- Borrowing
You are now on the Library's Geography Research Guide. The grey tabs in this Guide will take you to different pages detailing different information resources to help you find what you need for various Geography class assignments you may have. If you ever can't find what you need, there are many ways to reach out for help.
The page of the Guide you are on now is an asynchronous Library class you can work through at your own pace. If your instructor has included this as an assignment, near the bottom you will find a box with tabs for various instructors. Click on the tab for your instructor to access the Library assignment you will need to complete and submit.
Each box on this class page covers a different topic to learn. Each of these boxes also has one or more tabs/links running along the top of the box which will take you to additional information or optional exercises related to that topic.
As you scroll down and read, watch and/or listen through the information in the boxes below, you will learn:
Ready to get started? Scroll down and begin!
In all the videos on this page, the bottom tool bar of the video will give you the options to:
Embedded screenshots can be explored by clicking on:
question mark icons on the screen shot to find more information and search tips
the full screen icon in the top right of the screenshot will increase the size to fill your laptop/computer screenOnce researchers complete a project, they will usually (try to) publish their findings in a peer-reviewed journal. These are often called PRIMARY or ORIGINAL research articles because they are the first-publication of new research findings and are written by the researchers themselves. They may also be called EMPIRICAL articles.
OPTIONAL: Watch a 20-min more in-depth video by our Criminology librarian - Original Research Articles
Secondary sources of information describe, explain, interpret or summarize primary sources. These include summaries, literature reviews, article/book reviews, commentaries, and any books or journal articles that simply discuss the original (previously-published) work of others. Although these can be very helpful sources for identifying primary research articles, they are not primary studies themselves.
Reference materials that index, organize, and compile other sources. Their chief purpose is to list, summarize or simply repackage ideas or other information. Tertiary sources are usually not credited to a particular author. For example, encyclopedias, bibliographies or handbooks.
Finished with Sources of Information? Scroll back up to the top of this box and click on Scholarly Articles.
Scholarly journals (often called "academic" or "peer-reviewed") differ from popular magazines and trade journals/magazines in a number of ways. Scholarly articles are written by researchers or professors (experts in a field), and they often report an original research or experiment results. Before they are published, these articles go through a peer review process by which an author's peers, recognized researchers in the field, read and evaluate a paper (article) submitted for publication and recommend whether the paper should be published, revised, or rejected.
Watch this 4 minute video by our Business Librarian for an introduction to Scholarly Journal Articles:
This comparison chart compares different journals and how to tell whether they are scholarly (Journal Comparison PDF). Scholarly articles will only be found in scholarly journals.
Below is an example of a scholarly research article. It is an original, empirical study in the field of education. Click on the question marks to read about its identifying features.
Before you move on to the next section, review to see whether you understand the concepts. This activity is not graded.
Finished with Scholarly Articles? Scroll back up to the top of this box and click on Grey Literature.
Grey Literature is information published outside the usual streams of academic publishing, but may still contain valuable, high-quality information.
Examples include reports, research or working papers from:
In addition to traditional report/research articles, you can also find thesis and dissertations, audits, standards, regulations, professional guidelines and benchmarks, summaries of clinical trials or other research, surveys, policy & procedure documentation and conference proceedings.
Watch this 2min video to learn more:
Since Grey Literature is produced outside of traditional commercial publishing and distribution channels, it can be very useful in your studies. For geography students, grey literature can contain:
By incorporating grey literature into your research, you can gain a more comprehensive understanding of geographical topics and access a wealth of information that might otherwise be overlooked.
Before you move on to the next section, review to see whether you understand the concept. This activity is not graded.
Finished with Grey Literature? Scroll down to begin the section on Searching the Library
Summon is a quick way to search most of the Library's collection at once.
This 5 minute video by our Business Librarian will show you the basics of how to search using Summon along with some search strategies.
In the image below, click on the Question Mark icons to explore the Summon search results page. Click the box in the top right corner to make the image fullscreen.
Before you move on to the next section, review to see whether you understand the concepts. This activity is not graded.
Finished with Summon? Scroll back up to the top of this box and click on ScienceDirect.
Summon is a great tool, but if you want to focus your search right from the start, then searching directly in a library database is the way to go and ScienceDirect is a great option to start with.
This 5 minute video by our Science & Horticulture Librarian will show you the basics of how to search in ScienceDirect.
Finished with ScienceDirect? Scroll back up to the top of this box and click on Search Strategies.
Databases don't like natural language (whole sentences or questions).
Decide on the keywords or phrases that best describe your topic and enter these different terms into separate search boxes.
Make sure to include quotation marks around any phrases (eg. "climate change strategy") if you only want the database to give you results where those are right beside each other.
This approach is called keyword searching. Unlike the kind of searching we do in our everyday lives, REsearching for a class assignment usually requires you do several different searches to find the best articles, so don't be discouraged if you don't find what you need with one search.
Not sure if you're using the best words? Spend some time thinking of other ways to say the same thing and try different word/phrase combinations in your searches. You can also search Google using "syn:" and the word you want to find synonyms for (other words that mean the same thing, or something similar). Or you can try Subject searching (see section below) and let the database give you the best words to use.
When using multiple search words or phrases, you can use Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT) to tell the search engine or database whether to include or eliminate certain terms. Use them to either broaden or narrow your search.
Using AND will return search results where both words/phrases appear. This will narrow your search.
E.g. "climate change" AND policy
Using OR will return search results that contain either words/phrases. This will broaden your search.
E.g. "climate change" OR "global warming"
Using NOT will return search results that do not contain that word/phrase. This will narrow your search.
E.g. "climate change" NOT denial
Finished with Search Strategies? Scroll back up to the top of this box and click on Filters and Features.
All research databases, including Summon, provide filters to help narrow down your search results. These are usually located on the left side of your screen.
At the top of the filters list in Summon you'll see options to limit your results to Scholarly & Peer-Reviewed Articles & Full Text Online. If you scroll down the filters you'll find many more factors you can narrow your search with. Many databases contain original research articles as well as reviews of articles and papers.
This filter allows you to limit your search results to publications within a specific time frame, such as the past year, the last five years, or a custom date range. This filter helps you find the most recent research, ensuring that your information is up-to-date. It can also be used to find historical perspectives on a topic, which can be valuable for understanding how research has evolved over time.
This filter shows only those items that have the full text available online, either through your library's subscriptions or open access. It ensures that you can access the complete document immediately, which is particularly helpful when you need quick access to resources for assignments and projects. This saves time and avoids the frustration of finding a perfect source only to realize you can't access it.
This filter narrows down your search results to include only scholarly articles that have been reviewed by experts in the field before publication. Peer-reviewed articles are considered more credible and reliable because they have undergone a rigorous review process. Using this filter helps ensure that the sources you cite in your research are of high academic quality.
This filter allows you to focus your search on literature relevant to a specific subject or academic discipline, such as geography, biology, or sociology. It helps you narrow down your search to articles and books that are written from the perspective of your discipline. This is particularly useful when you are dealing with topics that are covered in many different disciplines.
This filter allows you to refine your search results based on specific keywords or subject terms that are relevant to your research topic. It helps you hone in on the most relevant articles by ensuring that your search results are closely aligned with your research topic. This can significantly improve the efficiency and effectiveness of your research process.
Most research databases, including Summon, provide these basic features to help assist the research process. The screenshots below are from a Summon search, specific icons and locations to find these features will vary between research databases.
This feature allows you to preview the content of an item without leaving the search results page. It saves time by letting you quickly view the articleAbstract (a brief description of what the article is about). This is usually enough information for you to judge if it is worth your time to look more closely at the full-text.
This feature allows you to save citations to a folder for the current session or to a specified cloud drive for future sessions. It helps you keep track of important resources during your research process, ensuring you don't lose valuable information.
Once you have saved items, yon can view them all by clicking the same icon at the top of the screen.
Your saved items will disappear after you close your current session, so make sure to use the email button to email the list to yourself so that you can access them later.
This feature provides a permanent link to a specific item in the database. It ensures you can easily share and revisit the exact resource without worrying about broken links or changes in the database structure. In your reference lists/bibliographies, make sure you are including the permalink and not the URL from your browser.
This feature generates citations for items in various citation styles, such as APA, MLA, and Chicago. It simplifies the process of creating citations, saving you time and ensuring you adhere to proper citation standards.
Note: these citations are auto-generated and sometimes contain errors. Always double-check the citation before using it.
AskAway is a virtual reference service that connects students, faculty, and staff with librarians for real-time assistance. Embedded directly into the search window, the AskAway box allows users to chat with a librarian for help with research tasks, such as finding books or journal articles, citing sources, and navigating databases.
Simply type your question into the AskAway box to begin a chat session with a librarian.
Finished with Filters and Features? Scroll down to the next section on Finding Grey Literature.
Some grey literature will appear in library databases, but as it is outside of traditional publishing structures, you may need to search outside of the library. Think about who might be interested in gathering information on your particular topic, and what words may appear in their websites or documentation.
Find: government reports, policy papers, white papers, statistical data, environmental impact assessments, etc.
Search the websites of relevant government agencies, NGOs, and research institutions. Look for sections of the website labeled "Publications," "Reports," or "Library."
Example: For research on climate change policies in Canada, you might explore the Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC) website to find reports and policy papers on climate initiatives and regulations.
Find: government documents, policy reports, white papers, technical reports, etc.
Use Google's advanced search options to limit your search. Some Advanced Google Search suggestions:
Example: To find urban planning reports, you could search site:gc.ca urban planning report to access documents from Canadian government agencies involved in urban development.
Find: theses, dissertations, conference papers, technical reports, working papers, etc.
While primarily for academic papers, Google Scholar can also include grey literature. Use specific keywords and filters to narrow down your search.
Example: Searching for "sustainable agriculture thesis" can yield relevant grey literature on sustainable farming practices and their geographical implications.
Find: conference proceedings, technical reports, policy documents, health technology assessments, etc.
Use databases that focus on grey literature, such as OpenGrey, GreyNet, or Policy Commons.
Example: OpenGrey provides access to European grey literature, including conference proceedings on environmental sustainability and geographical information systems (GIS).
Finished with Finding Grey Literature? Scroll down to begin the section on Evaluating Information.
Determining if resources are credible is challenging. Use the SIFT method to help you analyze information, especially various kinds of online content: social media posts, memes, statistics, videos, images, news articles, scholarly articles, etc.
Examples
Another Mike Caulfield creation, this blog focuses on using SIFT during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Verify and fact-check information (e.g. about Covid-19)
The SIFT method was created by Mike Caulfield, a digital literacy expert at Washington State University. All SIFT information on this page is adapted from his materials with a CC BY 4.0 license.
Acknowledgement
Note: This SIFT method guide was adapted from Michael Caulfield's "Check, Please!" course. The canonical version of this course exists at http://lessons.checkplease.cc. The text and media of this site, where possible, is released into the CC-BY, and free for reuse and revision. We ask people copying this course to leave this note intact, so that students and teachers can find their way back to the original (periodically updated) version if necessary. We also ask librarians and reporters to consider linking to the canonical version.
As the authors of the original version have not reviewed any other copy's modifications, the text of any site not arrived at through the above link should not be sourced to the original authors.
Finished with What is SIFT? Scroll up to the top of this box and click on STOP.
Before you read the article or share your video, stop!
Ask yourself:
Finished with STOP? Scroll up to the top of this box and click on Investigate the Source.
This is where you start to answer the questions such as:
Investigating the source does not require you to do in-depth research and analysis. It is a quick check into the expertise and agenda of the online content in question.
Use Google or Wikipedia to investigate a news organization or other resource. Please note, you are not using Wikipedia for information to cite on a research paper. You are simply using Wikipedia as a tool to check the credibility and trustworthiness of the content in question.
Two questions to keep in mind after you "Just add Wikipedia"
Finished with Investigate the Source? Scroll up to the top of this box and click on Find Better Coverage.
Sometimes, after you investigate the source, you'll find that the source is sufficient for your needs. However, this is not always the case. Maybe the quality of the source is low or it doesn’t adequately answer the questions you have.
This is when you would want to find better coverage.
Below is a video (4:28) explaining this process in more detail.
Fact-checkers scan multiple results to try and find the particular result that combines trustworthiness with relevance before they click, often visiting the subsequent pages of search results.
The video below (2:20) released by Stanford History Education Group shows how to find better information online.
A lot of things you encounter online have been stripped of context. This could be due to inaccurate or misleading re-reporting, edited sound and video, images being shared with inaccurate captions, etc.
Below is a video (1:34) on finding the original source.
Here is a video (4:14) on finding original images and verifying caption claims.
Finished with Trace? Scroll down to the next section - an Introduction to APA. Scroll back up to the top of this box for Additional SIFT resources.
This is Mike Caulfield's Blog where he explains SIFT in his own words.
This ebook by Mike Caulfield is freely available online under a CC BY 4.0 license
A free, five-lesson course on fact- and source-checking from Mike Caulfield
APA Style is a set of guidelines created by the American Psychological Association (APA) that details how to format research papers and essays. It is used in many disciplines, including most of the Social Sciences and Business.
APA Style has a lot of rules - but don't worry! Here we are just going to focus on one part of APA: how to cite your sources.
When you are writing an assignment and you are using information from other sources (web pages, books, peer-reviewed articles, textbooks, class lecture, etc.), you must cite all the information sources you used to write your assignment.
In APA there are two types of citations you must use: references and in-text citations. They work together to ensure proper attribution of sources and to help readers locate the original materials.
The reference list at the end of your paper provides full details of all sources cited in the text, allowing readers to locate the original materials. Every source cited in the text must appear in the reference list, and every entry in the reference list must be cited in the text. This ensures consistency and completeness.
In-text citations are brief references within the body of your paper that direct readers to the full citation in the reference list. They are used whenever you paraphrase, quote, or refer to information from another source. They provide immediate context and credit to the original author.
Finished with Learning APA? Scroll up to the top of this box and click on References.
You will always find a References section at the end of a peer-reviewed research article. This is where you list all the reference citations (in alphabetical order) are listed. Reference citations have much more information than the in-text citations, as you must provide enough information for someone reading your work to find all the items you cite in your References.
You have to format Reference citations for different sources in different ways (the formula to follow when citing a book, website, or article are all a little different), but we are going to focus on citing peer-reviewed articles.
The reality is, there are a lot of citation generators out there (as you've learned, Summon will generate APA Reference citations for you) - which can save a lot of time!
So why do you still need to know the format/formula?
Below you will see the basic formula/components of a Reference citation for a research article.
And here is what a reference citation for a real peer-reviewed article looks like following this formula:
Sugiyama, M., Akashi, O., Wada, K., Kanudia, A., Li, J., & Weyant, J. (2014). Energy efficiency potentials for global climate change mitigation. Climatic Change, 123(3-4), 397-411. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10584-013-0874-5
Confused about what some of the components are? These definitions may help:
Still confused? Don't worry, it is kind of like learning a new language. The more citations you see and create, the easier it will get! The formula image above is from the first page of this APA Style handout. You'll find fuller descriptions of each of the sections and formatting there if you want to take a deeper dive.
Finished with References? Scroll up to the top of this box and click on In-text Citations.
The In-text citation is just a much shorter version of the Reference citation within your essay/assignment. Wherever you use an In-text citation, someone reading your paper knows that the information you are citing isn't your original idea. In-text citations also act as a kind of hyperlink - someone reading your paper can use that In-text citation to quickly locate the fuller citation in your References.
Here is an example from the Library's APA Citation Style Guide (bolding and red colour added for emphasis):
In-text citation example from a book:
The speed of human cultural evolution is linked to the turnover rate of cultural entities (Smail, 2008).
The full Reference citation for the book where this information came from:
Smail, D. L. (2008). On deep history and the brain. University of California Press.
So if someone was reading this essay, and saw the (Smail, 2008) In-text citation, they can easily flip/scroll to the References at the end of the essay (which lists all the Reference citations in alphabetical order), go to the "S" section, and quickly find the full citation for the book written by Smail that the person paraphrased. They could then use the information in that more detailed Reference citation to find the book.
There are 2 kinds of In-text citations, but once you get the formula for one kind, the other is easy.
Paraphrasing is when you take information and put it into your own words. The easiest way to write an in-text citation is to just include the complete in-text citation in brackets at the end of your paraphrased sentence (before the period).
Paraphrasing In-Text citations have 2 components: author and year. The format just varies slightly depending on how many authors the book/article/website, etc. has.
You use direct quote in-text citations when you copy exactly from your information source (surrounding that information with "quotation marks") instead of paraphrasing it in your own words.
The only difference between direct quote In-text citations and paraphrasing in-text citations is that the direct quote citations also include a page number where the direct quote was copied from.
Tip: Don't directly quote too much! Sometimes you find information that is worded perfectly and is very powerfully written, so you want to use the original wording for clarity and impact. But many first-year students make the mistake of directly quoting too much because they aren't sure how to paraphrase. Paraphrasing is a writing skill you have to develop as a university student. If you need some help with paraphrasing, you can check out this Paraphrasing and Summarizing handout from the Learning Centre.
Still feeling a bit confused by APA citations? If you ever have APA questions or need help with an assignment, you can take a look at the Library's APA Guide or Ask a Librarian. We can't do the citations for you or proofread your work, but we are happy to answer any APA questions you have.
You have completed this guide - Congratulations!
If your instructor has an assignment associated with this course, scroll down to the Library Assignments box and find your course section.