Scientific articles published in scholarly journals are highly focussed and written by researchers for other researchers and experts in the field. They either report on primary research they have done themseleves, or provide a review and evaluation of the body of work done in a given area (systematic review or meta-analysis).
Below are the research databases we recommend for starting your scientific article search.
Pro tip: It's good research strategy to do your searches in MORE THAN ONE database.
To browse the more than 200 databases the library subscribes to, please visit our Research database page. From there, you can browse by subject.
Scholarly articles from across the medical, nursing, and allied health disciplines - EBSCO interface.
Current scholarly articles from many areas of science and ebooks published from 2017-2021.
Open access scholarly articles published by Wiley.
A library database provides access to the full text contents of thousands of scholarly journals, sometimes covering a particular discipline or sometimes multi-disciplinary in scope, meaning they may cover many subject areas.
Databases come with tools that help you refine your search to get more relevant results, as well as links to related articles. In most cases, you can be confident that the articles you find will be credible sources to incorporate into your writing.
Not sure how to search in an article database? The following video will show you how!
Google Scholar is a search engine that covers much of the scholarly, peer reviewed literature from academic publishers, plus conferences, theses and dissertations, abstracts and more. Some of the content is available full text, and some will be citation-only.
You can configure your settings to include links to articles available from Kwantlen Polytechnic Library subscription journals to avoid hitting publishers' paywalls. See the screenshot below.
Use the journal title link above the Summon Search box on the library's homepage.
Enter the title of the journal. newspaper, or magazine, and see whether the library subscribes to it. On the search result page, you will see which database it is in, or if available in print.
The following video will show you how!
Do you have the citation for an article, and you're wondering how to get full text access? Check out this library FAQ for details.
You can request the article through Interlibrary loan. The library will do our best to locate the article for you with one of our partner libraries. This is a free service, but allow at least 2-3 business days.