LibGuides: Nursing: NCLEX

Best Bet: PrepStep

This database includes study material for many standardized tests.

To find practice tests, ebooks and study flash cards for the NCLEX-RN exam, click on:

Career Preparation
Prepare for Nursing Exams

You will see links to different material in the Prepare for the NCLEX-RN section.

A couple of things to keep in mind:

the Library subscribes to PrepStep, so you'll need to use your KPU login to access it off campus
unlike most other library databases, you will also have to create your own account within PrepStep to access the material (this account will allow you to track your performance on practice tests)
PrepStep is an American database, so you will encounter a few study material questions that are specific to the United States

How to Access NCLEX-RN Resources in the PrepStep Database
Step by step instructions with screenshots.

PrepSTEP This link opens in a new window
PrepSTEP provides practice tests and other learning support materials for standardized tests such as NCLEX, IELTS, TOEFL, LSAT, MCAT, GRE, and the RCMP Aptitude Test.

Creating a PrepStep account is required to access the practice tests.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

NCLEX-RN prep books available to borrow at the Library

Most of the print books are located at our Langley campus library. You can come to the library and retrieve the books yourself. Or, if you see any items of interest:

login through the Place Hold button
select the campus library where you want to pick up the items
the Library will email you when the books are ready for you

For ebooks you will need to enter your KPU login information to access the full-text off campus. A few of the e-resources that come up in this search link to the PrepSTEP database. If you access those PrepSTEP e-resources, you'll also need to create/login to your personal PrepSTEP account after logging in with your KPU login.

NCLEX Exam Preparation Resources
From the Canadian Nurses Association
NCLEX-RN Resources from Merlot
Merlot is a large repository of learning materials. This is a search for NCLEX resources, which includes quizzes, drills, study guides and other prep resources. You can use the "Material Type" filter on the left to just look at a particular type of resource. Just a warning - all the materials here should be Open/free, but I have run across the occasional commercial resource that sneaks in.
NCSBN Test Preparation Page
Several resources here for exam candidates. You may need to register (name/email) to access some of these resources.
NCLEX FAQs page
Answers the most frequently asked questions NCSBN receives about the NCLEX.

Google searches will also bring up more free resources, but you may need to create an account to get access to this material. If you do search on the open web be sure to note which person or organization created the content, and assess whether it is a reliable source.

Not finding what you need?

From our Ask Us page you can:

Visit the one of the Library's Research Help desks in person
Email a Librarian
Text a Librarian
Chat Live with a Librarian
Book a virtual or in-person appointment with a subject specialist librarian (like me! :-)
Phone the Library

Library employees are monitoring the queues above and will respond to you as soon as possible.

Go to the Ask Us page

KPU Library

Nursing

Best Bet: PrepStep