as a historian, literary critic, and translator collected and adapted dozens of fairy tales in a veritable rainbow of books between 1889 and1907. While the bulk of Lang's output was for adults, his interest in fairy tales and other childhood mythologies represents an important strain in Victorian thought, in which fantasy and imagination were recognized as important seats of learning and education.
• SurLaLune Fairy Tales

  Features 49 annotated fairy tales, including their histories, similar tales across cultures, modern interpretations and over 1,500 illustrations. Also discover over 1,600 folktales & fairy tales from around the world in more than 40 full-text eBooks.

Books

• Hindu Mythology books in the Library
• Hindu tales - a range of ebooks on Hindu tales as well as original works published in Project Gutenberg
• CREDO - access to 800+ multidisciplinary online encyclopedias via Library

Journal Articles

Library is providing a number of online research databases to the KPU community free of charge. See a selection of the recommended databases:

• JSTOR
• Project Muse
• Literature Resource Center

Books

• Japanese Folklore books in the Library

Journal Articles

• A selection of academic journal articles in the Library databases can be found here

Books

• Filipino Folk Tales e-book Compiled and Annotated by Mabel Cook Cole and  Fay-Cooper Cole.

Journal Articles

• A selection of academic articles on Filipino folklore can be found here

Household Stories by the Brothers Grimm by Jacob Grimm and Wilhelm Grimm - free online original edition in Project Gutenberg

5 Ways Grimm's Fairy Tales Changed After the First Edition - a journal article

Grimm Brothers home page - compiled by D. I. Ashliman

Hansel and Gretel - resources

Hans Christian Andersen books - original editions in project Gutenberg

British Library Hans Christian page

Hans Christian Andersen Museum

Hans Christian Andersen online - The website for The Royal Library in Copenhagen includes a section on Hans Christian Andersen.

Charles Perrault - French poet and writer Charles Perrault was born on January 12, 1628, in Paris, France. Though he began his career as a lawyer in charge of royal buildings, by around 1660, Perrault had earned a positive reputation for his poetry. In 1671, he worked in the Académie Française, and played a prominent role in a literary controversy known as the dispute between the Ancients and Moderns. Perrault is perhaps best known for his Mother Goose fairy stories, including Little Red Riding Hood and Puss in Boots, which he wrote for his children. Perrault died on May 16, 1703, in Paris, France.(from the Biography page)

Charles Perrault's Mother Goose Tales - D.I. Ashliman page

Books by Perrault - free online books available in Project Guttenberg

Jacobs is the author of Goldilocks and the Three Bears and Jack and the Beanstalk, among other stories.

Joseph Jacobs' stories websites:

• Authorama: English Fairy Tales
• Sacred-texts: English Fairy Tales
• SurLaLune: Fairy Tales of Joseph Jacobs
• The Baldwin Project: English Fairy Tales