If you are not sure if your book is scholarly ("academic"), look for the following features:
Who is the author?
Purpose?
Cited Sources?
Publisher?
Language?
There are a couple of ways you could try to identify fiction (a novel or short story) that focuses on a particular subject, such as fear.
TIPS:
NoveList: (NOT available through KPU Library)
This database that lets you look for novels on a particular theme. It is available through many public libraries, including Surrey Public Library, Fraser Valley Regional Library, and Vancouver Public Library. You will need your public library card to access this database.
This is a user-created database of book recommendations. Includes all types of books, not just fiction. You can search by keyword (e.g. AGORAPHOBIA), but cannot then limit to only fiction.
These databases may help you to find articles and book chapters which have been written ABOUT a particular novel, poem, or short story. If you wanted to read the original work, you would need to look for it in a library catalogue.
Fear: Across the Disciplines
This volume provides a cross-disciplinary examination of fear, that most unruly of our emotions, by offering a broad survey of the psychological, biological, and philosophical basis of fear in historical and contemporary contexts. The contributors, leading figures in clinical psychology, neuroscience, the social sciences, and the humanities, consider categories of intentionality, temporality, admixture, spectacle, and politics in evaluating conceptions of fear. Individual chapters treat manifestations of fear in the mass panic of the stock market crash of 1929, as spectacle in warfare and in horror films, and as a political tool to justify security measures in the wake of terrorist acts. They also describe the biological and evolutionary roots of fear, fear as innate versus learned behavior in both humans and animals, and conceptions of human "passions" and their self-mastery from late antiquity to the early modern era. Additionally, the contributors examine theories of intentional and non-intentional reactivity, the process of fear-memory coding, and contemporary psychology's emphasis on anxiety disorders. Overall, the authors point to fear as a dense and variable web of responses to external and internal stimuli. Our thinking about these reactions is just as complex. In response, this volume opens a dialogue between science and the humanities to afford a more complete view of an emotion that has shaped human behavior since time immemorial.
The Courage Quotient: How Science Can Make You Braver
The keys to understanding and developing courage This groundbreaking book reveals that courage is more about managing fear than not feeling it, and that courage can be learned. The author explains that most courageous people are unaware of their own bravery, and all of us have some form of courage in our lives now, to start with. The book is filled with illustrative examples, studies, and interviews from Greenland to Kenya, and defines the types of individuals who demonstrate general, personal, and civil courage. The author includes clear guidelines and suggestions for increasing our ability to be courageous. Includes guidelines that show how anyone can ramp-up their courage quotient and develop the qualities that strengthen personal courage Contains a wealth of examples and anecdotes of real-world courage from a variety of cultures A prolific writer, the author has a popular blog Psychology Today The author extols the virtues of personal courage and shows how to overcome fear and stand up for what is right.
Fear: A Cultural History
Fear -- the word, itself, conjures the appropriate response. With a dark cacophony of associations like fright, dread, horror, panic, alarm, anxiety, and terror, fear is universally understood as one of the most basic and powerful of human emotions, obtaining a nearly palpable and overwhelming substance in today's world. In this groundbreaking book, acclaimed historian and prize-winning author Joanna Bourke covers the landscape of fear over the past two hundred years: From the nineteenth century dread of being buried alive -- a subject dear to the heart of Edgar Allen Poe -- to the current worry over being able to die when one chooses; from the diagnoses of phobias and anxieties produced by psychotherapists and lovingly catalogued, to the role of popular culture and media in inciting panic and dread;from the horrors of the nuclear age to the fear of twenty-first century terrorism,Fear tells the story of anguish in modern times. A blend of social and cultural history with psychology, philosophy, and popular science, this astonishing book -- exhaustively researched and beautifully written -- offers strikingly original insights into the mind and worldview of the "long twentieth century" from one of the most brilliant scholars of our time.
Fear and Art in the Contemporary World
Politicians, pundits, and activists often refer to a "culture of fear." Fear of pollution or contagion, fear of different views or lifestyles, fear of terrorist attack--these real or imagined threats cause much anxiety in today's world. In this book, Caterina Albano examines the current culture of fear through the lens of contemporary art, offering a broad look at the ways fear pervades every aspect of life and defines how people relate to and interpret the world around them. Drawing on the work of artists from Joseph Beuys, Christian Boltanski, and Louise Bourgeois to Mike Kelly, Tracy Moffatt, and Gerhard Richter, Albano investigates the manifestations of fear in our culture and the development of an aesthetics of fear. She looks at a wide range of media that convey an array of states of fear--body terror and contagion, trauma and phobias; feelings of dislocation, displacement, and alienation; narratives of guilt and shame; virtual fear; and fear as entertainment. Encompassing the history of medicine, neuropsychology, sociology, and philosophy as well as the history of art and culture, Fear and Art in the Contemporary World shines new light on the role of images on the current landscape of fear.
Cognitive Behavioral Therapy for Dental Phobia and Anxiety
The first book to describe evidence-based treatment of dental phobia using brief CBT, based on the pioneering single-session treatment for specific phobias developed by Lars-Göran Öst. nbsp; Brings together research, experience and techniques from clinical psychology and dentistry to describe evidence-based treatment of dental phobia in clinical and dental contexts Chapters describe epidemiology, diagnosis and differential diagnosis, symptoms, clinical characteristics and consequences, and aetiology of dental phobia Also covers related issues including intra-oral injection phobia, dental treatment of fearful children, and the use of medication to supplement psychological treatment of fear nbsp;