Search the Library Catalogue for books by entering keywords that describe what you are looking for.
Additional Search tips
Combine terms to be more precise using the 'AND' command
e.g. clothing AND smart materials AND Canada
Find synoyms using the 'OR' command
e.g. international OR global
Use single quote marks to match multiple words exactly
e.g. 'protective clothing' (Note: Summon using double quotes)
Use shortcuts to find words with different spellings:
e.g. correction$ will find correction, corrections, and correctional (but not corrective)
Find the library subject terms for your topic
e.g. if you browse by SUBJECT for the keyword Taser (which is a brand name) you'll see that libraries use the term stun guns instead
Call number ranges to get you started:
Call numbers help you locate items in the library. You will always find related books shelved together so understanding call numbers can help you find many resources on the shelves.
Confused about call numbers?
Once you have searched the catalogue and found an item you want, there are two pieces of information you need to know to retrieve it:
You can find more books through the Library Catalogue for books searching under the following subject headings:
Beyond Design: The Synergy of Apparel Product Development by 
Strategic Sourcing - Suppliers are from Mars, Customers are from Venus by The following books from Woodhead Publishing are grouped by publication date range: current-2014, 2013-2009, and 2008-2000.
For the complete list click here
The Impact and Prospects of Green Chemistry for Textile Technology
Waterproof and Water Repellent Textiles and Clothing by 
ONLINE version - Anthropometry, Apparel Sizing and Design by 
Assessing the Environmental Impact of Textiles and the Clothing Supply Chain by 
Clothing for Children and Teenagers : anthropometry, sizing and fit by 
Textile-Led Design for the Active Ageing Population by Publication Dates: 2013-2009
Functional Textiles for Improved Performance, Protection and Health by 
Optimizing Decision Making in the Apparel Supply Chain Using Artificial Intelligence (AI) by Publication Dates: 2008-2000
Biodegradable and Sustainable Fibres by
With increasing concerns regarding the effect the textile industry is having on the environment, more and more textile researchers, producers and manufacturers are looking to biodegradable and sustainable fibres as an effective way of reducing the impact textiles have on the environment. The emphasis in Biodegradable and sustainable fibres is on textiles that are beneficial by their biodegradation and come from sustainable sources. Biodegradable and sustainable fibres opens with a discussion of microbial processes in fibre degradation. It then moves on to discuss the major fibre types, including bast fibres, alginates, cellulose and speciality biodegradable fibres, such as lyocell, poly(lactic acid) and poly(hydroxyalkanoate)s. The development of synthetic silks is covered along with biodegradable natural fibre composites, nonwovens, and geotextiles. The final chapter looks at the history and future of soya bean protein fibres. Biodegradable and sustainable fibres is a comprehensive monograph providing essential reference for anyone interested in the area and environmental issues relating to textiles including fibre and textile scientists and students, textile technologists, manufacturers, and forensic specialists in industry and academia. Indispensable new book on this hot topic Discusses the major fibre types, inlcuding bast fibres Looks at biodegradable and sustainable fibres as an effective way of reducing the harm disposed textiles have on the environment
Clothing Appearance and Fit by
In one fully comprehensive book, Clothing Appearance and Fit: Science and Technology provides a critical examination of the technological developments and scientific understanding of the appearance and fit of clothing. The authors bridge the gap between the science of beauty and fashion design and garment evaluation technology, garment drape, and human anthropometrics and sizing. The authors begin by discussing body attractiveness, how it relates to clothing material and design parameters, and classical and contemporary theories of beauty. They present the industry's techniques, methods, and standards for assessing clothing appearance and fit and review the research and development of objective measurement technologies for evaluating clothing appearance and fit. The book includes coverage of fabric objective measurement, fabric properties and garment drape, the R & D of body measurement, anthropometrics, and sizing systems. Concluding with a review of published work on garment design and pattern alteration, the book covers myriad industrial standards, techniques, and practices. It is an indespensible resource for textile and fashion students, researchers, and professionals in the clothing and textile industries.
Clothing Biosensory Engineering by
Human sensory perception of clothing involves a series of complex interactive processes, including physical responses to external stimuli, neurophysiological processes for decoding stimuli through the biosensory and nervous systems inside the body, neural responses to psychological sensations, and psychological processes for formulating preferences and making adaptive feedback reactions. Clothing biosensory engineering is a systematic and integrative way of translating consumers' biological and sensory responses, and psychological feelings and preferences about clothing, into the perceptual elements of design. It is a link between scientific experimentation and commercial application to develop economic solutions to practical technical problems. Clothing biosensory engineering quantifies the decision-making processes through which physics, mathematics, neurophysiological and engineering techniques are applied to optimally convert resources to meet various sensory requirements - visual/thermal/mechanical. It includes theoretical and experimental observations, computer simulations, test methods, illustrations and examples of actual product development. Describes the process of Clothing biosensory engineering in detail Quantifies the decision making processes applied to optimally convert resources to meet various sensory requirements Includes theoretical and experimental observations and examples of actual product development
Designing Apparel for Consumers : the impact of body shape and size by
Given its importance for consumer satisfaction and thus brand success, apparel fit is a major challenge for retailers and brands across the industry. Consequently there have been major developments in sizing research and how it can be used in apparel design. This book reviews how these developments are affecting clothing design for different groups of consumers. Part one identifies various aspects of body shape, size, volume and the psychological aspects of designing apparel. This section covers topics such as body shape and its influence on apparel size and consumer choices, sizing systems, body shape and weight distribution (with a discussion of the Body Volume Index (BVI) versus the Body Mass Index (BMI)), and the psychological and sociological factors influencing consumers' choice of apparel. Part two outlines the challenges in understanding the sizing and shape requirements and choices of particular customer groups. This section discusses apparel designed for infants and children, older consumers, overweight and obese consumers, plus size Black and Latino women, apparel design for Asian and Caucasian ethnic groups, sizing requirements for male apparel, maternity apparel, intimate apparel for varying body shapes, and the challenges of designing headwear to fit the size and shape of Western and Asian populations. Designing apparel for consumers provides an invaluable reference for apparel designers, manufacturers, and R&D managers in the textile industry, as well as postgraduate students and academic researchers in textiles. Reviews developments affecting clothing design for different groups of consumers Identifies various aspects of body shape, size, volume and the psychological aspects of designing apparel Outlines the challenges in understanding sizing and shape requirements and choices of particular customer groups
Handbook of Technical Textiles by
This major handbook provides comprehensive coverage of the manufacture, processing and applications of high tech textiles for a huge range of applications including: heat and flame protection; waterproof and breathable fabrics; textiles in filtration; geotextiles; medical textiles; textiles in transport engineering and textiles for extreme environments. Handbook of technical textiles is an essential guide for textile yarn and fibre manufacturers; producers of woven, knitted and non-woven fabrics; textile finishers; designers and specifiers of textiles for new or novel applications as well as lecturers and graduate students on university textile courses. Comprehensive handbook for all aspects of technical textiles Detailed coverage of processes, fabric structure and applications Contributions from recognised experts world-wide
New Millennium Fibers by
Looking forward to the future it is clear that today's narrow concept of fiber as a basic element for textiles, ropes and nets will become an outmoded notion. The emphasis will instead shift to new and exciting developments in fiber technology and their applications, exploring such fields as biomimetics, nanotechnology and biodegradability. New millennium fibers describes and identifies the scope of high-tech fibers. The present status and prospects of the fiber/textile technology are discussed and the high performance fibers are reviewed from origin to future applications, including carbon fiber.The themes of the book are summarised with a discussion on health care and the environment. As the 21st century progresses fibers will enter into more novel and unexpected applications. We are approaching the age of the wearable computer and organic electroluminescence wearable displays. New potential is open in the fields of car and aerospace industry, civil engineering, separation membranes using hollow fibers for artificial organs, biodegradable fiber for ecological conservation and fibers with biological functions. New millennium fibers explores the exciting roles that fibers will play in the future and will be an essential book for all of those in the textile and fashion industry involved in fiber development or use. Keep up to date with the advances in fiber science Explores new and exciting developments in fiber technology Includes applications of new millennium fibers
Wearable Electronics and Photonics by
Integrating electronics into clothing is a major new concept, which opens up a whole array of multi-functional, wearable electro-textiles for sensing/monitoring body functions, delivering communication facilities, data transfer, individual environment control, and many other applications. With revolutionary advancements occurring at an unprecedented rate in many fields of science and electronics the possibilities offered by wearable technologies are tremendous and widespread. These advancements will transform the world and will soon begin to permeate into commercial products. The first section of the book discusses the materials and devices used in the field, including electro-statically generated nanofibres, electroceramic fibres and composites and electroactive fabrics. It summarizes recent developments in electrically conductive fabric structures and puts together a few theoretical treatments of the electro-mechanical properties of various fabric structures. The next section reviews topics related to wearable photonics such as fibre optic sensors and integrated smart textile structures, the developments in various flexible photonic display technologies as well as looking at current communication apparel and optical fibre fabric displays. Next the book focuses on integrated structures and system architectures. Finally the issues facing a fashion designer working with wearables are explored. Wearable electronics and photonics covers many aspects of the cutting-edge research and development into this exciting field and provides a window through which only a small portion of the exciting emerging technology can be seen. With contributions from a panel of international experts in the field this is an essential guide for all electrical, textile and biomedical engineers as well as academics and fashion designers. Stay one step ahead of the industry on this hot topic Evaluates the major new concept of integrating electronics into clothing Explores future trends for fashion and specialist clothing
Ebooks spanning a wide variety of disciplines. It includes many scholarly and academic publishers as well as some non-scholarly content.
The interface for this and all our other EBSCO databases will change mid-2025. Click here to try out the new interface early!
The library catalogue lists both scholarly and popular books.
To help you determine if a book is a "scholarly" title, use the following list to help you decide:
Who is the author?
Purpose?
Cited Sources?
Publisher?
Language?
