Hello, Sociology students! I hope that you will find the information on this guide helpful. If you need help with your assignments please contact me directly: Sigrid Kargut; or use one of our other research services: Ask Us
Recent additions to our collection:
The Dating Divide: Race and Desire in the Era of Online Romance
Dying for an iPhone : Apple, Foxconn, and the Lives of China's Workers
How Ten Global Cities Take on Homelessness: Innovations that Work
The Power of Populism and People: Resistance and Protest in the Modern WorldSearch Summon for eBooks only
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
A Dictionary of Sociology by
A consistent best-seller, the wide-ranging and authoritative Dictionary of Sociologywas first published in 1994 and contains more than 2,500 entries on theterminology, methods, concepts, and thinkers in the field, as well asfrom the related fields of psychology, economics, anthropology,philosophy, and political science.For this fourth edition,Professor John Scott has conducted a thorough review of all entries toensure that they are concise, focused, and up to date. Revisions reflectcurrent intellectual debates and social conditions, particularly inrelation to globaland multi-cultural issues. New entries cover relevant contemporaryconcepts, such as climate change, social media, terrorism, and intersectionality, as well as key living sociologists.This Dictionaryis both an invaluable introduction to sociology for beginners, and anessential source of reference for more advanced students and teachers.Readership: Invaluablefor A-level and undergraduate students, lecturers and teachers, andprofessionals; ideal for anyone looking for an introduction tosociology.
Dictionary of Statistics and Methodology by
`Have you ever sat in a meeting/seminar/lecture given by extremely well qualified researchers, well versed in research methodology and wondered "what kind of language are these people using"? Well, W Paul Vogt has the solution to your problem with the publication of the revised and expanded edition of his statistics and methodology dictionary' - Social Research Association News The Third Edition of Paul Vogt's bestselling Dictionary of Statistics and Methodology continues where the Second Edition left off with updated terms and additions. The book aims to provide anyone interested in learning statistics with the sourcebook of simple definitions and explanations of statistical and statistics-related concepts. The majority of terms offer additional references to use if more information is needed on a particular topic. Additionally, many terms are accompanied by graphical material to aid understanding.
Encyclopedia of Social Theory by
The Encyclopedia of Social Theory, two-volume set, is an indispensable reference source for anyone interested in understanding the roots of contemporary social theory. It examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them and presents them in the context needed to understand the strengths and weaknesses of all the key areas of the discipline. These include: -Structural fundamentalism; -Marxist theory; -Critical theory; -Phenomenology; -Ethnomethodology; -Exchange theory; -Rational choice; -Feminism; -Multiculturalism; -Postmodernism. The Encyclopedia of Social Theory draws together a team of international scholars led by the Editor, George Ritzer, one of the most prolific social theorists. This is a benchmark reference tool for understanding the development, achievements and prospects of social theory. Key features and benefits include: -Over 280 entries; -A master bibliography; -A complete Reader's Guide; -Extensive biographical coverage of the major theorists; -Extensive cross-referencing.
The Max Weber Dictionary by
Max Weber is one of the world's most important social scientists, but he is also one of the most notoriously difficult to understand. This revised, updated, and expanded edition of The Max Weber Dictionary reflects up-to-the-moment threads of inquiry and introduces the most recent translations and references. Additionally, the authors include new entries designed to help researchers use Weber's ideas in their own work; they illuminate how Weber himself thought theorizing should occur and how he went about constructing a theory. More than an elementary dictionary, however, this work makes a contribution to the general culture and legacy of Weber's work. In addition to entries on broad topics like religion, law, and the West, the completed German definitive edition of Weber's work (Max Weber Gesamtausgabe) necessitated a wealth of new entries and added information on topics like pragmatism and race and racism. Every entry in the dictionary delves into Weber scholarship and acts as a point of departure for discussion and research. As such, this book will be an invaluable resource to general readers, students, and scholars alike.
Books are shelved in alphabetical and numerical order according to the call number, a combination of letters and numbers on the spine. Books on similar topics will have similar call numbers and be shelved near each other.
Browse the shelves for these Call Number ranges
E (75 -99): First Nations
H: Social Sciences - General
HM: Sociology, Social Psychology
HN: Social History, Social Problems, Social Reform
HQ: Family, Marriage, Children, Adolescents, Women
HT: Urban Sociology, Classes, Racism
HV: Poverty, Welfare, Aged, Handicapped, Crime
Who is the author?
Purpose?
Cited Sources?
Publisher?
Language?
You are looking for academic / scholarly books for your research essay. Which of the following books would be acceptable?
Please use Google Chrome when playing videos on campus. When using PCs in e-classrooms, videos should be accessible through Internet Explorer.
Please use Google Chrome when playing videos on campus. When using PCs in e-classrooms, videos should be accessible through Internet Explorer.
Please use Google Chrome when playing videos on campus. When using PCs in e-classrooms, videos should be accessible through Internet Explorer.
Library Assignments for Kyle Mitchell's SOCI 1125 S14 &15 classes
Library Assignments for Seema Ahluwalia's SOCI 1125 S20, R10, R11 classes
