LibGuides: Research Help: Writing Help

Writing Resources

KPU Online Writing Resources:

KPU Virtual Writing Centre - get help with grammar, analyzing texts, writing in different disciplines, avoiding plagiarism, and citing sources.
Online Writing Tutoring in the KPU Learning Centres - peer-based online tutoring service provides feedback on your academic writing!
Academic Writing Basics - Designed specifically for Kwantlen Polytechnic University students, this Pressbook offers interactive activities and strategies for developing academic writing skills.

Other Resources

Purdue University Academic Writing Labs - guides for writing and revising an essay
Tips about Academic Writing - from JSTOR

E-Books in the Library on Academic writing for students:

Academic writing e-Books

Library Books on Academic Writing: A Selection of print and e-books

Writing Guides - learn to write academic papers.
Language dictionaries - use dictionaries in print Library collection or online.
Literary dictionaries - find a literary term in the Library collection or in online databases.

They Say / I Say by Gerald Graff; Cathy Birkenstein; Russel Durst
ISBN: 9780393937510
Publication Date: 2015-02-01
"They Say / I Say" with Readings shows that writing well means mastering some key rhetorical moves, the most important of which is to summarize what others have said ("they say") in order to set up one's own argument ("I say"). Templates help students make these moves in their own writing, and 50 readings demonstrate the moves and prompt students to think--and write.
Writing Essays by Richard Marggraf Turley
ISBN: 9781138916692
Publication Date: 2015-11-04
. Through precise explanations, this fully updated edition of Writing Essays gives you the confidence to express yourself coherently and effectively. It demystifies the entire process of essay writing, helping you to become proficient and confident in every aspect. Writing Essays reveals the tricks of the trade, making your student life easier. You'll learn how to impress tutors by discovering exactly what markers look for when they read your work. Using practical examples selected from real student assignments and tutor feedback, this book covers every aspect of composition, from introductions and conclusions, down to presentation and submission.
Writing and Reading Across the Curriculum by Laurence Behrens; Leonard J. Rosen
ISBN: 9780205885435
Publication Date: 2012-09-17
Remaining one of the best-selling interdisciplinary composition texts for over twenty-five years, Writing and Reading Across the Curriculum helps readers learn to write effectively for college.

Write

The Library collection has many resources to help you with: note taking , essay writing , report writing, public speaking or how to give a business presentation .
The Assignment Calculator - is a time management tool to help you break down your writing assignments into a series of steps.
Visit the Learning Centre if you need additional help. Services such as Online Tutoring or WriteAway may help when you need your paper checked by the Learning Centre tutors.

Cite, Organize and Share Your Research

Remember, when writing a research paper, it is required that you properly credit or cite all sources used. If you do not cite your sources, you are plagiarizing the work of others - a serious academic offense and a violation of the university regulations!
Take a short quiz: Identifying Citations
Mendeley - is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research. Tips and Support are available form Mendeley website.
Zotero - a research tool that helps users collect and organize sources. Check Zotero screencast tutorials for more information.

Writing an annotated bibliography - a University of Toronto guide.
How to write an annotated bibliography - a guide from UBC library.
Write an annotated bibliography - UC Santa Cruz
Differences between and characteristics of an annotated bibliography & literature review

You may be asked to prepare a literature review as an assignment, but more likely you are going to be expected to include a literature review as part of the introduction to your research paper. Properly done, a literature review is more than an annotated bibliography or summary of research articles. Your literature review should inform your readers of significant past research in your specialized topic, but also highlight critical issues, areas where research is lacking, or novel applications that your research is going to explore.

For some helpful tips on how to get started doing a literature review, see the University of Toronto Library's The Literature Review: A Few Tips on Conducting it .

Differences between and characteristics of an annotated bibliography & literature review

KPU Library

Research Help

Writing Resources