LibGuides: Sociology: Find Articles

Find Journal, Magazine & Newspaper Articles

Our Research database page offers you access to over 100 databases.

But to start your research, we recommend:

Proquest Sociology Collection
Scholarly articles from sociology and related disciplines. Also searches Sociological Abstracts.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Social Science Database
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
CBCA Complete
Multidisciplinary scholarly and popular articles from Canadian journals and magazines.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Canada Commons: Books and Think Tanks
Canadian scholarly and general ebooks and public policy documents.

Off campus access is restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Academic Search Complete
Large, multidisciplinary article database that is a good starting point for research in many areas.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters
Documents from 1650-1920 that illuminate the experiences of European settlers and indigenous peoples in the frontier regions of North America, Africa, and Australasia.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

Search also:

JSTOR
Scholarly articles from all subject areas.

Most journals have extensive past coverage with access to current articles typically delayed 3-5 years post publication.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

JSTOR Text Analyzer
a new tool recently launched in beta that will find related works based on any document uploaded to JSTOR by its users, also promises to produce results and map connections a typical search may not find.
Sociology Resources on JSTOR

Project MUSE
Scholarly journal articles from a variety of humanities disciplines.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
ScienceDirect
Current scholarly articles from many areas of science and ebooks published from 2017-2021.

Access from 1995 to present.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Retraction Watch Database
Open access database that tracks retractions of scientific articles.

The database only gives me a citation, or just an abstract. How do I find the full text?

The Where Can I Get This link lets you know if the full-text of the article is available:

Online through another library database.
In print by doing a search in the Library Catalogue.
Available via interlibrary loan by making an interlibrary loan request

Not sure if a journal article is scholarly / academic?

Anatomy of a scholarly article

Once you've searched the Library's databases, check Google Scholar for more articles and reports. Use the "Where Can I Get This?" link to take you to articles available through KPU's subscriptions.

Using Google Scholar off campus? Go to "settings", then look for "library links". Add Kwantlen Polytechnic University Library, and your search results will include links to items available through the Library's collection.

Search KPU Newspaper Databases for articles

Canadian Newsstream
Major Canadian newspapers as well as many small-market newspapers.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Global Breaking Newswires
Provides timely access to worldwide newswire content.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
International Newsstream
Provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives that stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
US Newsstream
Current American newspaper and newswire content with archival coverage to the 1980s.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Globe and Mail: ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Complete coverage of The Globe And Mail newspaper from 1844 to three years ago.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Academic Search Complete
Large, multidisciplinary article database that is a good starting point for research in many areas.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
SFU Digitized Newspapers
Open access repository of historical Canadian newspapers.

Find more Canadian & International newspaper & news websites.

Find out if KPU Library subscribes to a particular journal (print or online) by searching the Journal Titles database.

Selected Print & Online Journals

Search Tips: Academic Search Complete

Accessing Databases off Campus

Review the Remote Access page for information