LibGuides: Journalism, Communication Studies & News: Find Newspaper Articles & News Sites

Online News & Newspapers

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Large, multidisciplinary article database that is a good starting point for research in many areas.
The interface for this and all our other EBSCO databases will change mid-2025. Click here to try out the new interface early!
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Major Canadian newspapers as well as many small-market newspapers.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
CBCA Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary scholarly and popular articles from Canadian journals and magazines.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Gale NewsVault This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers and periodicals, mainly from Britain and the United States. Dates range from the 17th to 20th centuries.

After clicking the link, scroll through the list of resources to find this collection.
Freely available to BC residents.
Globe and Mail: ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Complete coverage of The Globe And Mail newspaper from 1844 to three years ago.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
SFU Digitized Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Open access repository of historical Canadian newspapers.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

Global Breaking Newswires This link opens in a new window
Provides timely access to worldwide newswire content.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives that stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Current American newspaper and newswire content with archival coverage to the 1980s.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

Alaska Highway News
more...less...
Note: the newspaper closed in 2023, but an effort is being made to revive it. See CBC news article on May 25, 2024: Reporter relaunching Alaska Highway News in Fort St. John, B.C.
Aldergrove Star
Chilliwack Progress
Cranbrook Daily Townsman
Delta Optimist
Fraser Valley Current Daily email newsletter covering Langley, Abbotsford, Chilliwack, Mission and the rest of the valley. Searchable website. Free registration required.
Kamloops This Week
Kelowna Daily Courier
Langley Times
Maple Ridge - Pitt Meadows Times
North Shore News
Prince George Citizen
Richmond News
Surrey Now-Leader
The Tyee Weekly news and views from British Columbia featuring independent political and cultural analysis with fiesty reader discussions with every story.
Vancouver Province
Vancouver Sun

Al Jazeera
AllAfrica
Australian Broadcasting Corporation
BBC
CNN Headline News
The Conversation The Conversation US launched as a pilot project in October 2014. It is an independent source of news and views from the academic and research community, delivered direct to the public.
The Japan Times
London Financial Times
London Times
The New York Times
POLITICO - Europe POLITICO covers the politics, policy and personalities of the European Union.
Politico.com
Project Syndicate - The World's Opinion Page
Radio Free Asia Radio Free Asia’s mission is to provide accurate and timely news and information to Asian countries whose governments prohibit access to a free press.
The Sydney Morning Herald
The Times of India
Washington Post

TV News Archive VIEW clips from 1,610,000 shows since 2009