Skip to main content

Special Collections

Newspapers

KPU Special Collections has a large collection of newspapers, primarily on 35mm wide microfilm. Our collection consists of 13 local newspaper titles, with dates ranging from 1849 - 2012. 

Indexing may be available where noted below, but please note the level and coverage of indexing varies depending on resources available.

Where possible, we have also noted where else you can access the title in the KPU collection.

This newspaper collection is free to browse and users have access to our microfilm reader, with self-serve instructions on its use. 

Please note, the Vancouver Sun is housed at Richmond Campus Library. The rest of the collection is located in Special Collections at Surrey Campus Library.

You may also want to consult our Journal Search to browse our collection for your title. 

Special Collections newspaper indexes

B.C. Legislative Library newspaper clipping index. 10 microfilm reels. 

  • Consists of index cards with news articles from the Vancouver sun, the Province, and the Times-colonist.

British Columbia Provincial Library newspaper index, 1900-1970. 65 microfilm reels; 16 mm. 

  • Index includes: Vancouver Province, Vancouver Sun, Victoria Daily Colonist, Victoria Daily Times.

British Columbia Provincial Library newspaper index, 1971-1980. 36 microfilm reels; 16 mm. 

  • Index includes: Daily Colonist, Times-Colonist, Vancouver Province, Vancouver Sun, Victoria Colonist, Victoria Times.

 

Newspaper indexes external to Special Collections

BC newspaper index. Online access.

  • Selectively indexes stories in the Victoria Times-Colonist, Vancouver Sun, and The Province, with special emphasis on stories of social, political, and economic interest to British Columbia.

Burnaby Broadcast

Description: Microfilm, 35mm wide

Arrangement: Chronological

Microfilm available: 26 May 1926 - February 1935

Catalogue Record

Daily Colonist (Victoria, B.C.)

Description: Microfilm, 35mm wide

Arrangement: Chronological

Location: Special Collections, Arbutus 1040

Microfilm available: 11 December 1858 - December 1945

Catalogue Record

Indexes available at KPU (Selection and level of indexing varies):

Holdings outside of Special Collections

The British Colonist

Financial Post

Description: Microfilm, 35mm wide

Arrangement: Chronological

Location: Special Collections, Arbutus 1040

Microfilm available: January 1960 - 30 December/1 January 1995/96

Catalogue Record

KPU Holdings outside of Special Collections

Journal Search: Financial Post

Globe and Mail

Description: Microfilm, 35mm wide

Arrangement: Chronological

Location: Special Collections, Arbutus 1040

Microfilm available: January 1849 - Present (roughly 6 months, check catalogue record)

Catalogue Record

KPU Holdings outside of Special Collections

Journal search: Globe and Mail

Langley Advance

Description: Microfilm, 35mm wide

Arrangement: Chronological

Location: Special Collections, Arbutus 1040

Microfilm available: July 1931 - December 1977

Catalogue Record

 

KPU holdings outside of Special Collections: 

Journal Search: Langley Advance

Leader (Surrey, B.C.)

Description: Microfilm, 35mm wide

Arrangement: Chronological, filed as Surrey Leader

Microfilm available: 17 July 1929 - 30 September 2006

Catalogue Record

KPU holdings outside of Special Collections: 

Surrey Now-Leader.

Mainland Guardian (New Westminster, B.C.)

Description: Microfilm, 35mm wide

Arrangement: Chronological

Location: Special Collections, Arbutus 1040

Microfilm available: 31 August 1870 - 21 August 1889

Catalogue Record

National Post

Description: Microfilm, 35mm wide

Arrangement: Chronological

Location: Special Collections, Arbutus 1040

Microfilm available: 27 October 1998 - 31 December 2012

Catalogue Record

KPU holdings outside of Special Collections:

Journal Search: National Post

Province (Vancouver, B.C.)

Description: Microfilm, 35mm wide

Arrangement: Chronological

Location: Special Collections, Arbutus 1040

Microfilm available: March 1894 - 31 December 1986. Not published 6 June - 21 July, 1986.

Catalogue Record

Indexes available at KPU (Selection and level of indexing varies)

KPU holdings outside of Special Collections:

Journal search: Province

New Westminster Columbian

Description: Microfilm, 35mm wide

Arrangement: Chronological, shelved under 'The Columbian'

Location: Special Collections, Arbutus 1040

Microfilm available: 13 February 1861 - 15 November 1983

Catalogue Record

Indexes available at KPU (Selection and level of indexing varies):

Richmond Review

Description: Microfilm, 35mm wide

Arrangement: Chronological

Microfilm available: April 1932 - 31 December 1986

Catalogue Record

KPU holdings outside of Special Collections

Journal search: Review (Richmond)

Surrey Gazette

Description: Microfilm, 35mm wide

Arrangement: Chronological

Microfilm available: March 1917 - October 1929

Catalogue Record

Vancouver News Herald

Description: Microfilm, 35mm wide

Arrangement: Chronological

Location: Special Collections, Arbutus 1040

Microfilm available: April 1933 - March 1957

Catalogue Record

Vancouver Sun

Description: Microfilm, 35mm wide

Arrangement: Chronological

Location: Richmond Campus Library, open computer area.  

Microfilm available: Intermittent coverage: Jan 1, 1914 - 1919, 1939-2012 

Catalogue Record