Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Creative Writing

Poetic Forms and Techniques

The following Library Research Databases are recommended for your poetic forms research:

  • Literature Resource Centre - Full-text scholarly articles and encyclopedic essays on all genres of literature.
  • JSTOR - Searchable archive of full text scholarly journals in all subject areas.
  • Project Muse - Peer reviewed titles from scholarly presses and societies from a variety of humanities disciplines.
  • MLA International Bibliography - Scholarly articles across the fields of literature and linguistics. Also searches book and thesis content.

What is a scholarly journal?

Scholarly journals differ from popular magazines and trade journals/magazines in a number of ways. (See "Comparison Chart" on our site.) Scholarly articles are written by researchers or professors (experts in a certain field), and they often report an original research or experiment results. Before they are published, these articles go through a peer review process by which an author's peers, recognized researchers in the field, read and evaluate a paper (article) submitted for publication and recommend whether the paper should be published, revised, or rejected.

Scholarly journal videos and interactive guides:

MLA Style Center - contains helpful information on all aspects of MLA style

The core elements of any entry in the Works Cited list are shown in the chart below. The core elements are in the order in which they should appear, followed by the appropriate punctuation mark. If an element cannot be found or does not apply to the source being cited, omit that element from the entry. End the entry with a period.

MLA Works Cited Core Elements

Entries in the MLA Works Cited are based on nine core elements. The elements appear in the order and with the punctuation marks shown in the image to the left.

If an element cannot be found or does not apply to the source being cited, omit that element from the entry.

 

Image credit: What’s New in the Eighth Edition. Modern Language Association, 2016, www.mla.org/MLA-Style/What-s-New-in-the-Eighth-Edition.

 

 

Book and eBook  sample citations

Smith, James R. Don't Wake Me Up: Sleep Deprivation in the 21st Century. Oxford UP, 2015.

Smith, Albert, et al. Tech Stress: The Digital Age and the Decline of Mental Wellness. Pearson, 2015.

McLeod, Kevin, and Deborah Kaine. Macroeconomics and the Future of North America. HarperCollins Publishers, 2014,

           www.harpercollins.com/macroeconna

*** If a work has more than two authors, use the first author's name that appears followed by a comma and "et al."

Article from a Library Database sample citation

Chan, Evan, et al. "Postmodernism and Hong King Cinema." Postmodern Culture, vol.10 no. 3, 2012, pp. 44-78. EbscoHost, doi:10.1345/acd.2003.0087.