Skip to main content

Special Collections

Special Collections Libguide

Welcome

Welcome to the Special Collections Libguide

Overview

The primary purpose of KPU Library's Special Collections is to support teaching and research within the University and the community. The collection comprises of rare, valuable, fragile or unique items which require special handling or care to assure their long-term availability. Items gathered in this collection have significant research value.

Location

Special Collections is located on the 1st floor at Surrey Campus Library, Arbutus Building, Room 1040.  The room is directly across from our Service Desk, beside the computer lab.

Hours

Access to Special Collections is available during Surrey Campus Library operational hours. Please visit Library Hours & Locations for up to date information on our hours of operation, as it varies throughout the year. 

 

Use Restrictions

Use of the Collection: General Rules

  • Collections are for research use by faculty, staff, students and visiting scholars
  • Material must be used in the Special Collections room
  • Material is not eligible for interlibrary loan
  • Eating and drinking are prohibited while using Special Collections material

Collection Highlights

Leonardo da Vinci, 1452-1519: the complete paintings and drawings

Author: Zöllner, Frank.
Publication Information: Köln : Los Angeles : Taschen, [2003].
Physical Description: 695 pages : illustrations (some color), portraits ; 45 cm
General Note: Translated from German..
Subject Term
Painters -- Italy -- Biography.
Leonardo, da Vinci, 1452-1519.
Leonardo, da Vinci, 1452-1519 -- Catalogues raisonnés.

See more...

Les arts au moyen age et a l'époque de la renaissance

Publication Information: Paris : Librairie de Firmin Didot Frères, fils et cie, 1873.
Edition: 4. éd.
Physical Description: 548 pages, 19 leaves of plates : illus. (some coloured) ; 29 cm
General Note: Some of the colored plates are accompanied by leaf with descriptive letterpress, not included in the paging.
Language: In French.
Subject Term: Art, Medieval; Art, Renaissance.

See more...

Les pamphlets libertins contre Marie Antoinette

Author: Fleischmann, Hector, 1882-1914.
Publication Information: Paris : Les Publications Modernes, [1908?]
Physical Description: 315 pages : illustrations ; 20 cm
General Note: 216 illustrations
Personal Subject: Marie Antoinette, Queen, consort of Louis XVI, King of France, 1755-1793.
Language: In French.

See more...

Atlas of the heavens : atlas coeli 1950.

Author: Bečvář, Antonín, 1901-1965.
Publication Information: Praha : Pub. House of the Czechoslovak Academy of Sciences; Cambridge, Mass., Sky Pub. Corp., [1962].
Edition: 4th enl. ed.
Physical Description: 4 pages, 16 color plates. ;
General Note: Magnitude scale and transparent grid laid in.
Subject Term: Stars -- Catalogs.

See more...