Skip to main content

Special Collections

Access

Special Collections is located at Surrey Campus Library, Arbutus Building, Room 1040.

No appointments to view the collection is usually necessary, but we ask visitors to sign in a the Service Desk and create a free library account.  I.D. requirements can be viewed at Visitors & Community Borrowers. Visitors can use the material within the special collections room. Material is not permitted to leave the library. 

There are as select number of rare items that may require appointments to view. You may inquire ahead of time using the form on Ask A Librarian.

To access the collection, please ask library staff at the Service Desk to retrieve material. Material used will be noted by library staff and checked out on your account for the duration of your use.

Some of our collection is housed in a staff-only area. To access specific items, please inquire at the service desk and a library staff member will retrieve the item for you.

Handling

As many of the items in this collection are unique or fragile, we ask our visitors to take particular care when handling material. No food and drink is permitted. 

Conditions of Access

Photography of material is generally allowed, as long as users adhere to Fair Dealing guidelines

Reproduction may be refused due to donor restrictions, the physical condition of material or copyright law.

If you have a question about accessing a specific item, please contact us. 

Available technology

There is a ScanPro 1000 Microform Scanner located in the Special Collections room with a step-by-step guide on its use.

Visitors are welcome to browse our newspaper collection using the reader.

Visitors have the ability to scan and save images from the scanner and email, save to USB, and print their images. 

Attached to the microform scanner is a computer with internet access.