Library Catalogue Search Tips:
The most typical search in the Library Catalogue is a keyword search. Keywords are everyday terms to describe a topic. A more precise search is by subject. Subject headings are the agreed upon terms designated by the Library of Congress and assigned to each item in the library catalogue.
A Dictionary of Journalism by
A Dictionary of Journalism is an accessible and authoritativequick reference dictionary. It covers over 1,400 wide-ranging entries onthe terms that are likely to be encountered by students of the subject,and aims to offer a broad, accessible point of reference on anever-topical and constantly-changing field that affects everyone'sknowledge and perception of the world. Assuming little or noprior knowledge of the subject, it covers terminology relating to thepractice, business, and technology of journalism, as well as itsconcepts and theories, organizations and institutions, publications,and key events. Related topic areas are covered where they impact on oroffer explanations of journalism: for example in law, where legislationaffects journalistic activity; and where sociological studies seek toaid the understanding of journalism. Appendices include a timeline ofjournalistic developments, contextualising the ever-evolving nature ofjournalism, as well as an index of significant individuals in the field.It is an essential companion to all students taking courses inJournalism and Journalism Studies, as well as related subjects such asCommunications Studies, Media Studies, and Television and RadioProduction.Readership: Journalism andJournalism Studies students;students taking journalism as a subsidiary module or taking a relatedcourse; professional journalists; 'citizen' journalists; academics andresearchers.
A Dictionary of Media and Communication by
Authoritative and wide-ranging, A Dictionary of Media and Communication provides over 2,200 alphabetical entries on key terms used in media and communication, from concepts and theories to technical terms, across subject areas that include advertising, digital culture, journalism, new media, radio studies, and telecommunications. It also covers relevant terminology from related disciplines such as literary theory, semiotics, cultural studies, and philosophy. With many relevant web links accessed via an up-to-date companion webpage, as well as a biographical appendix with web links to key people, this is a valuable resource for media professionals, postgraduates, academics, and researchers and an eminently practical and user-friendly reference for anyone involved in the worlds of media and communication. It will also be indispensable for undergraduate students majoring in media or communication studies, and for those taking related subjects such as film studies, visual culture, and cultural studies.
Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies by
The Watson and Hill dictionary in its 8th edition presents a fresh and comprehensive overview serving all aspect of the study of media and communication. It provides a detailed compendium of the different facets of personal, group, mass media and Internet communication and continues to be a vital source of information for all those interested in how communication affects our lives. The Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies has provided students and the general public alike with a gateway into the study of intercultural communication, public relations and marketing communications since 1984. New entries in this edition explore the profound shifts that have taken place in the world of communication in recent years. The impact of the new online leviathans such as Amazon, Facebook, Google, Twitter and YouTube is measured against the traditional dominance, globally, of the mass media. Other themes include the interesting changes affecting public service broadcasting, the role of advertising and PR, the nature and extent of regulation, the impact of globalisation and the consumerisation of knowledge and culture. This volume seeks to make its twenty-first century readers more media literate, as well as more critical consumers of modern news.
Encyclopedia of Journalism by
2009 Dartmouth Medal Honorable Mention Library Journal Best Reference 2009 "Written in a clear and accessible style that would suit the needs of journalists and scholars alike, this encyclopedia is highly recommended for large news organizations and all schools of journalism." --Starred Review, Library Journal Journalism permeates our lives and shapes our thoughts in ways that we've long taken for granted. Whether it's National Public Radio in the morning or the lead story on the Today show, the morning newspaper headlines, up-to-the-minute Internet news, grocery store tabloids, Time magazine in our mailbox, or the nightly news on television, journalism is woven throughout our day. The six-volume Encyclopedia of Journalism will cover all significant dimensions of journalism including: print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; and history, technology, legal issues and court cases, ownership, and economics. The set will contain approximately 3,000 pages in all and approximately 350 signed entries from scholars, experts, and journalists, under the direction of leading editor Christopher Sterling of The George Washington University.
Encyclopedia of Media and Communication by
The first comprehensive encyclopedia for the growing fields of media and communication studies, the Encyclopedia of Media and Communication is an essential resource for beginners and seasoned academics alike. Contributions from over fifty experts and practitioners provide an accessible introduction to these disciplines' most important concepts, figures, and schools of thought – from Jean Baudrillard to Tim Berners Lee, and podcasting to Peircean semiotics. Detailed and up-to-date, the Encyclopedia of Media and Communication synthesizes a wide array of works and perspectives on the making of meaning. The appendix includes timelines covering the whole historical record for each medium, from either antiquity or their inception to the present day. Each entry also features a bibliography linking readers to relevant resources for further reading. The most coherent treatment yet of these fields, the Encyclopedia of Media and Communication promises to be the standard reference text for the next generation of media and communication students and scholars.
Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media by
This one-volume encyclopedia features around 250 essays on the varied experiences of social movement media over the planet in the 20th and 21st centuries. Thematic essays address selected issues such as human rights media, indigenous peoples' media, and environmentalist media, and on key concepts widely used in the field such as alternative media, citizens' media, and community media. The Encyclopedia engages with all communication media: broadcasting, print, cinema, the Internet, popular song, street theatre, graffiti and dance. The entries are designed to be relatively brief with clear, accessible and current information. Students, researchers, media activists and others interested in this field will find this to be a valuable resource. Recommend this title to your library today! Key Themes Cinema, Television and Video Concept and Topic Overviews Cultural Contestations Feminist Media Gay and Lesbian Media Human Rights Media Independence Movement Media Indigenous Peoples' Media Information Policy Activism Internet Labor Media News Performance Art Media Popular Song Press Radio Social Movement Media Regions
Historical Dictionary of War Journalism 1807-2010 by
Up-to-date through 2010, this edition examines the development, history and current state of war journalism. From the Mexican War in 1846 to the current Conflicts in the Middle East and everything in between, this important reference tool provides a unique, around the world look at how conflicts were covered. Explore the influences of the flow of information on the battlefield and the home front.
The International Encyclopedia of Media Studies by
The International Encyclopedia of Media Studies brings together over 175 critical essays to redraw the boundaries of this rapidly evolving and dynamically complex area. Global in scope, wide-ranging in its inclusion of topics, and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars, this is the definitive resource for the field. Includes more than 175 essays written by over 200 leading and emerging scholars from across the globe Arranged across 6 thematic volumes edited by an international team of expert scholars Accessible volume introductions provide overviews of key themes The most definitive resource available in this complex, heterogeneous, multi-methodological and multi-theoretical interdisciplinary field Explores media as it is being practiced, produced, and analyzed in Asia, Africa, the Americas, Australia, and Europe All volumes pay close attention to issues of gender and ethnicity so necessary to understanding contemporary media Probes the many dimensions of the subject: history, production, content, audiences, effects, and futures
The Penguin Dictionary of Media Studies by
A topic with ever-increasing appeal and scope, Media Studies is attracting more and more higher education students as well as the thousands of practitioners within its various fields. Written by two prominent experts, The Penguin Dictionaries of Media Studies gives the definitive overview of this huge area, covering print, digital and broadcast media, as well as the theories, techinicalites and key figures involved. This new addition to the highly-successful series of Penguin subject dictionaries is comprehensive, authoritative and user-friendly - a must for anyone with an interest in the media and the wider cultural arena.
Call numbers help you locate items in the library. You will always find related books shelved together so understanding call numbers can help you find many resources on the shelves.
Still confused about call numbers? Our guide may help!
If you don't have a particular book in mind, try browsing call number ranges.
Useful call number ranges for Journalism and Communication Studies include:
Please use Google Chrome when playing videos on campus. When using PCs in e-classrooms, videos should be accessible through Internet Explorer.
Please use Google Chrome when playing videos on campus. When using PCs in e-classrooms, videos should be accessible through Internet Explorer.
Please use Google Chrome when playing videos on campus. When using PCs in e-classrooms, videos should be accessible through Internet Explorer.