Psychology

CPS (Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties) 

The CPS was created by the Canadian Pharmacists Association and includes detailed information on commonly prescribed drugs and over the counter medication in Canada.

You will also find information about conditions commonly treated with drugs, as well as drug interaction and identification tools, among other resources. 

Which format do you use to cite CPS material in APA style?

Because the information in the CPS database is only available in that database and has information that changes over time you need to include a retrieval date and cite it as an article from a database. There are no DOIs or unique URLs associated with articles in this database, so the URL at the end is the database homepage.

Reference Format: Author. (year, Month date). Title of the entry. Database Name. Retrieved Month date, year from URL of the database homepage

Reference Example: Canadian Pharmacists Association. (2020, May 5). Viagra. CPS database. Retrieved February 8, 2024, from https://cps.pharmacists.ca

In Text Citation Example: (Canadian Pharmacists Association, 2020).

Looking for additional resources? 

Below are links to library catalogue searches for drug books related to psychology.

Tips:

• The subject terms below are also good keywords to use to search for journal articles in databases
• You can also use the library catalogue search box below to search for something more specific, like a drug or class of drugs (cocaine, opiates, etc.)

• Hallucinogenic drugs 

   

• Psychotropic drugs 

   

• Brain -- effect of drugs on 

   

• Neuropsychopharmacology 

   

• Psychopharmacology