LibGuides: Nursing: Drugs

Best Best: RxTx Database

This database was created by the Canadian Pharmacists Association and includes detailed information on commonly prescribed drugs and over the counter medication in Canada.

The database also includes information about conditions commonly treated with drugs, as well as drug interaction and identification tools, among other resources.

New to RxTx? You may want to watch this Basic Search video.

Find links to an Advanced Search video and other drug resources through the other tabs in this box.

RxTx This link opens in a new window
Access to the Compendium of Pharmaceutical Specialties (CPS) as well as additional content.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
RxTx App Information This link opens in a new window
Information on registering for the RxTx app, to access the Compendium of Pharmaceutical Specialties (CPS) from your device.
Restricted to current KPU students and employees.

RxTx Database: Advanced Search video

This video assumes you've watched the Basic Search video, and focuses on:

search tips
product identification tool
drug interaction tool
body calculation tool

RxTx This link opens in a new window
Access to the Compendium of Pharmaceutical Specialties (CPS) as well as additional content.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

Which format do you use to cite RxTx material in APA style?

Because RxTx is both a database and a reference work, there are two ways you can choose to cite articles retrieved from RxTx using the APA citation style.

We recommend citing the information as an article from a database; this approach is more straight forward.

Reference Format: Author. (year, Month date). Title of the entry. Database Name. Retrieved Month date, year from URL of the database homepage

Reference Example: Canadian Pharmacists Association. (2018, September 18). Viagra. RxTx database. Retrieved May 14, 2020 from https://www.myrxtx.ca

In Text Citation Example: (Canadian Pharmacists Association, 2018)

Best Bet: Davis's Canadian drug guide for nurses

The print version is Canadian
The ebook is the American version, but it also includes Canadian content ("..an appendix comparing Canadian and US pharmaceutical practices, more Canada-only items in the Combination Drugs appendix and you will see a Maple Leaf icon beside Canadian brand name entries")

The Library also carries both print & ebook versions of Mosby's Canadian Nursing Drug Reference

For ebooks enter your KPU login to read them off campus
For print books login through the Place Hold button to request an item & the Library will email you when it is ready for pick up

See more options below for other nursing related drug books in the Library collection.

Drug Dosage Calculation Study & Practice Resources
This online companion to the print book "Passing Calculations Tests in Nursing" offers over 500 practice questions, flash cards and information resources.
Institute for Safe Medication Practices
Includes safe drug use resources for both health professionals and the general public
Recalls & safety alerts
Product recall/safety notices from the federal government, including food & health products
BC Drug and Poison Information Centre
Information on safe drug therapy and poison control
Drug Shortages Canada
Reports on drug discontinuations and shortages in Canada
Licensed Natural Health Products Database
Government database of natural health products licensed in Canada, including supplements and herb/plant based remedies.
National Presecription Drug Utilization Information Systems
Reports on drug use and costs in Canada, from the Canadian Institute for Health Information
National Drug Expenditure Trends
From the Canadian Institute for Health Information, this summarizes annual health expenditures back to 1975
Clinical Trials
Though this is an American database, it includes pending and completed clinical trials of new drug therapies from all over the world.
MedlinePlus Herbs & Suppliments
Medline Plus provides evidence based consumer health information and is maintained by the American National Library of Medicine

Not finding what you need?

From our Ask Us page you can:

Visit the one of the Library's Research Help desks in person
Email a Librarian
Text a Librarian
Chat Live with a Librarian
Book a virtual or in-person appointment with a subject specialist librarian (like me! :-)
Phone the Library

Library employees are monitoring the queues above and will respond to you as soon as possible.

KPU Library

Nursing